We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for football game, not much else”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK for football game, not much else”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

The major plus - You can usually get a room for 1 night at a decent price for a football game. Other than that, I wouldn't recommend staying here. Can get much better room elsewhere. During our 1 night stay, killed 5 roaches in the bathroom. There were fleas in the grassy strip in front of our room. Marginally clean; blanket and bedspread had holes in them; very dated decor. Curtains didn't close all the way. TV remote didn't work- turned on/off but didn't Chang channels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearwoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    12
    5
    24
See reviews for
11
10
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here as an extended stay for 3 very long weeks. Quoted price by phone when got there given $50 higher quote because of people and 3 month old puppy. All explained prior but nevertheless. 1st day exchange towels and told go across to quality inn have 2 go over there and walk 2 laundry where inventory of towels was done. Same amount has to be exchanged only amount of people in room no extras. Then told I could take my trash to dumpsters only get once a week cleaning on day you check in. Next incident was we have puppy on harness and leash and sit @ what I thought was public picnic table and was told by owner btw that interrupted my tanning to take my dog and walk him by dumpsters since his other relatives who are housekeppers want to come out and worship the tree and are terrified of all dogs. Nvr mind we paid pet fee. Other people who stayed there had 2 dogs with no leashes that played in traffic daily. Then the issue of the grass which was knee high and asked for week and half to cut puppy was bringing fleas in the room. Maintenance guy who NEVER bathes and has maybe 8 teeth total prob because of his habit didn't know when they could cut it. The list is never ending here but honestly if you have to come to gainsville to work it does have a decent weekly rate but it honestly is completely ridiculous from the owner harassing you about everything to having no respect for women due to their culture to drug dealers making deliveries like a damn pizza service that this truly is no place for a family or anybody with a pet or a temper. I promise you that you will want to punch the owner in the face just like I did on a daily basis. I just didn't want somebody else to be sucked into this godforsaken hell hole like we did.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tbamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This "lodging complex" consists of a Rodeway Inn and Quality Inn apparently owned and operated by the same family.

There is not much I can add to the title of this review and the other recent reviews of this set of two disgusting motels. See "Myria E" and "George S" for more details.

The rooms are cheaply furnished, dirty, and in disrepair. The owner/managers (at least the older Indian (?) couple) are unfriendly and discourteous at least by American standards.

Do yourself a favor and stay at the nearest homeless shelter - i am sure it will be more comfortable and sanitary than this dump.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Interstate, so choose one of the many rooms with a really loud air conditioner th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Roaches, putrid smell in the bathroom, nasty maintenance man, continental breakfast was pre-wrapped honey buns. Manager does not care about the complaints and is NOT interested in making things better, he just said he would refund the charge and then hung up on me! I was only half way through my list of complaints for the ONE NIGHT stay I had!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MYRIA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed here Fri and Sat night this past weekend. What a mistake. DON"T STAY HERE!!!!! Here's a list of issues in no specific order:
- Horrible Wi-Fi more people logged in the slower it went and they can't have 60 5ooms..
- Phone was broke
- TV was broke
-1st service cvall placed after waiting 40 minutes to check in...
- 2 roomates I didn't invite (See pic)
- Toilet didn't flush
- 2nd service call placed after being there 1 1/2 hours... (
- A/C was lous till I fixed it, no need for 3rd service call
- Service guy was nice (Only bright spot)
- $125 a night, R U Kidin me???????
- Door squeeked everytime opened or closed

DON"T STAY HERE.... PERIOD!!!!

Room Tip: There isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a review for the QUALITY INN at 3455 S.W. WILLISTON ROAD in Gainesville, right off I-75 at Exit #382 (rather than QUALITY INN UNIVERSITY), which does not show up on the TRIP ADVISOR list.

Having stayed at numerous CHOICE HOTELS properties throughout the country, this was one of our worst experiences. The A/C had a plastic deflector, which blasted all the air right onto the beds, and there was no way to re-direct the air flow, Sure, you could shut the A/C off completely, but then the room would get stuffy in just a few minutes.

In addition, soundproofing in the room was inadequate. You could clearly hear people speaking in the neighboring rooms even though they weren't talking very loud. The maintenance person admitted toi me that the walls were barebone, so to speak.

Last, but not least, the breakfast choices were the worst and most minimal I have seen in any Quality Inn, Comfort Inn, or Choice Inn in years.

Convenient I-75 location but not worth the price in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Spent one night here on our way to Florida. The location was good as it was right off I-75 but that did make it rather noisy during the night. The room was average and maybe not quite as attractive as it might have been. It looked like previous water damage on the ceiling in the bathroom left stains that needed repainting. The room had a very strong perfumed smell that I found hard to live with. Turning on the AC only helped a little so I mentioned it to the desk clerk. She arranged for an "ozone" machine to be brought to the room. After that ran for about an hour, the room smell was fine. This hotel was obviously understaffed on the night we were there and the clerks did their best to handle things, but it was just too much for them. When we came down at 8am for a breakfast that was supposed to last unitl 9, the coffee, milk and juice were all in need of refilling. The front desk clerk was trying to attend to both the desk and the breakfast in addtion to taking care of the breakfast at the Rodeway across the parking lot, just too much for one person. If you really need a room for the night this will work, but don't expect any more than an average stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 44 in Gainesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#27 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#13 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 3459 SW Williston Rd, Gainesville, FL 32608-5050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Gainesville, Florida
Gainesville Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing