We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the heart of Gainesville”
Review of Camellia Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camellia Rose Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We visited the Camellia Rose Inn a couple of weeks ago while to Gator Nationals were in town. We were extremely impressed with the service and wished we could have stayed longer. Pat and Tom are the nicest Innkeepers we have met so far, as soon as we arrived we were given wine, beer and cheese and they recommended some local restaurants for us to try. We stayed in the Stardust room which is so quaint, has a new en-suite bathroom and a cute balcony looking out onto the gardens.

The bed was extremely comfortable, the breakfast was great and the house is beautiful. We would definitely recommend the B&B to anyone visiting Gainesville.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

We were in Gainesville to visit our ill daughter in Shands Hospital, so our visit was not for fun. However, dear Pat made us feel so at home and was so understanding that she was like the big sister that I really needed! The rooms are So beautiful and welcoming. There are special little treasures scattered throughout that make you feel like you really are back in the Victorian Age. The food and friends made, were wonderful to say the least. Everyone we met was welcoming. Out of our BEST bed and breakfast experiences! Thank you Pat for for taking me under your wings of love. Susan

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mymackinac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We recently stayed at the Camellia Rose Inn for parents weekend for UF. We had previously stayed at the Hampton Inn downtown. We like the downtown area because of it's eclectic mix of restaurants and coffee shops and it is away from the hustle and bustle of the school. This time the Hampton was booked so I looked around for some inns. Having never stayed at a B&B before I did not know what to expect.

We arrived around 8:00 on a Friday night to the owner, Pat greeting us on the porch. She showed us to our room which was the only room on the first floor. It was tastefully decorated with antiques and a beautiful, comfy bed complete with feather pillows. It was very warm and inviting and made for a great nights sleep.

Due to the cool temperatures the first morning we ate breakfast the in the dining room which overlooked the front porch. The second morning was warmer and we dined on the front porch. Breakfast was delicious both mornings we were there. This was the first chance we had to look around. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. While we were very busy over the weekend visiting with our daughter I did have a chance to take a walk down the street to take a look at some of the other B&Bs in the area. The Camellia Rose was the nicest of them all.

Our only regret was that we were so busy that we did not get to spend much time at the inn. The next time we will make time to take advantage of this wonderful haven. This will be the place we will be staying from now on during our Gainesville visits. It is simply the best.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenlaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This is absolutely the best B&B. From the moment we arrived, the owners, Pat and Tom were attentive and accomodating to our needs. The room had everything- very clean and very well decorated. The grounds are very well kept up and the location is convenient to downtown. Breakfast was also fantastic. The prices are very reasonable. I highly recommend The Camellia Rose Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wakeboard04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed in Spat's Hideaway at the Camillia Rose Inn with our two little dogs. The bed was enormous and very comfortable, and the whirlpool tub was extremely romantic! Nice little kitchen, pretty grounds, hospitable owers. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiree419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I didn't stay there but wanted to share this little story. Some recent guests came to the gallery in Gainesville where I show my art (Artisans' Guild Gallery) this past weekend. I asked them where they were staying and they raved about the Camellia Rose. They said "Why stay at the big chain when Camellia Rose is about 1/2 the price and twice as nice!." That's quite a compliment!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
Thank GalleryStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

My husband and I stayed one night at the lovely Camellia Rose Inn in Gainesville, Florida in August to help our son move out of his apartment. Since my son just graduated, this was going to be our last trip to Gainesville, so we wanted to make it special by staying in a B&B. The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable and the owners made us feel at home. The best part was the delicious home-cooked breakfast served to us by Pat in the charming dining room.
Best times of the year for visiting would be when the camellias are in bloom and the winter holidays. Another plus, it is located near all the sights in downtown Gainesville.
If we ever need to go to Gainesville again, we will definitely stay at this inn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cormat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Sweetwater Branch Inn
#3 of 5 in Gainesville
335 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 47 in Gainesville
457 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Rose Inn

Address: 205 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: £94 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camellia Rose Inn is a six room Inn with private baths. Rooms are large with large windows overlooking beautiful historic Gainesville. Huge porches and a second floor verandah are perfect for relaxing! For a bit more privacy there is also a private cottage. Less than 2 miles from the University of Florida and Shands Hospital and a short stroll to the historic downtown area. Full breakfast served, with homemade goodies and beverages available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camellia Rose Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing