We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Camellia Rose Inn is the pride of Gainesville.”
Review of Camellia Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camellia Rose Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“The Camellia Rose Inn is the pride of Gainesville.”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

You will not find a nicer place to stay in Gainesville--period. The Camellia Rose Inn is beautiful, comfortable, and centrally located. The owners of the inn are helpful and a delight to work with.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
110
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We needed a place to stay for the night.and found the Camellia Rose Inn. The rooms, the house, the grounds...gorgeous!! The bed was to die for! It is the most comfortable bed we have ever found! The breakfast was delicious! Pat was so warm and made you feel at home. (Unfortunately her husband was not there but we look forward to meeting him the next time!) We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfistermmp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestview, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My wife and I traveled to Gainesville on the advice of a friend for our honeymoon. We tried finding a decent motel that was resonable to stay but most was way over our budget. We did an online search for Bed and Breakfast places in Gainesville, and the first we looked at was The Camellia Rose owned by Tom & Pat. I called late in the evening and was greeted by Pat and after a few questions we decided to book the room. We stay in the Anticipation Room which was more than we expected. It was way better than a motel room. The food was delicious, the house was emaculant and we made some new friends there that weekend. Pat was even kind enough to go get us a groom's cake and have ready in the room with the strawberries and champange.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMellott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I cannot say enough about this B And B, where to start, pristine, comfortable welcoming...triple sheets of excellent quality pressed and bedding to die for, the bathrooms..amazing, the decorations, the innkeepers, everything about this B And B says stay here and you will never stay anywhere else in Gainesville..and my family and I have stayed in many, many places in Gainesville...but...never again the Camellia rose Inn is the only place for us, everything is within walking distance, but why you would ever leavethe Inn is beyond me,,,the breakfast um, um good,..Pat and Tom what a wonderful place what a wonderful stay...thank you very much...You must go and see this place you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander City, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I was reuniting with former co-workers in Florida and we chose the Camellia Rose Inn as it was a centrally located B&B. We each had beautifully appointed rooms & very comfortable beds, The inn was spotless, the innkeepers so friendly & helpful with directions and recommendations. The food was delicious. The Camellia Rose Inn is so convenient to the restaurants and University of Florida, we plan to make this our annual stop. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saylin_Gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Anticipation Room and we never sleep more comfortable, even in our own beds. The view out the windows were awesome, sitting out on the porches was very relaxing even with the heat outside this time of year there are fans that circulate the air and made it very comfortable to set outside. We plan on going back up during the fall when it is cooler.

The breakfast was very good, something different each morning, coffee good and hot. Loved the brownies left out during the day under a glass cake cover. At 5pm there was wine and snack for those who like to really relax.

We went to a restaruant for lunch called Satchels which was very good. Pat McCants gave us the information for all the places to visit and see.

Many places to visit, highly recommend staying at the Camellia Rose Inn. They make you feel like family. There is a special room that allows pets.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerloverbd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Our family stayed at this beautiful bed and breakfast while our daughter graduated from the University of Florida, then commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the United States Air Force. We wanted a special place to stay to celebrate these events in our lives, and we found ourselves at the Camellia Rose Inn, and immediately fell in love with the inn and the ambiance of the home. We knew from the moment we arrived that it would be hard to leave, but that we would return again. With such emotional events happening in our family, our stay at the inn was the perfect beginning and end to each day we stayed. I can't say enough about this home and the innkeepers who were so gracious.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryjbarkenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
556 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
425 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Rose Inn

Property: Camellia Rose Inn
Address: 205 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camellia Rose Inn is a six room Inn with private baths. Rooms are large with large windows overlooking beautiful historic Gainesville. Huge porches and a second floor verandah are perfect for relaxing! For a bit more privacy there is also a private cottage. Less than 2 miles from the University of Florida and Shands Hospital and a short stroll to the historic downtown area. Full breakfast served, with homemade goodies and beverages available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camellia Rose Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing