We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to believe this is in Florida”

Devil's Millhopper Geological State Park
Ranked #6 of 61 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
349 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Hard to believe this is in Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Unlike most of flat Florida, this is a sinkhole with a great boardwalk that lets you head down to the bottom. Listen to the water running into the area while the crickets chirp and the birds tweet. In the winter, many leaves are bare and you can take in the expanse. Once growth begins, it's hard to see across the sink. Apparently 290 steps take you down and then back up. Around the edge of the sinkhole is a separate smooth walking path. Next to the parking lot, there are picnic tables. The Devil's Millhopper is worth an hour to take it in; very unique. On hot muggy days, beware the mosquitoes!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JFGainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    150
    47
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to get a good workout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Devil's Millhopper is interesting the first time you go...walking down into this huge sinkhole. However, after that, it just ho-hum. HOWEVER....if you live in Gainesville (as I do), it is a GREAT place (in addition to Ben Hill Griffin Stadium) to get a great workout. So, while the geological aspect of Devil's Millhopper is very interesting, especially if you go on a Ranger Tour, it's not a place to go over and over unless you are looking for exercise.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KM2BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A lovely walk in a lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

As a woman of size, I thought this attraction would be too strenuous for me. There are a lot of stairs but also a lot of landings where you can rest. It is worth the effort if you love interesting natural phenomenon. I would not drive a great distance just to see it, but there are plenty of other things to do in Gainesville so if you are in the area definitely take this lovely stroll.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MTClarity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

It is a nice peaceful walk. The signs gives some good history and there are some places to sit. Not wheelchair accessible and there are a ton of stairs to the bottom of the sinkhole.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mobius29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
378 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Peaceful geological oddity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Having never seen a large sinkhole, my husband and I stopped off on our recent trip in Florida. There is a simple display area above that explains how it was formed and what to look for. You can simply walk around it on a trail or descend down wooden steps to the bottom (which I recommend). It's very quiet and peaceful, quite pretty, too. Quite a few local people walk here for exercise.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank CBW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devil's Millhopper Geological State Park also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Millhopper Geological State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing