We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very nice stay here!”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Very nice hotel. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Warm cookies were offered and smelled great. With a travel hotel coupon price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Back rooms get a lot of noise from the interstate. Ask for a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connieretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
 Here at the Comfort Inn West we always enjoy hearing from our guests! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    118
    43
    10
    9
See reviews for
156
104
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Check-in went well with very friendly employees. They have fresh baked cookies around dinner, but three times I went the plate was empty.

Bringing luggage in is somewhat a challenge for those with rooms on the ends because of the way parking is laid out. The two end entrances are open to card holders, but don't have formal sidewalks up to them. To get from parking to our room required you to drag bags through mulch and around small bushes. The other end of the hotel was closer to the parking lot of the hotel next door. Might consider formal sidewalks to these doors. Front entry way can be used, but parking is limited.

Rooms are very VERY nice for this level hotel. Four pillows per bed was a superb touch. Bed had a comforter, along with a warm blanket. Nice & cozy. Hotel was very quiet (our room was on the non-interstate side).

Room has a microwave and separate hot water maker for the provided tea and coffee. There is a large mini-fridge, bar sink and counter top. The free in-room safe is a great idea.

Bathroom: Amenities included shampoo, skin lotion and two bars of soap. Plenty of fluffy towels. Tub was pretty clean, although drain was rusted out. Wonder why that hadn't been corrected.

Breakfast buffet was great. Both regular & blueberry waffles. Biscuits with sausage gravy. Toaster for bread & bagels. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries, muffins, oatmeal, cereal, bananas. Many drink options. Nice job!

Easy walk to numerous restaurants and the Target shopping center next door.

I have stayed in many, many hotels around Gainesville in the past 20 years and this has become one of my favorites in this price range.

Room Tip: Request room on the non-interstate side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatorzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
We are glad to hear the Comfort Inn West is one of your favorite hotels in the area. Thank you for your review and your thoughts will be shared at our next management meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stay here every year when we go to Fl. The desk staff is very accomodating and helpful. Andrew was the desk person and was very helpful and friendly.
Rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is above most breakfasts with a lot of
variety. Good location. If you are a light sleeper, ask to have a room in the front.
Will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Great staff. Gps coordinate don't take you to the right spot. Glitch in system. Clean, quiet, great shower, lots of hot water

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emunah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Taking the time to give us such a nice review is greatly appreciated here at the Comfort Inn West. We are sorry about the gps problem and hope it was not to much of a problem. We hope to see you again when you travel back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is an older building, that can use some TLC. The lights were dim in the room, along with dark blanket and comforter. I like white covers in hotels so i can see that it is clean. There were dirty smudges on the wall by the bed, along with mysterious red smears on the ceiling in the bathroom. The water pressure was VERY stong in the shower, which hurt. The top shelf in the fridge (the freezer) was dirty, i put my stuff in a bag and then put it in the freezer. The food was juice at breakfast was NOT good. The make your own waffles were good as any hotel. They only had instant oatmeal and instant grits, the eggs were probably egg substitutes, and they were bland. The cloth chairs were dirty at breakfast. They need to do some cleaning.. and maybe not advertise pictures of pets in the beds! This would not be my first choice of hotel in Gainesville.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. The problems you mentioned were brought to the attention of our housekeeping department and have been addressed. We also regret to hear about your dissatisfaction in the hot breakfast you experienced and would like to let you know that we have been working hard to make certain our guests receive a breakfast that offers hot, fresh and healthy options. I regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of evaluating opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Gainesville Comfort Inn after a University of Florida football game.
The hotel is just off I-75 and close to restaurants, shops and the university. There was some road construction that made getting to the hotel harder but not too much of an inconvience.
This is a newer hotel in a safe area of town. Front desk clerk was helpful and an obvious
Gator fan by the U of F jersey he was wearing. Our room was comfortable with a microwave
but just a single cup coffee maker....a personal preferrence, I like a regular 4 cup coffee maker but my wife likes the single. No ice on our 2nd floor had to go to the first to fill the ice bucket. The bed was comfortable and the hotel has free wi-fi. I would recommend the Comfort Inn when staying in Gainesville, Go Gators!

Room Tip: if you like ice...ask for a room on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
 We always enjoy hearing from our guests here at the Comfort Inn West! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

There was some damage to my moms condo due to a burst water pipe, and most of her condo was under 2 inches of water. She is elderly and uses a walker to get around. We moved her to the Comfort Inn West. Everyone who works there has been exceptionally nice to her. When we visit, the ask us if she would like fresh baked cookies. If she goes out during the day, when they see her returning the front desk people go to the front door and hold the doors open for her. It's small things like this that show exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meltes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
We are glad to your mom had a good stay with us at the Comfort Inn West. Thank you for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 3440 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the newly renovated Comfort Inn, located conveniently near I-75 & Archer Road (Exit 384)- this premier location provides quick access to the University of Florida, UF Health & Shands, VA Hospital, Shopping and Restaurants. Our 100% Non-Smoking hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast, free internet, pet friendly designated rooms, and complimentary shuttle service for your convenience. The modern amenities and service will make your visit to Gainesville a great experience whether you are visiting family, the award winning healthcare facilities, attending sporting events and the many reasons that bring you to Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn University Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing