We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stopped enroute just for overnight. The senior rate was good, the room was average at best - the air conditioner didn't seem to work with the thermostat and we had a choice to freeze or turn it off, so we turned it off. The breakfast wasn't nearly as good as some other places we've stayed, but it was hot and the room less expensive, so maybe it was OK. They were out of coffee when we got to breakfast, but when we mentioned it to the young lady at the desk, she brought out more right away. Overall OK for an overnight stop.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JSI2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear JSI2802,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in October. All of our staff are deeply sorry that your time at our hotel was not a pleasant experience for both you and your family. We have looked into the air condition unit issues, and our maintenance staff has fixed the thermostat problems, so that this will not be a nuisance to yourself or any other guest in the future. We also apologize if there was any issue with our breakfast in the morning, and we are glad that are our front desk staff was able to assist you immediately in fixing the issue. It is very important for us to make sure all our guests enjoy their breakfast, so thank you for letting us know about some of your concerns. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very impressed with the staff especially Matthew. Rooms are very comfortable, and clean. Would highly recommend. Location is fabulous. Many choices but the staff make this hotel very enjoyable. Breakfast very clean and nicely presented.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Beth K,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in September and October. Being that I am the Matthew you were writing about, I personally want to thank you for your kind and generous words. I can only express how thrilled I am that you have been pleased with our staff’s customer service and attentiveness, especially from me. The entire staff at this hotel is grateful that you truly appreciate not only the property, but also the people that make this place great every day. Thank you so much. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Staff at this Hotel is 2nd to none for this type of Hotel. We travel to Gville for Gator Games and this Hotel is the best we have found that is Pet Friendly. The showers could be remodeled but they are acceptable and the rooms have Ref/Microwaves. My problem is with the Chain. I used my Choice CC and booked the room 3 months in advance. The room was actually $5 less on Hotels.com but I booked with Choice.com I read the room was nonrefundable but missed the paid in advance. Had to pay 3 months before my stay. This was the 2nd time I could have gotten a lower rate by not using my Choice account. Makes no sense to me that you charge your loyal customers more. Not happy about that.. Shop before you buy and read the small print...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Chuck P,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in September. We are so happy that you were pleased with our staff’s customer service and effort. We appreciate the fact that you have let us know about the issues you were having with the ChoiceHotels.com main booking website. We have sent a complaint report to Choice’s main webpage, so that situations like this will be avoided in the future. We hope that you continue to support the Comfort Inn University, as well as all of the other different brands Choice Hotels offers. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed one night while visiting our daughter at UF and overall enjoyed our stay. The Front Office Manager that checked us in was outstanding even asking my wife if she needed assistance with her luggage and opening the door for her and offering us fresh baked cookies. We had a pet-friendly room on the 1st floor that is in need of some furniture upgrade and a deep cleaning in the bathroom, from the exhaust fan to the bathroom caulking. We know that the room we had was pet- friendly but smelled very bad- like cat urine. Breakfast had hot and cold items. Very good location and a lot of shops and restaurants around. Would stay here again if needed. Liked that it was pet friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILiveforThisFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear ILIVEFORTHISFLORIDA,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in September. We are so happy that you and your family truly appreciated the excellent service our Front Desk Manager exhibits for every guest that he checks in at the hotel. We love to make sure that our guests feel both comfortable and at home when they choose to stay at the Comfort Inn University. We are also glad that you let us know about the animal odor in one of our pet friendly rooms. The cleaning staff has been informed, and we will be sure that our pet friendly rooms have a more appealing fragrance for now on. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

From the minute we got off of the elevator to the 4th floor, it smelled like an ashtray. Then we walked in our room and could barely breathe. it had the nastiest stale cigarette smell. we had to go out and buy air freshener and keep the door open for a little while to let it air out. then the couple that we were traveling with had a room across the hall and it felt like a sauna when you walked in the room, the AC was messed up. The front desk was quick to come up and send them to another room, but this one too smelled of fresh cigarette smoke. This was one of the nastiest hotels we have stayed in. we have stayed in another comfort inn that was about $20 cheaper and alot cleaner, nicer, and had a much better breakfast. Also.. might want to bring your own pillow.And remove the top comforter, it will probably have stains all over it like ours did. they provide 4 square pillows that feel like a bag of cotton balls. I would not recommend this hotel unless you are just desperate.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mistileigh725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear mistileigh725,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in September. All of our staff are deeply sorry that your time at our hotel was not a pleasant experience for both you and the other guests that stayed with us. In the future, we shall make sure to inform every single guest that is either booking a room at our hotel or currently staying at the hotel that the 4th floor does contain a few smoking rooms, and may cause an odor to be prominent in both the hallways and other rooms. Please contact me directly, (352) 264-1771 ext. 2003, so you and I may discuss the best way that we may rectify this situation. We really hope that this miss-communication and your previous experience will not hinder a relationship that we would love to build with you here at the hotel. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Up to this point I have never written a review before but our trip to Gainesville, FL and our stay at the Comfort Inn was exceptional. We got a very warm welcome from the desk clerk and made me feel like we have met before. Our room on first floor was neat and clean and comfortable. Actually all the staff were friendly and there happy to serve. Breakfast included hot items and the best coffee ever. The manager clearly enjoyed his job and was so helpful. If ever in Gainesville, FL again this is where we stay. I forgot to mention was an excellent price for rooms. Thank you Comfort Inn for a great stay.

Room Tip: First floor was very nice for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnnO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear MaryAnnO2013,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in August. Making our guests feel both comfortable and at home at our property, is what we strive for everyday. All our staff are so happy that we could make you and your family’s stay so enjoyable and fun. We love that you were quite pleased with our coffee and breakfast items. On your next stay in Gainesville, please contact me directly so we can apply an additional discount for being a TripAdvisor reviewer. On behalf of the Comfort Inn University, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We (hubby, 2 TA boys) decided at last minute to go to Alachua, FL to watch Softball tournaments. Since the teams were staying in The Lodge just down the road, hubby booked this hotel. It was just right for our needs--sleep and take showers. Stayed TH, FR and SA nights. It was a wee bit crowded with 4 bodies in the room but workable. Our room had 2 queen beds, microwave, small refrigerator and small coffee maker. on day 2, maid was in hall and exchanged our towels when asked. (told her not to bother cleaning room as we have teenagers!) Location is convenient off I-75 with turn light to access road where row of hotels are at. At light area (without crossing main road) is Dairy Queen, Arby's, and mcDonald. Shopping area also with Target, Old navy and other smaller shops. Across the main road is Burger King and other restaurants. Would recommend this hotel for short stopover stays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watshakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Watshakin,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in August. We are thrilled that you enjoyed how convenient and close our hotel is to all the shopping centers that are on Archer Road. We are proud to have our hotel’s location right off of the I-75 interstate because our guests are not only able to stay at our facility, but also shop and dine at some of the best plazas in the city of Gainesville. On your next stay in Gainesville, please contact me directly so we can apply an additional discount for being a TripAdvisor reviewer. On behalf of all our staff, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 47 in Gainesville
578 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 3440 Southwest 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £75 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractions and sites near our pet-friendly hotel perfect for business travelers and leisure travelers alike to Gainesville include: Kanapaha Botanical Gardens,Samuel P. Harn Museum of Art,Butterfly Rainforest,Florida Museum of Natural History,University of Florida At this Gainesville hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as: Free WiFi,Free weekday newspaper,Free coffee,Fitness center,Outdoor pool Get going with a great breakfast. Start your morning in Gainesville with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. All spacious guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers and TVs. Long-distance travelers will appreciate our guest laundry services. Whether you’re traveling for leisure or business, alone or with your kids, our Comfort Inn University hotel offers accommodations for every type of travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn University Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing