We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Hotel is clean, upscale, more a suite hotel than simply a hotel. Breakfast if plentiful, and pleasingly presented. For $3.00 you can have an omelet made to order. Room amenities are upscale. Hotel is in a quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We hope you choose the Best Western Plus Gateway Grand whenever you are in Gainesville and we look forward to serving you again. Have a great day. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    207
    79
    30
    23
See reviews for
264
154
54
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ga
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Room not as clean as expected, older hotel, staff not very helpful, room is very much over priced.. Not a $100.00 + room maybe a 79.00 or 89.00 at most. My suggestion would be to check elsewhere before checking in

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaBear3024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
I'm so sorry your experience wasn't up to your expectations. We will work to improve our staff's helpfulness and the hotels cleanliness. Have a great day. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, OH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Not sure what I expected when we made our reservation as I have not stayed at a Best Western in decades and never heard of Best Western Plus. What I found was a very pleasant surprise. Breakfast is among the best of the "free" breakfasts that are so popular today. Waffles, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, breads and rolls are all abundant. Fresh cooked omlets or scrambled eggs are available for only $3.00 more and they are huge. Our room was large, but with two problems. First, a better job of training staff on how to clean the room is appropriate. Several strands of somebody else's hair clung to the shower wall throughout our four days (we did not advise the staff but waited for them to correct it without our help). Scraps of paper were never picked up off the floor. Second, the air conditioner blows directly onto the bed. Some odd plastic thing keeps the air from blowing up, redirecting it onto those who are trying to sleep. This is Florida so turning the a/c off is not an option. Management can train staff how to clean, but fixing the a/c problem will be more difficult. I never thought I'd say this about anyplace, but they really need a larger sign. Without a Trip Advisor map, I'm not sure I'd have found the place. Searching for a sign became a minor game for my friends and family.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dvomacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for your comments. They are very helpful. I will make sure our Housekeeping Executive gets your comments so we can include them into our training. Our county limits signs and we've been trying for years to get one out on 39th avenue as a directional. You never know, maybe they will loosen the code in the future so we can put one up. Thanks again for the comments. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I was 1 of 5 females traveling to a Hunting Expo in Newberry to sell our "bling" designs. We opted for a room with a queen size bed, sofa bed and roll-away bed. The room was very clean with a small fridge coffee maker and micowave. The staff was "awesome" any time we needed anything (extra towels; blanket; coffee etc) they were there in minutes! When we asked one male staffer was there another ice machine closer to our room, he said "unfortunately, no"...but he would be happy to go get ice for us...and he did!!! The "complimentary" breakfast was very good, too. Several choices available which is very helpful when you stay 3 nights! We were also extremely impressed with the guest "welcome" note...never seen one like it before...nice wording, which again made us feel very welcomed! Met a young man (Joey) at the Hunting Expo that said he was personal friends with the owner so we told him how much we were enjoying our stay and to pass it on to his friend! Hope he got the message - we will certainly recommend this hotel to others heading that way!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. I will be sure to pass them along to our Housekeeping Executive. The gentleman that helped with the ice was Ray our Food & Beverage Manager. We try to keep "service" in all the training we do. We hope to see you next time you're at Easton Archery here in Gainesville. Have a great day. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
296 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

A pretty good place to stay. Free breakfast was pretty darn good! A little outdated decor, yet comfortable.. Pleased with staff. Pool and hot jacuzzi was nice after a long day. It was a great place where we could visit with other family members staying there.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lemon737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for the nice comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to let you know we will be replaceing the carpeting this fall and the furniture in the rooms will start to be replaced in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were making an overnight stop on a long trip, and we chose this hotel simply out of convenience. We were pleasantly surprised to find lots of little things that made the stay more pleasant than the typical Interstate highway exit hotel. It's a nicer-looking building from the outside than most; the lobby is spacious; hallways are unusually wide; beds were extra comfortable; TV remote was the "Clean Remote", the type that can be easily sanitized (think about it!!); TV was a good sized flat panel; shower head was large, high type with plenty of waterflow; breakfast was unusually good and free -- waffle maker, pre-made Jimmy Dean breakfast biscuits, selection of breads, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, and Krispy Kreme donuts (glazed *and* chocolate frosted --yum). There was also an option for a custom-made omelet for $3 extra, which is a bargain. Our room was not luxurious, but it was clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. My favorite "pleasant surprise" was there were 3-outlet power strips both on the nightstand by the bedside, AND on the desk. For those of us who travel with multiple PCs, cell phones, a mi-fi card, and an iPad (OK, we're a bit over the top), it was great to have the extra plugs handy and not have to pull out furniture or crawl under things to find a place to plug things in. We didn't use the pool, but it looked very nice. And last of all, the hotel is about 500 yards off the interstate, and there's a nice big gas station between the hotel and the highway, so you can easily fill up the tank before getting back on the road, whichever direction you're going, without having to wait for a traffic light. All in all, a home run for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosGoinOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and pleasure with our amenity package at the Gateway Grand. We hope to serve you again next time you’re traveling on I-75. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had to crash friday am, and then stay friday night. They offered very reasonable deal.for.friday am. Staff were very helpful. Hotel was clean, well planned layout with large atrium and pool facing west so you could see setting sun from.pool or atrium. Pool hours were long so you could enjoy facilities even after long day. I would Highly recommend this hotel when doing business or visiting friends in.gainesville area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgromoll, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for the comments on our staff's service. We strive to make every guests stay a unique experience. The sunset over the pool deck has always been one of my favorite features of the Gateway Grand. We hope to see you on your next visit to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
7.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Property: Best Western Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western
Best Western Gateway Grand Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing