We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in many ways but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great in many ways but...”
Reviewed 24 April 2007

I stayed at the Comfort Inn in Gainesville to attend my son's wedding in Bronson Florida. I chose it for the location and the amenities. Especially the highspeed internet connection. As the wedding was last minute due to military deployment, etc., I would need to work from my room while I was there. I arrived on Thursday and the hotel's server was down from late Thursday until Saturday late afternoon. When I inquired about checking out so that I could go elsewhere, I was told no refund would be given. Nice stay otherwise. Clean rooms, decent breakfast(more fruit, yogurt, etc. would be nice) the coffee in the lobby was a nice touch and the location is near shopping, restaurants and I-295.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Internet down too long
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lasigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    118
    43
    10
    12
See reviews for
162
111
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2006

Hotel was newer, close to freeway, quiet and clean. I was lucky to get a Jacuzzi suite which has a separate bedroom so I had a lot of space but it was wasted since I was traveling alone. (I never tried the Jacuzzi.) The internet access, however, was not the best, having a weak signal the entire evening but there were a lot of cable channels to choose from. The room had a kitchenette with a microwave, fridge and sink. My room faced the front of the building away from the freeway so it was very quiet. There are no restaurants within walking distance but there is a Texas Roadhouse that you can get to by cutting through the Target parking lot and avoiding the busy road that accesses the freeway. Breakfast was typical and included make your own waffles.

  • Disliked — Poor internet
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lady_Road_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2006

We stayed at the Comfort Inn West hotel in Gainesville Memorial Day weekend because it was one of the few Gainesville hotels that is pet-friendly and wasn't completely booked due to some religious convention. The reviews on trip advisor suggested the hotel would be about average and that is exactly what it is.

The good:
-Large, clean rooms
-Comfortable beds
-Microwave, fridge and tv with full cable in room
-One very helpful concierge who rushed to get us an air purifier and put carpet fresh on the rug (we were relegated to a smoking room b/c of our cat, and we are non-smokers).

The bad:
-Key to get in room was very finicky and we usually had to try 4 or 5 times to enter the room
-Complete inability to access the front desk or housecleaning or wake-up call from the in-room phone (we tried to reach these various places about 5 separate times and the line was ALWAYS busy.
- Disgusting smell of smoke in smoking/pet room (the purifier helped but it was pretty pungent)

The average:
- There is a breakfast buffet, but the food is medicore and the assortment is not very appealing. I ate 1/4 of a plain waffle and 2 bites of a nasty apple. However, it was fun to cook my belgium waffle.

While it wasn't the Ritz, it was ok value for the money and we would stay there again if necessary. However, hopefully our cat won't tag along next time and we will stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FlyersKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 June 2005

This is the second time my husband and I stayed here, and we again found it very good. It is rated as a Silver Award hotel by Choice Hotels, which means they have considered one of their better properties for several years in a row. Check-in went smoothly, our room was large and very clean, and breakfast was very good with fresh home-made waffles as well as all of the other standard breakfast items. The location, just off I-75, is excellent for business travelers, leisure travelers, and those just traveling through Gainesville. There is a wide variety of restaurants and shopping with 1/2 mile of the hotel. Although newer hotels are under construction in the area, this is still the newest hotel. We definitely would stay here again and do not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Note: A $1.00 charge for the safe in the room will be added to the bill at check-in, but will be credited back at check-out if you request it.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nwlou
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2005

My family stayed at this hotel while visiting relatives in the area. It is a newer property and I felt that it gave us a good value for our money

Nice rooms and comfortable beds. Staff is nice and helpful. Pool area is nice but small and a little noisy because of the highway near by.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 August 2004

I am not picky when it comes to hotels. As long as the room is clean and comfortable, I am happy. Unfortunately, I can’t say that about the Comfort Inn West. The only good thing I can say about the hotel is the excellent rate we got on our room. We got a two bedroom Jacuzzi suite for $89 a night.

Now the bad part, the room smelled awful. It had this old musty smell. The only thing you could do on the phone was call the Front Desk. I decided to take a bath in the Jacuzzi. I noticed after I filled it up that there was this blue chemical color in the water. It even smelt like the chemical they clean the counters with. There was even this crust that appeared on the outside of the tub. Evidently, they cleaned the tub but failed to rinse it.

The Front Desk was not very helpful; they were talking with co workers and never seemed to pay much attention to us when we were checking in/out. My friend slept in the bedroom with the King Size bed while I slept on the pull out sofa. The pull out sofa looked big but was very small. I am 5 ‘7 and my feet hung off the bed.

The only good part about the Comfort Inn was the breakfast. It had fresh waffles that you could make. It had a waffle iron and pre portioned batter. They had bread, cereal, and other items. Not to bad for a free breakfast. The hotel was located directly off 75. I faced towards the front of the hotel which does not face towards the highway. But, I did have friends who faced the highway and they said it was quite noisy.

To wrap things up, the Comfort Inn is ok to stay one night. They do have good rates. But as the saying goes, you get what you pay for!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 September 2003

Comfort Inn West is an awesome hotel! Our first night in Gainesville, we opted for the ::cheaper:: competition. However, we were thoroughly disappointed. The next night, we decided to try our luck next door.
This hotel was a polar opposite to its neighbor. It was clean, new, and all of the amenities were included. The rooms were great and we got an excellent night's sleep. The staff was friendly and courteous, the pool was warm, and the free continental breakfast that we received was outstanding. There wasn't even a real price difference once you figure in the additional cost for breakfast versus the continental breakfast at Comfort. I would recommend this hotel above all others.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 3440 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the newly renovated Comfort Inn, located conveniently near I-75 & Archer Road (Exit 384)- this premier location provides quick access to the University of Florida, UF Health & Shands, VA Hospital, Shopping and Restaurants. Our 100% Non-Smoking hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast, free internet, pet friendly designated rooms, and complimentary shuttle service for your convenience. The modern amenities and service will make your visit to Gainesville a great experience whether you are visiting family, the award winning healthcare facilities, attending sporting events and the many reasons that bring you to Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn University Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing