We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Camellia Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camellia Rose Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What a beautiful place to stay. Pat has a knack for decorating and an eye for details. Her place is immaculate. We enjoyed the breakfast, mornings sitting on the top porch and a yummy late night snack. She has done a wonderful job creating a warm and relaxing place to stay. She was flexible with our schedule changes and even dropping in early to check in. My sister, her husband and my husband stayed 2 nights as we moved our son into the university. She gave us lots of pointers (shopping/restaurants/directions) for getting around and we enjoyed getting to know her. We will most definitely be back. Lovely place and a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: great website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PooPins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
110
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed by Pat despite showing up unannounced and without reservations. It's a nice walk to downtown Gainesville. The breakfasts were yummy and we enjoyed using the upper porch in the evenings. Elegant and good value @ $300 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t38ms1lv3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

What a wonderful time my sister and I had! Very relaxing and such charm. The beds are extremly comfortable and perfect for naps during rain storms! Breakfast each morning was sooo goooood! The entire property is wonderfully maintained and decorated in the period of the age of the inn. Pat and Tom are wonderful inn keepers and we have plans for another trip already.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobe Sound, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I chose this wonderful B and B to stay at while our dog Nellie was seen at the U of F veterinary school. I immediately felt at home when I walked in the spacious and cozy cottage. The bed is soooo comfortable and the pretty views out the windows, of the giant oak trees is spectacular! The decor is done so nicely!! pretty dishes, wonderful meals and happy hour snacks. Not to mention the awesome brownies!! Pat and Tom are really great hosts and know how to make you feel comfy!!When traveling alone, it's nice to stay where there will be other people to visit with. And the beautiful wraparound porch is my dream porch. I could sit there for hours!!
This is also a great location to walk to town from. No car needed!! Great food in town and seems like there is a lot to do.
I felt very rested staying here!!

Room Tip: Cottage is quiet and peaceful. And pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

It was our first B and B experience and we loved it! The home is beautiful and exquisitely decorated. The food was great and so were the hostesses! It was a warm and inviting environment. There was nothing that we would have changed about the weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lady Clare room on the first floor. Would choose it again without a doubt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soldotna, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

After a very long flight from Kenai, Alaska, the Inn was a perfect place to gather my thoughts and relax. I stayed in the little (very spacious) cottage. Unfortunately business took me to Gainesville so I didn't get to mingle as I had planned; so I'll do another trip so I can make it to "happy hour" in the evening. Thank you Pat for providing such a wonderful retreat!

Room Tip: The cottage is quiet and very private, well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

If I tell you just how great this place is, then it might be full the next time I go to Gainesville. I prefer a B&B when I travel alone, since I know a real person is expecting me and it makes me feel just a little safer. So, I've been in many B&B's and can say that this is one of the best! Homey, but in a professional way, with all the details covered -- including comfortable beds, soft towels, delicious breakfast, and a friendly host. Our son is a freshman at UF, so we've got at least 3 more years of Gainesville visits. I plan to stay here every time!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBfromBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 44 in Gainesville
425 reviews
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
556 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Rose Inn

Property: Camellia Rose Inn
Address: 205 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camellia Rose Inn is a six room Inn with private baths. Rooms are large with large windows overlooking beautiful historic Gainesville. Huge porches and a second floor verandah are perfect for relaxing! For a bit more privacy there is also a private cottage. Less than 2 miles from the University of Florida and Shands Hospital and a short stroll to the historic downtown area. Full breakfast served, with homemade goodies and beverages available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camellia Rose Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing