We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Although I stayed here just one night I think it would be a good place to stay for several nights. It appears that the hotel is a newer one with a conference center and a sports bar attached. I stayed in a king room on the third floor near the elevator on a week night and it was very quiet. For $109 this room is above average. The room is more like an executive room with a couch that is also a pullout bed and two upholstered chairs, one in the sitting room and one in the sleeping area. There is a microwave, small fridge and a small sink (wet bar area). The breakfast area is large and a full hot breakfast buffet is good. Did not use the pool or hot tub but they look nice. Also heard some say they liked their room with a jacuzzi tub.

Room Tip: There are several restaurants close by, as well as a Dairy Queen and Dunkin Donuts just a short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for the nice comments! Most business people that stay with us like the king premier or king deluxe rooms, which is the type of room you had. I'm very glad the living room area and little kitchenette added to your stay. We hope that if you're in the Gainesville area again you will use the Gateway Grand. Have a great day. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    203
    78
    29
    24
See reviews for
254
152
54
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just a bit dated in carpet and furniture, but it feels kind of old world elegant! A great value for the price. Staff really great, pool area is lovely. Our king suite spacious and quiet. Even the fitness center nicely done. Vince did such a great sales job on the phone--- and it was good!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maashouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will be replacing the hall carpets and guest room furniture this year. Hopefully that will add the elegance of the hotel. We hope to see you the next time you're in Gainesville. Have an excellent day. Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past year while in Gainesville with my sister who was having hip replacement surgery at the hospital there. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It is right on the interstate just about 7 miles up the road from the Archer Street exit where we had to go to the hospital. It is just enough out of town to make it convenient the night before surgery to get to the hospital the next morning and also convenient to get back on the road to come home from there. The rooms are nice, the breakfast is awesome! Everything you can imagine to be on a hotel breakfast menu is there. They have a nice pool. The staff has always been very pleasant and accommodating for us.

Room Tip: Good price on Priceline. Rooms on the first floor are very accessible for a wheel chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adkinsonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petal, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Very nice hotel. We chose Best Western (BW) because we have a "Rewards Card" and have stayed in several BW before on our trips. In our experiences, we found BW hotels are comfortable, pleasant, clean and affordable. However,at this particular one, we experienced several "snags".
To start with, neither of the 2 keys we were given worked. We were given 2 new keys and they didn't work. We were told to use the hall phone and call the "house man" to help us. We did. We waited. He never came. Finally after about 20 plus minutes since our 1st key wouldn't work, the desk clerk arrived. She tried the keys too and still they wouldn't open the door. Finally she gave us the "master key".
We tried to log-on to the free internet service without success. We were given a code but it wasn't accepted.
The temperature controls did not work. The room was cold.
Several light bulbs were burned out. Most disturbing were the ones over the night stand - for obvious reasons.
And, finally, the snooze light on the alarm clock could not be turned off. This was annoying as we like to sleep in total darkness and we didn't know if an alarm would sound after we fell asleep. We covered the clock with a piece of paper. Luckily it did not go off.
The next morning at the counter to check out, we asked if the key situation had been reported. It had not!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet53009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boynton beach, florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stopped here on my way to West Palm. I was very pleased to find that they allowed pets. They charge $20 for up to two pets.
I arrived after dark so I didn't get to see the grounds but what I could see looked very pretty and groomed.
At check-in the staff was pleasant but not overly friendly.
Our room was located in the back but we were next to the outdoor pool and I could see how nice it was.
The only thing I didn't care for was the fact that if you chose to use the door closest to the room ( and where I had to park ) you had to go down some steps to get to the parking lot. Not a big deal unless your taking in a lot of luggage and other articles.
I couldn't tell what the hotel was backed up against but it was dark. They had lighting in the parking lot just not enough to see real well. I had a Rottie so I wasn't too worried about it but had I been traveling alone I would have emptied my stuff at the front door.
There was also a Starbucks down the street which came in great the next morning when I hit the road again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meaveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
7.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#4 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Property: BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing