We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough Plus”
Review of Gator Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gator Town Inn
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed 6 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Howard B C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

It's not a 5 star Hotel but it was clean. I rented 2 rooms and both was very clean. The beds was comfy. Flat Screen T.V. That was nice. Had everything we needed a mini fridge that worked great, mini coffee pot, microwave, iron. Couple of things I didn't care for for bathroom is very very small. Shower head worked great. I kept having to put sheet back up on bed because they use flat sheets instead of fitted. . Not far from other places to eat also. Overall it was nice and I will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnj699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Gator Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased that you were happy with your room and were able to enjoy the benefit of the mini-fridge, microwave and the flat screen TV. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you the next time you visit Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Sometimes I read reviews from people that nitpick and gripe about so many trivial things of hotels. Small things don't bother me. Big things do. But to me, the most important thing about a hotel is location, location, location. To be in a safe area that makes me comfortable is everything. And this Howard Johnson's fits that criteria. SW 13th Street has businesses and places that are spread out. Nothing is jammed together. And that's nice. Also Highway 441 just up the road about 2-3 miles, and has all the stores and restaurants to satisfy anyone's wants and needs. I loved it. Now about the hotel. Yes the room I had was small. One king bed. Bathroom vanity sink was combined with the room. Shower and toilet was separate. Large flat panel TV, refrigerator, microwave, sitting table w/chairs, and safe. Your standard stuff. Room and carpet was clean. Bed was very comfortable w/four pillows. Ice machine worked great. Yes the continental breakfast was minimum and in a small area at the front lobby. But not a big deal for me. I went to a great breakfast place for eggs, toast, fried potatoes, pancakes, sausage, etc. So overall I loved the place. It worked out great. And Jodie at the front desk was super nice. I'll stay here again for sure. Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Gator Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for the kind review of our property. We are delighted that you were very happy with our location and you found your room to be comfortable. Our staff strives to offer great customer service and I am pleased that Jodi was able to provide that. Thank you again for providing your feedback and also for your recommendation. We hope to see you again when you are in Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 268Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul P, General Manager at Gator Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rodger H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul P, General Manager at Gator Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a family run Hotel. They are the nicest people I have ever met. They will anything to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank T-TownRollTide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Gator Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and staff!. We enjoy having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 47 in Gainesville
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#29 of 47 in Gainesville
1,432 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#27 of 47 in Gainesville
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#11 of 47 in Gainesville
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#25 of 47 in Gainesville
134 reviews
1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gator Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gator Town Inn

Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £49 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gator Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2016. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gator Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson
Gator Town Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing