We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“waste of points!!#”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    143
    79
    37
    17
See reviews for
146
65
40
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while visiting Gainesville. It was very clean, the staff was very friendly, beds were comfortable and we felt safe. We will definitely be staying here again. Thanks for helping this trip be great!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for wonderful review of our hotel. The entire staff of this Howard Johnson Express Inn works very hard t make the hotel a home away from home for each and every one of our guests. We strive to provide a clean, safe and pleasant environment for our guests. We are glad that you were happy with your stay and your recommendation. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed over the weekend when visiting UF. We booked and were able to get a great rate by calling hotel directly and speaking with the manager..(I think his name is Paul). The hotel was located close to the UF campus and Hospital. Hotel is very clean. Staff was very friendly. Very nice and large room, bedding and bed very comfortable. Stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn hotel during my granddaughter's UF school even and will definitely stay here whenever we are in town. Has free wifi and free continental free breakfast. Overall very satisfied during our 3 night stay. Looking forward to coming back to Gainesville, FL.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Gainesville. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to offer a comfortable stay for an exceptional rate and I am glad we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

No hot water, breakfast was very sub-par, significant other had an allergic reaction to cleaning products especially in the bed, definitely not worth the price considering its not close to UF campus.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Howard Johnson Express Inn –Gainesville FL, is an outstanding value and a top notch property. The property and rooms are always well maintained and very clean. The staff is always very friendly an especially the general manager Paul. Paul has always been outstanding when checking in and maintains excellent customer service. Paul is always welcoming in the morning and appreciative of our business and there is free continental breakfast to start the day. The manager's reception in the evenings is a great amenity. The location is just couple of miles from I-75 and only couple of miles from UF campus. I come to Gainesville multiple times a year and stayed in multiple different hotels, however, this hotel has been my best experience in Gainesville. I have stayed here at Howard Johnson Express past couple of my trips to Gainesville and have NOT been disappointed with my stay. Always call the hotel directly for booking and ask for Paul, he will take care of you very well!!! Thanks Paul!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#25 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#13 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing