We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a B & B feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
JeffHarmon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel with a B & B feel”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I love to see a chain hotel that goes out of its way to decorate for the holidays. I have stayed at this hotel on business several times and have always loved the various decorations. This means a lot to a traveler who is away from family. Staff is always courteous and friendly. I always look forward to arriving here after a day of work.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffHarmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments about our decorations for the holidays. Our whole staff gets involved with the decorating right after Thanksgiving and our Director of Catering leads the process. I will pass along your comments to the staff. Have a great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    223
    84
    33
    24
See reviews for
301
161
57
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stay once or twice a month at the Best Western Gateway Grand in Gainesville. It is one of the more newer hotels in the area with excellent access to the highway. The rooms are fairly spacious and the staff is friendly. There is an onsite restaurant (Gator's Den and Sports Bar) which is pretty good, but you have to go outside to get to it. The rooms are very clean and my stay there has always been very good. I wish they had an onsite market for soda's and snacks, but there is a Dunkin Donuts on the corner, which is easy to get to. I also like that they have coffee available all night along with fresh cookies. Nice touch. I recommend this as a place to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kenlieberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel provided a safe, quiet room that was fully appointed. Room had a suite look to it with a full wall separating the living area and bed. All items in the room worked correctly and the internet worked very well. No road noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. The hotel was made with cement walls so noise is never a complaint we receive. I am glad your visit was comfortable in our king deluxe room. We also have hot tub suites and a 3 room presidential suite for a luxury stay. We hope you visit us on your next trip to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel is in a great location next to the Harly Davidson shop with a nice sports bar connected so if you are traveling you will not have to leave the property for any reason. If I have reason to travel in the area again I will be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thanks for the great comments. Besides being near the Harley shop we also have a Harley discount for Harley bike owners. It is available on our central reservations or at our front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Bay, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Having spent a long day of travel we looked forward to an evening cocktail and a quiet evening. We made the reservation at this BW+ and expected a quality experience. This hotel exceeded our expectations - it was quiet, extremely clean and the staff was wonderful. Rooms had the finest bedding that we have enjoyed and they were fully equipped. If you are in the area this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights over Thanksgiving weekend. Had a wonderful time in Gainesville area in large part due to the pleasant experience of staying here. The room was clean, comfortable, and did not notice any intruding sounds from other rooms or outside hotel despite that it was a full house over the holiday with adults, kids, and dogs. The hotel staff managed the packed hotel calmly and cooly from all hotel stations. Breakfast was well organized even with every table full and more people arriving to fill every vacated table. I liked that you could pay $3 and get scrambled eggs or an omlette cooked to order in addition to the other free offerings which include Jimmy Dean microwaveable sausage muffins. Its a convenient location in a good neighborhood with a good restaurant named Wahoo across the street. I also liked the bar attached to hotel which was nice for a nightcap or two after the car was put away for the night. 4 nights, no complaints about anything. Would stay here next time I come to Gainesville.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilAlvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thanks for the comments. It's always great to hear that our staff was able to work well in busy conditions. I will pass along your comments to all department managers to share with their staff. We do receive a lot of compliments on our made to order omelets. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast here at the Gateway Grand. Have an Great New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

By far one of the best places that I have stayed, Great rooms, great service, the only thing that I could complain about was the weather and they may have even tried to do something about that as well. Always look forward to staying there and will do so again.

Room Tip: Get one with a fridge and a microwave they really come in handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
436 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
585 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Property: Best Western Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western
Best Western Gateway Grand Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing