We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom was not cleaned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Annapolis, United States
1 review
“Bathroom was not cleaned”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I think this hotel is out dated. I expect a Hilton to have certain standards and this feel well below. Carpet in my room was old and dirty. The bathroom was not clean, hair in the bathtub. The location to UF was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Cynthia L,
Thank you for the feedback about your stay. I am sorry about the issues you had with your room. We are looking at replacing some carpets this coming year in our guest rooms we are working with ownership on that currently. I had shared your comments about the restroom also with our housekeeping team so that there will be a bit more of a focus on it.
Thank you again for the feedback from your stay.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    297
    152
    84
    38
See reviews for
376
102
48
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Yesterday and today we had another enjoyable stay at this property. Exceptional service started before our arrival. I called Wagih William to let him know we would arrive close to 7:00 PM after attending a Gator basketball game in the O’Dome. I asked Wagih if he could make sure he had a table available for us in Mr. Two Bits (sports bar) upon our arrival so we could enjoy dinner and watch the Florida-South Carolina football game. Upon our arrival at 6:50 PM, I found that our two connecting rooms were already blocked for us and our check-in was seamless. We were able to check-in, take our belongings to our rooms, and settle in for dinner and a game in Mr. Two Bits by kickoff.

The rooms were clean, a comfortable 72 degrees F, and located near the elevator consistent with my preferences indicated in my Diamond member profile.
The food in Mr. Two Bits was fresh, cooked according to order, and enjoyable. We remained in Mr. Two Bits until the end of the football game. We had a good night’s sleep, were awakened on time with a scheduled wake-up call, and enjoyed an excellent buffet breakfast in Albert’s Restaurant.

As a frequent traveler and guest of many Hilton properties, this is an excellent Hilton property. I will return in two weeks for the Florida-Florida State basketball and football games and expect the same, consistent excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Mark B,
Thank you for the great comments from your stay. Wagih is a great addition to the staff and he takes each guest request as it is the only one he has. He will go above and beyond for each guest.
We are pleased to hear that everything went great during the stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant and bar staff are great. Bar has good choice of draft beers, including several local craft brews. Quality of food at breakfast and dinner is excellent. I always have a great stay while travelling for work or pleasure at Hilton Hotels and this was no exception. Very quick and easy check in and as a Hilton Honors Gold member, there is free in room Wi Fi. They even give you turn down service with several free bottles of water and a special chocolate treat. Would receommend this hotel to anyone travelling in the Gainesville, FL area for business or pleasure. I happened to be there on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Jared C,
Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback to us about your stay. We very much enjoy hearing when one of our loyal Hhonors members has enjoyed their stay.
Please let us know when your travels bring you back to Gainesville again.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The amenities, dining and internet access were adequate for the conference I attended. (However the business center is small, only one printer and two computers, so I would not plan on working there.) I found the additional services, namely in-room dining and the bar, to be disappointing. The rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Carina S,
Thank you for the comments about your stay with us. We have added two addtional computers for our guests to use. We have added some great staff at the lounge. Thank you again for the feedback.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stay included the FICPA Conference and Home Coming Activities -

Would like to complement the entire Hilton staff - including House Keeping, Check In, Front Desk and Hospitality, especially Food & Beverage Director, Wagih William. Wagih took a special interest in our family, went out of his way to meet our needs - especially those of our 2 year old grandson - and treated all with courtesy, professionalism and respect.

While Wagih was on duty, the service was great, the food was excellent and the wait staff were attentive and courteous. We really enjoyed our stay.

FYI: If you are interested in GATOR art work and/or jewelry - the lobby is adorned with original prints and artistically designed jewelry. Some of the best I've seen in Gainesville.

Can't wait to come back again next year. Go GATORS! Bill & Judi [Fort Myers, FL]

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GATOR J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Gator JH,
Thank you for the great comments about your stay with us. Wagih and the rest of our staff are highly motivated to meet and exceed guest expectations.
Once again thank you for the great comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a solid Hilton, super soft towels, good sized rooms and bathrooms, etc. There were a lot of bus routes to take you to campus and down to the nearby restaurants- and that was great. But the staff I spoke with didn't seem to know anything about the public transportation- and one of the staff implied the hotel wasn't in a great area. It totally is, and I felt safe walking home at night from the Starbucks alone. One thing about getting around: if you find a good taxi driver, take their card and stick with them. Some of the cabs are really terrifying- I'd rather walk... and don't trust the hotel to pick out the good cab companies. that was my mistake. If you have a group, the hotel does have a shuttle, and call ahead for that, especially from the airport. It isn't listed as an amenity on their website, but do take advantage of it if you don't have a car.
Also, the A/C was crazy and kept resetting itself to 68 my first night- and their clocks weren't adjusted for DST on the Monday after the clocks changed (neither my alarm, nor their clock times). My wakeup call came an hour early, and that was annoying because I literally had no idea what time it was. Housekeeping fixed the A/C and the clocks the next day, and after that i had a really good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juicy318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Juicy318,
Thank you for the great feedback you provided about your stay. I am sorry about the clocks and we are slowly changing out the clocks so that they do not have to be taken about to change the time on them.
Thank you again for the details on your review, and if your travels bring you south again please let us know.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I am a meeting planner, and when I have a conference in Gainesville, I look no further than the Hilton. Not only do my meetings run smoothly when I am there (mostly due to the exceptional staff like Kristin in the Conferences department and Wagih in Food & Beverage), but attendees who stay at the hotel are always happy with their rooms, their service and the location (practically on UF's campus). This is, without a doubt, the number one hotel in Gainesville.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissasmif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Melissasmif,
Thank you for the great comments about our staff and facility. We all truly enjoy what we do on a daily basis and it shows with reviews like yours.
We look forward to working with you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#9 of 45 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Property: Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Address: 1714 SW 34th St, Gainesville, FL 32607-4138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing