We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for New Orleans style food”

Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille
Ranked #6 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Thank you for visiting Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille! A distinctively different menu, the food of Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille captures the essence of a city not only known worldwide as the birthplace of Jazz but also the birthplace of a unique style of cooking. We've taken the best of Cajun, Creole and Southern flavors infused with a current day twist to create some of our most popular dishes like Shrimp and Scallop Orleans, Grilled Chicken Baton Rouge, Crab Crusted Blackened Red Fish, Bourbon Street Salmon and French Quarter Beef Tenderloin to name a few.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place for New Orleans style food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've had Crawfish Etouffée and it was delicious. The portions were huge, and they give you a lot of crawfish. The sauce is a little spicy, but flavorful. The desserts were very good too! I had the Key Lime Pie, Banana’s Foster, and the Oreo Beignets.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EChang42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    210
    75
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been to Harry's numerous time and I always come back. The food is great, selection of drinks very nice, selection very good. Ate at the Harry's in St. Augustine, FL also, and was very good. The food is always hot and tasty no matter what you order. To die for coleslaw and fried oysters. My fav. I don't consider the prices to be bad either. For what you receive, very reasonable. Atmosphere good and the staff are always courteous and knowledgable. Bar staff are very attentative to all customers. I will keep coming back for many years to come.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Just having fun”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Harry's ranks with my favorite restaurants. My wife & I do find the portions to be quite large so lunch is our preferred dining time. The staff is always friendly and the food great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paco2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service terrible red fish”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As soon as we were seated I noticed that the black apron our waitress was wearing and another waitress's apron were filthy. We were there on a Wednesday evening not too busy. We struggled all evening with poor service having to ask for refills and waiting a long time for beverages, food, check. We ordered both red fish dinners on the menu. (we've eaten red fish before) Our food was served "luke warm" and the red fish was fishy tasting. We will have a freshmen student at UF and anticipate many visits to Gainesville over the next years. We will not go back to Harry's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZippyIndialantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A good time was had by all!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We came here on a beautiful evening, when the weather was perfect and we could here the music coming from the park, so the atmosphere was ideal! We started off with some drinks and appetizers. We tried a new drink that was very good and refreshing, it was made with cucumber, gin and ST. Germains.. I think we found our summer cocktail :-) . We tried fried tomatoes for the first time and they were just ok, we have nothing to compare it to, so do not go by us. We also had gumbo and she crab soup, the crab soup was incredible. So good we ordered two more for the table, yum! There were 6 of us 4 of middle age and two young ones, 25 and 10 respectively. We all loved the place. Our entrees were good especially the red snapper and the rosemary skewered shrimp, sides were very good as what the bread and herbed butter. We ate well, laughed hard, enjoyed our time immensely! Was it the best food we ever had.? No, but it was pretty darn good and made for a great night!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicatred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing