We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, reasonable and a great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, safe, reasonable and a great staff”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

From the moment you pull in to the Comfort Inn, Gainesville, Florida, you feel safe and welcomed. Traveling with a pet isn't always easy, but the staff made it comfortable for my pet and I. Very clean and quiet even though it is right off the interstate. Felt safe which is important when a woman is traveling alone. No complaints only high praises. Highly recommend! Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear carol k,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in November. One of the best moments of the day for our staff is when we see guests check in with their pets. We love seeing guests feel at ease knowing that our hotel welcomes your furry/hairy little loved ones. In addition, we are thrilled to know that our staffs made you feel both comfortable and safe during your stay. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    118
    43
    10
    12
See reviews for
162
111
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stay here all the time. The rooms are clean and quiet. The breakfast area is awesome from waffles to eggs and sausage to yogurt and fresh fruit and cereal. The staff here has always made it a friendly place to stay. They do have smoking rooms on some of the floors, but the non smoking rooms do not smell of smoke.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Patten T,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in November. It is a real pleasure to know that you and your family truly enjoy staying at our hotel, when visiting the Gainesville area. We are delighted that everyone with you was also able to enjoy all of our breakfast selection and assortments. We appreciate the kind words about our staff’s customer service. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have stayed here several times before with better results. The staff was as usual courteous and helpful, but the room (#214) was substandard. Not bad enough to change. After a 12 hour drive, we were beat. The bathroom was in poor shape --- grouting around tub uneven and dirty.
Bottom of outside tub discolored. Hot and cold water in tub mislabeled. Ceiling of room had patches of discolor. Bottom line -- this room needs a major redo to spruce it up. Hope this is not typical of all the rooms. Breakfast items good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Tom D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in November at the Comfort Inn University in Gainesville, FL. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for our hotel failing to exceed your expectations. We will definitely make sure that the issues mentioned are looked at closely and solved them before renting the room to another customer again. We are very pleased to hear that our front desk was both courteous and helpful, and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection as well. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte Marie de Kent NB
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Everything you need is in walking distance, the hotel is clean staff were knowledgeable, and just an enjoyable stay. This is a pet friendly hotel. We travel every year to Florida and are never disappointed with comfort inns.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Karen M,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in November. We are thrilled that you enjoyed how convenient and close our hotel is to all the shopping centers that are on Archer Road. In addition, we are very happy that the Comfort Inn University has always and will always accommodate you and your family’s needs. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the first time on 10-27. The lady that checked me in was friendly. The hotel seemed older but clean. I settled into my room. At bedtime I checked the bathroom closer. There was soap scum on the counter and black hair on the faucet and it appeared to not have been cleaned. I cleaned it all off. I then checked the bathtub and it had hair in it. I called the front desk to have someone come up to see the room. I then checked my bed and there were black hair strands on the white sheets. I called back and asked for clean sheets. I know I should have asked for another room at this point but I guess I was just too tired. The front desk lady came up and gave an excuse of maybe the cleaning lady had hair fall out?? I accept that a few stands could fall but this was a clear example of an uncleaned room. The next morning I noticed more hair all around the bathroom floor and toilet area. I reported this as I left and told the front desk I travel to Gainsville at least once a month but I would never stay in this hotel again. I think I am ready to stay away from ALL Choice hotels!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank leilah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear leilah1,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in October. The feedback you provided has been shared it with our housekeeping department, and we apologize for any inconvenience that you had experienced while staying here. I personally can assure that the housekeeping staff has been informed of the issues you experienced with cleanliness to apply to all rooms that our guests will be checking into at the hotel. During your next visit to Gainesville, please let us know if we can accommodate you and your family. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscon
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I travel extensively for work staying at hotels 300+ days a year Choice hotels are my preference but this hotel stood out above most. Starting with the managers attention to maintenance (to me was obviously very well maintained) to the extreme friendliness of the staff. However the most important detail is hard to put into words other than to say that I felt extremely comfortable their which happens rarely. I would highly recommend this hotel and well definitely stay their again if business brings me back to the area. 5 star rating

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Joe D,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in October. We are so happy that you were pleased with our hotel’s maintenance, service, and friendliness. We hope that you continue to support the Comfort Inn University, as well as all of the other different brands Choice Hotels offers. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here using special Fall rates so price was great. Easy access to Interstate and restaurants. Clean room with microwave, small sink, and refrigerator. Door closed and
opened easily and securely. Front desk personnel very friendly. Plenty of channels on TV.
Basic average do it yourself breakfast. Good coffee 24 hours a day. Only negatives were
thin worn out bedding. Blanket had cigarette holes. Tiny coffee maker in room was missing
a part rendering it useless but coffee available in lobby. Overall good value for the price.
For really good eats drive down Archer Rd to Wal-mart and you will find Bonefish Grill
beside of Wal-mart.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear blonomad,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in October. We are very pleased to know that not only were you able to enjoy the staff service and the room, but that you also appreciated how reasonable are Fall rates are this year. In addition, we are happy that you enjoyed going to Bonefish Grill, which is very conveniently located near our hotel. We are deeply sorry however, that you experienced dissatisfaction with the bedding and sheets that were on the bed in your room. After reading this review, we had the housekeeping staff remove all sheets, linens, and comforters that have any cigarette burns in them. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had. During your next visit to Gainesville, please contact me directly, (352) 264-1771 ext. 2003, so I may discount the room rate for your stay. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 44 in Gainesville
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 3440 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the newly renovated Comfort Inn, located conveniently near I-75 & Archer Road (Exit 384)- this premier location provides quick access to the University of Florida, UF Health & Shands, VA Hospital, Shopping and Restaurants. Our 100% Non-Smoking hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast, free internet, pet friendly designated rooms, and complimentary shuttle service for your convenience. The modern amenities and service will make your visit to Gainesville a great experience whether you are visiting family, the award winning healthcare facilities, attending sporting events and the many reasons that bring you to Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn University Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing