We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, filling and fresh food.”

SweetBerries Eatery & Frozen Custard
Ranked #6 of 31 Dessert in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious, filling and fresh food.”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We just tried Sweetberries for the first time. I really liked their menu; I think I could eat here a dozen times, try something different every time and like it all. The food tasted very fresh and the frozen custard was delicious. My husband even said "why would we ever eat regular ice cream again?"
The atmosphere was very open, lots of windows and light and a few tables outside as well.
The cost was about on par with other deli places, and they had a few deals and specials that we took advantage of, like the combo deal.
Great place for a nice light lunch, and definitely try the frozen custard.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KECS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bradenton,florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good custard”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I am from bradenton and have been to the original a few times. i was up here on business and thought i would check it out. This location is just as good (as it should be.) The custard is made on site and was delicious. The staff was friendly and attentive as well An over all good place to get some custard.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floridaboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

The staff if extremely helpful quick to process your order. I got the Kansas City with broccoli salad and both were excellent. The custard with my meal was dreamsicle, a delicious treat with a side of nostalgia. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedictator88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average Custard Place”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

On NW 13th Street and NW 5th Avenue where Booklovers Cafe used to be, this is a chain sandwich shop and custard place. Decent selection of sandwiches and wraps and the custard tastes like custard. I don't believe it deserves to be rated so high on Trip Advisor (at this time near the top). Management is very involved (and friendly) and has a wide network of people, and they are likely rating 5 stars out of 5 stars to boost ranks on Trip Advisor. Nice addition to the NW 13th corridor. You will get decent food at a decent price. This might be the only custard place in Gainesville at this time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stetzga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mmmm good”
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a sandwich that is filling as well as good, this is the place for you. The custard is really good as well. Good clean restaurant in the university area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SweetBerries Eatery & Frozen Custard also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 
Gainesville, FL
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to SweetBerries Eatery & Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing