We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel 6 Gainesville - Univ. of Florida
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
New Orleans, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2007

We were supposed to have am ground floor room as one of us is handicapped...and it was a second floor room. It wasn't clean, there were clumps of curly black hair on the floor in front of the sink. Towels were thin and dingy, and there was almost enough toilet paper on the roll to cover the brown paper, requiring a trip to the office for a second towel, washcloth, and toilet paper upon check in (TOTALLY unacceptable but we were desperate) The pool was also closed for maintainance (on the saturday beginning spring break?) There is a Super 8 next door, maybe I'll try that next time...or staying in another town. I am sorry to say that it was a high ewww and zero ahh score on this property, and Motel 6's have earned the look-before-you-book designation. The tv worked, the a/c worked, and the shower worked.

  • Liked — easy access to I-75
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gs419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    16
    18
    29
See reviews for
19
19
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2006

I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. When we came back to our room at night we found a long brown bug by the sink - a few minutes later we found another by the toilet. About 15 minutes later we found another one. After that I was afraid to look around anymore and we would've considered going elsewhere but it was 12:30am at this point and we were very tired.

Also, the stopper in the sink was down and we couldn't get it up. It was seriously stuck down so nothing was draining, so we used the shower instead of the sink. And upon entering our room the side table had dirt and sand on it and the floor next to the bed had a lot of dirt on it as well.

We weren't very pleased with our stay there and although it was convenient and there wasn't a lot of noise, we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2005

Good price, clean room, clean sheets, good location. Helpful desk staff. Management should consider placing all smoking rooms in a wing away from the non-smoking rooms so that smoke does not drift into non-smoking rooms. Sheets were clean but blanket and comforter need to be laundered or replaced.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2005

Clean rooms, although small, have everything you need. Everything was standard, but was there. The grounds were kept, the pool was nice, and it was close to a gas station and a Shoney's! And I75. I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ormondgirlie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2004

Stayed at the Motel 6 on November 13, 2004 during the busy Homecoming weekend. Rooms were scarce or very overpriced. Was able to find a Non-Smoking room that was affordable. Right off of I-75 and Archer Rd. walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. You get what you pay for, but the bathroom/shower was very clean and bed was comfortable. If you are looking for a last minute, cost-effective room I would recommend this location for this purpose only.

Helpful?
6 Thank thewayulook2nite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Gainesville Northwest
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Gainesville
Homewood Suites Gainesville
#10 of 45 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
3.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Gainesville - Univ. of Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Gainesville - Univ. of Florida

Property: Motel 6 Gainesville - Univ. of Florida
Address: 7413 W Newberry Rd, Gainesville, FL 32605-4322
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Gainesville - Univ. of Florida 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Gainesville - Univ. of Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Gainesville - Univ. Of Florida Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Motel Six
Gainesville Motel 6
Motel Six Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing