We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer satisfaction is bottom priority at the Top”
Review of The Top

The Top
Ranked #3 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: the TOP / prepped daily / fresh & local ingredients / see you soon
gainesville, fl
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer satisfaction is bottom priority at the Top”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If the Top were just a bar that served corn nuggets and delicious desserts (mmmm...bourbon torte) then I would agree that it is a Gainesville gem. However they're actually a restaurant and I can't for the life of me figure out why half of Gainesville seems obsessed with it.
Really? Are we that desperate for unique restaurants in this town that we are willing to wait 2+ hours to eat mediocre food (desserts and corn nuggets aside) served by pretentious hipsters?
Don't let me stop you though, if you like waiting an hour for a table and then an additonal hour, only to have your waiter tell you that the kitchen lost your order and then ignore you the rest of the night, then this is the place for you! Don't expect any sympathy from management either, they're too busy cultivating their beards to be bothered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missbluebird78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    152
    37
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Top has one of, if not the best, Happy Hours in Gainesville. The draft beer list is very impressive, the bartenders are knowledgeable, and the appetizers are well made. The plantain chips are worth a try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AAAheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnelly, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and super service. ”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had the black peppercorn filets. I have not had a better steak in years. The draft beer list (33 varieties) is impressive. The rest of out party had tacos and a hamburger. All excellent. Josh was our server and was one of the best I have ever had. Will definitely return next time we are in town!!!

Helpful?
Thank Idaho_hick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local businesses”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I love that they use natural and organic ingredients without jacking up the price. its always very busy. Its a bit too loud for a nice evening out but I have yet to not like eating there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went to The Top. Sunday Nov 10. There were 7 in our party. We sat down and it took a while to get our order taken. Eventually we placed our order. After we had been there for 1 hour and 20 minutes the waitress came by and said they hadn't lost our order. Seemed to be a strange comment. In the meantime the table next to us was served and left. The table next to that turned over and the second group was eating. The waitress would show up every 15 minutes or so and say they had a really small kitchen and it took a while. She said they didn't even have microwaves. Which was good since I wanted fresh food not microwaved food. After 2 hours we went to the hostess stand and complained. A little while later our waitress came over and said our check had been lost. To add insult to injury she said if we wanted to reorder it would be at least another hour. Now wouldn't you think you would put the order in front if someone had been patiently waiting for 2 hours. She did come by once and asked if we would like some fruit while we were waiting. We all said yes. 20 minutes later she came back by and said would you like some fruit while we were waiting. We said yes the second time as well. She brought a cereal bowl full of fruit put it on the table and left. No serving utensils and no plates. We were all family so we ate out of the same bowl. It was getting pretty incredible at this point. No one from management stopped by or acknowledged our presence. We were all visiting so the time went fast. We had a couple of drinks from the bar that we had to go and get ourselves. When she said it would be more than another hour we left. So in more than 2 hours we had a couple of drinks we got ourselves and Ice water and a bowl of fruit to share. I have been there before and really enjoyed it. I will not go back. Not because of the mix up because I will not support a management team that clearly does not care about their customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hac422001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Top also viewed

 

Been to The Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing