We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

From the moment we stepped into the lobby we continued to be surprised. Welcome smiles and beautiful holiday decorations. The room was large with two queen beds. The bath was clean.
Breakfast had a large variety.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferN152201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    91
    43
    19
    30
See reviews for
98
62
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have stayed at Holiday Inns before but not an Express. This was the best hotel. A friend and I were on an overnight for the Still Stitching with Susan Christmas Party in Trenton, west of Gainesville. My friend had stayed there before and she raved about it. It was everything she said and more. Great hot breakfast, eggs and hotcakes, cinnamon buns, etc.; great beds and pillows, very clean room (an executive room, she said). Roomy and cost not much more than a standard one. Hot coffee, ice water and hot water for tea available after hours, too. Beautifully decorated for Christmas; tree, Santas, vintage hutch....lobby so inviting.
We are coming back for another
Still Stitching event in January and the reservation is already made.
Close to I75 but not disruptive, lots of restaurants and shops within short drive...and UF is a couple miles away.
.

Room Tip: If you want cold water for later at night, get it in the lobby in coffee cup with lid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 450oldcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have never heard of such ridiculous hotel policies!!! Especially ones in which hotel employees are not allowed to use their decision making skills to assist with providing great customer service. Customers needs should come first. Due to unexpected reasons I had to stay in Gainesville, FL. I have always liked staying at Holiday Inn Express hotels until yesterday, November 21st. I arrived at the hotel with cash for my room as I didn't have a credit card with me. I was told that I needed a credit card for a $10 incidential hold. I offered to provide the $10 in cash and I could get it back at checkout. I was told I needed a credit card for a $10 hold to cover damages to room. First of all $10 will not cover damages to a room. Secondly, if you hold $10 on a card it isn't a guarantee you will have access to more funds if there are damages to the room. This is the most ridiculous policy I have ever heard of for a hotel. I was told that it was this particular locations policy by the corporate HIE office when I called to file a complaint. I had to leave and purchase a gift card just to stafisfy this facilities request as my belongings were already in the room. They even locked the door to prevent me from re-entering the room as if I were a thief. RIDICULOUS! ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!!!. I have stayed at 5 star hotels which accepts cash deposits and returned the deposits at check-out. I say once again all this trouble for $10. $10????? REALLY?? I actually left the hotel the next day and checked into the hotel next to it. Not only did the hotel next to this one accomodate me but obviously after seeing that I had been at one of the hospitals gave me a good rate and made sure I was very comfortable and checked on me once I was in my room. The hotel next to this one has a credit card deposit policy of $20 but the staff made the decision to not take a deposit from me at all. What is sad is that the security staff at HIE assisted me to my room by wheel chair and he apologized for the inconvenience. I will not EVER stay at this facility again! Oh, needless to say, I spoke with the manager the next morning and stated to him that it appears customer service isn't a primary focus at his establishment. I explained to him that policies are great but when you see it isn't accomodating your guest in a positve way it is time to possibly revamp the policy. To lose $100 for a $10 credit card policy isn't good business sense. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JShaw_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

FL
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

I arrived well after midnight on an unexpected trip. They were courteous and helpful. I had a huge, clean, recently refurbished room with a really comfortable bed all ready to go with no notice. It was a convenient location and a good value compared to other places I have stayed there. I would definitely go back and highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LHH_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Quietly tucked among the tall pines just off of I-75 (exit 384, SW Archer Rd) is this clean and convenient property. The room was clean and comfortable. We did have a slight problem with a musty odor in our room. However, housekeeping immediately responded to our request and sent a staff member to our room to address the odor. The front desk staff was friendly and attentive. The complimentary breakfast had a wide variety to select from and was always clean and well stocked. This seems to be a popular hotel for Gator alumni as it was booked completely full for homecoming weekend. It's a family friendly hotel convenient to many local restaurants, familiar national chains, shopping and UF Shands Medical Center.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are usually quieter. Conveniently located to University of Florida campus a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trtzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The bed was extremely hard, and while they provided a "soft" and "firm" pillow, both were actually "noticeably full of cotton balls." On top of that, I spent all night feeling as if bugs were jumping onto me. Breakfast was good, but next time we will pay the extra money to stay in a room that is actually comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isanc012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST MIFFLIN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We picked this jhotel because we have been staying at other Holiday Inn Express in the past and have always been pleased. Well this particle one one blew us away. The room was beatiful and comfortable. It was well appionted and just a great place to relax after a 14 hour drive. Within walking distance were resturaunts and some shopping, although we did not shop we were just looking for a good meal. The room was verycomfortable with two king size beds with large pillows and pillowtop matresses. With the refridgerator and microwave and in room coffee. we were set to unwind. The complimetry breakfast was great with and nice array of choices. As we will be traveling down to florida a few times every year we will make this a regular stoip in travels.

Room Tip: the room we got was on the 4 th floor and it was quiet and well appoited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRJAMMERZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Gainesville
Homewood Suites Gainesville
#10 of 45 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW
Address: 3905 SW 43rd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2217 (Formerly Baymont Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy and charming Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gainesville, Florida is centrally located between the Wild Adventures and Walt Disney World theme parks. Just two miles from the University of Florida, home of the Florida Gators. This charming property is conveniently located off Interstate 75 Exit 384. Special in room amenities include free high speed internet, ceiling fans, free local calls, and fresh baked cookies every Monday through Thursday evening. BUSINESS: Nationwide Insurance, Farm Bureau Insurance, Gainesville Regional Airport HOSPITALS: Shands Hospital, Veteran Administration Medical Center, North Florida Regional Medical Center UNIVERSITIES: University of Florida, Santa Fe Community College Local Attractions are Kanapaha Botanical Gardens, Butterfly Museum, Payne s Prairie Reserve, Hippodrome Theatre, Haile Plantation Golf Course, and Gainesville Raceway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/i-75 Sw Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing