We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Hinesville
1 review
“Real Comfort”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I have been several times to the "Comfort Inn University". The Cleanness and Service at this place speaks for itself.
The quietness during our stay great, the staff was friendly and helpful. All in all very nice for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear macuma,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in January. All of our staff here are so thrilled that you have been satisfied with your stay every time you have been to the Comfort Inn University. We work incredibly hard to ensure that the cleanliness and service here is always top notch, so thank you so much for noticing it. We’re so glad that you and your family felt that our front desk staff is both courteous and friendly, and that the price of your stay was very affordable. We will always be here to accommodate you and your family’s needs. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay here again with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    120
    45
    10
    12
See reviews for
165
111
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We are from up north so was not really sure about the neighborhood. Stores, hotels and restaurants everywhere. Easy to get to with GPS. Property was clean (Iwas a little leery when I saw a dog coming in), but our room was clean, the bed and pillows were great. The quietness with I 75 behind the hotel was amazing, never heard any noise. Staff were very nice!. Breakfast great. Thank you!

Room Tip: we were on the second floor - no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandK110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear DandK110

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in January. It is very exciting to hear that you and your family really enjoyed our new bedding and pillows in our guest rooms. In addition, we are also glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our morning breakfast selections, as well as the quietness at our hotel. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay here again with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at the property while on our way to Tampa. Very clean, great service and friendly staff. Beds and pillows were second to none, very much like a much more expensive hotel. Staff was very gracious to accomodate a special request for my family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Jeff C,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in January. All of the staff here are very pleased to hear that you and your family greatly enjoyed your time spent at the Comfort Inn University, during stopover on the way top Tampa. It is so nice to know that you and your family were happy and satisfied with our new bedding and linens in our guest bedrooms, as well as our staff’s friendly customer service. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay here again with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Overnight stop in Gainesville, FL, traveling from the Florida Keys to Texas. Good location, close to Interstate and restaurants. Hotel was clean, neat, and comfortable. Concierge was friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable. Pillows were great. Comfort exceeded expectations. Unexpectedly nice for the price.

Room Tip: I prefer top floors facing the parking lot instead of the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jblunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear jblunk,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in January. We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying at the Comfort Inn University, while passing through Gainesville on your way to Texas. Thank you for leaving such beautiful compliments about our property’s location, cleanliness, staff service, bedding, linens, and price. It was a real pleasure having you as our guest. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay here again with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hope, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Due to bad weather we required an unscheduled overnight stay in Gainesville, Florida. We stopped at the Comfort Inn and found not only a great rate but excellent customer service from the front desk staff.
Our request for a ground floor room was easily accommodated and the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. All amenities were above average. Breakfast was included and had a good variety of options to choose from.
The location was great, as it was very close to a variety of restaurants and the access back on to the I-75 the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMRadford_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear JMRadford_11,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in January. It is so nice to hear that though you and your family needed to make an unscheduled stop into Gainesville, that your short time here was quite pleasant. All of our staff are thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed our front desk’s customer service, our comfortable and spacious rooms, our hotel’s amenities, and the location of our property to lots of different restaurants within the city. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay again with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, IL, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I drive through Gainesville every December on my way to south FL to spend the winter, and have done so for the past many years. I've stayed in several different places, but this is the one I'll return to again and again. The room was great; clean and comfortable. The front desk personnel were welcoming and friendly. Great breakfast, too. All in all, a terrific stop-over. Many restaurants just down the street. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Arlene D,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in December. We’re so glad that you decided to stay at our hotel during your stop-over in Gainesville on your way to the southern part of Florida. It is awesome to hear that out of all the places you have stayed in, the Comfort Inn will now be the hotel you will return to again and again. We are also thrilled to know that you enjoyed everything about our rooms, our staff’s service, our breakfast options, and the location of our hotel to many of the shopping plazas and restaurants in the city. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay again with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very good service and comfortable rooms. We experienced excellent service from the front desk right down to the great breakfast options in the morning. We also loved the cookies. Great Hotel and great staff. Rooms were very clean. If ever in Gainesville, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Shirley B,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in December. All of the staff here are very happy that your visit and experience at the Comfort Inn University was pleasant. Your compliments about our service, hospitality, cleanliness, and breakfast options really go a long way, and we greatly appreciate them. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
585 reviews
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 44 in Gainesville
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 3440 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the newly renovated Comfort Inn, located conveniently near I-75 & Archer Road (Exit 384)- this premier location provides quick access to the University of Florida, UF Health & Shands, VA Hospital, Shopping and Restaurants. Our 100% Non-Smoking hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast, free internet, pet friendly designated rooms, and complimentary shuttle service for your convenience. The modern amenities and service will make your visit to Gainesville a great experience whether you are visiting family, the award winning healthcare facilities, attending sporting events and the many reasons that bring you to Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn University Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing