We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here during a road trip. For the price you can not beat this hotel. Very clean, nice staff, very large room and a nice desk. Free Wi-Fi. We got a rate of $69. Much less than the other hotels close by. Don't pay the extra money. I am picky sometimes and can say will we be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tfast200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    167
    71
    17
    17
See reviews for
210
109
58
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this property while visiting UF. It was everything you could ask for at a phenomenal price. The staff were friendly, even called the room after we checked in to make sure everything was okay. The room was clean and new looking, and the neighborhood and proximity to the campus was excellent. Right across the street there is Target, Publix, tons of restaurants, and even a Barnes and Noble! I felt completely safe. The only thing I missed was a hair dryer in the room, but I will just remember to bring my own next time. And there will definitely be a next time!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed 3 nights in double room on first floor. Room was clean and more than adequate for a solo traveler.Staff was pleasant and helpful. Ideal location just off Archer Road. Close to shopping and University of Florida. Booked online and applied for Redicard as I plan to stay at this Red Roof in the future.

Room Tip: Book online and apply for redicard to earn points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomboom109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed at the Red Roof after spending the entire day at Shands. It was very clean. We picked it due to having a coupon from one of those books you get at the gas station. When I presented it, there was no problem at all; in fact, after telling them where we had been, he was very nice and pointed out that they have a discount for having to go to Shands that would make it cheaper than the coupon. The staff was very nice. The room was not a penthouse suite, but it suited for the reason that we needed it for.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndnpassferfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

I stopped at this Red Roof Inn based on a billboard along I-75 saying $49 for a room. That must have been a single person rate because for 2 the price increased several dollars, and then I opted for a king-size bed over a double and paid around $10 more.

I didn't have a tape measure with me, but I sure wondered if the king bed was truly that. It seemed to be the length of a queen bed (i.e., 6'6") while wider than a standard queen would be. Being tall, this made a difference.

I know I can't claim to be disappointed not to find even a doughnut or danish in the lobby in the morning, since Red Roof is well known as a no-frills budget chain. They did appear to have coffee dispensers but they were cleaned out. The room had a coffee maker (and fridge also, being a king room) but I was in a hurry by that point.

Next time, I'd probably take the time to compare the rates of nearby properties before I returned to pay $67.99 plus tax for a king-for-2 at this one. Even for the "king" room, and just my sense of value, but I felt like it should have been $10 less.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdtallyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

The Red Roof Inn is the hotel I usually stay at when visiting my daughter in college. The rooms are clean, quiet, and the price is right! If you compare the hotels in the surrounding area, the Red Roof Inn is comparable to hotels double in price. I've stayed here many times, and I've never been disappointed. The staff is friendly, and very accomidating.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindylu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Had a comfy, cozy night's stay delightfully refreshing. Would definitely stay here again well worth the money.

Room Tip: Just ask for your preference in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyann49247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Property: Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Address: 3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing