We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It started with the reservation, which took well over 30 minutes to make. Pretty simple- four rooms for three nights, one room for one night. One king bed, four with two doubles. One dog. First it was booked in the wrong month, then booked with no king and apparently in the wrong rooms for a pet. Not their fault despite the fact that I did have an email confirmation. Then endless frustration. Nothing could be done. VERY rude staff. Not concerned with the guest, only their rules. Told I could stay elsewhere. Reservation was "just human error". NO effort to make accommodations. The Lodge in Gainesville & Homewood Suites both at this exit are wonderful. Stay there.... Stay anywhere but here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Mark M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is disappointing to hear about your experience at our hotel. I would like to address your concerns in further details and have sent you a private message to obtain more information regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Gainesville, Florida, does not have a lot of choices when it comes to hotels. If you are passing through or in town for the weekend, book this hotel. The hotel is clean; the rooms are clean and appear to be renovated; the hotel feels safe; and the beds are comfortable.

The hotel provides an "okay" breakfast with the stay. When I was there it was full of little league baseball kids. The standard breakfast in a hotel of this pedigree is offered: cereal, bagels, muffins, rubbery omelets, weak coffee, etc. Nothing to write home about but the kids seemed to like the selection as they certainly "chowed-down".

The workout room is pitiful. The pool is nice. The setting is NOT scenic (I-75 is right outside on the backside).

Despite all of that, when looking around at my options, this one turned out to be best (I walked out of one hotel that I had reserved because it stank was dark and did not feel safe). In contrast, this hotel is relatively inexpensive, safe, parking is free, and the whole place is clean.

Gainesville options are few and far between. Stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel so that you are sure not to hear I-75. If you have tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Upon checking in the clerk made the comment that he saw that we made the reservation through Travelocity. Upon reviewing my credit card statement I also noticed the hotel also charged me for the same night. Maybe a mistake or maybe not. Called the manager and he has said that he corrected it. Wonder if this has happened to other people. At least the hotel bill was less than Travelocity. I have contacted Travelocity as to why they are higher and they want my long lost 10 digit trip number.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear terry n,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you had some issues with your reservation. I have sent you a private message in order to obtain more information about your stay. We hope to hear from you soon and be of further assistance.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way home from Disney World. We were pleased with the property. The room was fine, although there was no mini-fridge in the room and the space for hanging clothes was limited. This would affect a longer stay, but didn't affect our overnight stay.
Breakfast was really good compared to others we've had at hotels (even other HI Expresses). We got the room for $85 with a coupon from one of those travel booklets. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionfan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great hotel. Very friendly staff--front desk, breakfast server, housekeeping, etc. The person stocking the breakfast bar made the grandkids feel special. Very comfortable rooms. Location is a bit hard to find--at least going northbound--or we simply missed the signs! It sits behind another hotel and we did not see the hotel or signage from the off-ramp.

Room Tip: Great place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGAT1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip for two nights. The hotel was everything you expect from a HIE and I stay at a lot of them.

Some pros: This hotel is very close to I-75 and the university, yet manages to be at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac. It's nicely decorated both outside and inside and there is plenty of parking. The staff are professional, courteous, friendly and all genuinely seem to like their jobs. Beds are newer and comfy, I had no trouble getting a good night's sleep. Rooms are quiet with little sound leakage from the nearby interstate or adjacent rooms.

A few cons: The breakfast wasn't quite up to par. The eggs and sausages were dry and the biscuits were so hard I could have used them under a tire to keep my car from rolling downhill. The coffee was hot and fresh however, and most of the rest of the breakfast was passable.

A final con, the main road (Archer, FL 24) is EXTREMELY busy in the mornings. I found that just exiting the road that the hotel is on at 7:30am took almost 20 minutes on both mornings. This is not the hotel's fault, but if you're here on a business trip or on a tight schedule, allow yourself some extra time or make your departure time earlier or later if you can.

The next time I stay in town I will stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank copperdragon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed there driving down to southern Florida, when hotel we planned to stay was sold out for the night. Modern, clean hotel located right off I-75with courteous staff.- and they have a military rate for active duty and retirees. It will be our first option in future when we stop in Gainesville.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurelandbetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 47 in Gainesville
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#11 of 47 in Gainesville
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 47 in Gainesville
578 reviews
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 47 in Gainesville
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW

Address: 3905 SW 43rd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2217 (Formerly Baymont Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: £84 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION, Holiday Inn Express I-75 Gainesville, FL Hotel's Staff Welcomes You. Just off I-75, the Holiday Inn Express, Gainesville / I-75 SW hotel puts you in the heart of Gator country, half-way between the Wild Adventures and Walt Disney World theme parks and 2 hours from Tampa's cruise ship hub. This pet friendly Gainesville, Florida hotel's location is extremely convenient for corporate and leisure travelers. The hotel is near the University of Florida, Shands Hospital at UF and the offices of Nationwide Insurance and Farm Bureau Insurance. For travelers with interests further away, Gainesville Regional Airport (GNV) is just 20 minutes away and for other major cities guests just hop onto the interstate via exit 384 which is right behind the hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/i-75 Sw Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing