We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Relaxing and Delicious”
Review of The Laurel Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Laurel Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Relaxing and Delicious”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We have stayed at Laurel Oak five or six times over the past few years and always look forward to returning. The house and grounds are lovingly cared for with attention to every detail. Monta and Peggy are innkeepers extraordinaire. They always have great suggestions of restaurants and interesting things to do and see, many within walking distance. They even made our beta fish, who was traveling with us, welcome. And the breakfasts...wow! Monta prepares the best bacon!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderNaplesFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
146
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We have stayed at quite a few B&B's over the years but The Laurel Oak in Gainesville would have to be one of the best. The owners/innkeepers, Monta and Peggy, go out of their way to make your stay memorable. We showed up at the last minute, without reservations, and interrupted their dinner but they went out of their way to make us feel welcome. From great recommendations for dinner to fresh, warm chocolate chip cookies on our return, everything was great. The breakfast was delicious and the inn was spotless. We will return when our travels take us near Gainesville.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the rear of the second floor with a balcony. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We've been enjoying the hospitality and friendship of Innkeepers Monta and Peg of the Laurel Oak Inn for many years. Every fall we look forward to coming back to the LOI and reconnecting with old friends and making new ones. Monta and Peg love life to the fullest and are happy to share. Gourmet food, a beautifully restored home and so much more. Don't forget to bring your bikes or jogging shoes as a great trail is right outside LOI's back door. We can't say enough good things about this Inn and its keepers. Tom and Carol - Tampa town Fl

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stew55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This exquisitely preserved and beautifully decorated home literally gleams and sparkles. Everything one might need for a comfortable stay is in place. I have never slept better and only roused myself in anticipation of Peggy's divine muffins or Monta's perfectly roasted pears. Will definitely find an excuse to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The Laurel Oak Inn is such an amazing place! We stopped in Gainesville on our way to a 5 star hotel and had a wonderful time. The atmosphere was welcoming and relaxing. The Inn was pristine and its landscaping was immaculate. Monte and Peggy were so gracious. I immediately felt at ease and had a lovely time. Monte and Peggy recommended great restaurants within walking distance from the Inn and were charming hosts! The Inn is so serene and every time I looked out a window, I was greeted with a beautiful view. We even had fresh flowers in our room. In the morning, we relaxed on our private balcony listening to the birds, and in the evening, we unwinded on that same balcony and watched the stars. Breakfast was marvelous and peaceful. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We loved the room in the back with the private balcony however, all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

In Gainesville for the FAU game. Great accmadations, made the weekend a pleasure. Monta and Peggy are the most gracious Hosts. They make the stay at their Inn an Experience you want to repeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamichls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I can't imagine anything the owners of the Laurel Oak could do to make the experience friendlier or more comfortable. Each breakfast was a plentiful and delicious gourmet meal in itself, and I slept like a rock. Sometimes I shy away from B&Bs because I worry there will be too much pressure to socialize (esp when traveling on business, with work to do, this can be a little uncomfortable). Here, the hosts are friendly and make themselves available while also being perfectly attuned to guests' privacy.

Room Tip: Lilac Room porch is very pleasant, equipped with light and fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trabbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#26 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurel Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurel Oak Inn

Property: The Laurel Oak Inn
Address: 221 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6806
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior lodging in an uncluttered, meticulously maintained eco-friendly environment.Uncompromised service blended with warmth and attention to detail. Located blocks from the core of Gainesville's vibrant downtown and nestled in a quiet, residential (and historic!) neighborhood one mile from the eastern edge of the University of Florida campus.Rates range from $125 to $199 per evening. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Laurel Oak Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing