We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for food and dogs and sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
shelbyville
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for food and dogs and sleep.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Outstanding restaurant! Good service and excellent food. Hotel Is pet friendly with a nice mowed field for walking. Rooms good sized and bed was very comfortable. We have stayed at many motels between Fort Lauderdale and Tennessee with our dogs and this was one of the nicest. Look forward to staying there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank On-the-range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. A lot of the employees have pets and love to visit with pets that are on the property. We even had Jack Hanna bring some of his exotic animals to the hotel while speaking at Santa Fe College teaching zoo across from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    223
    83
    33
    24
See reviews for
300
161
57
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

great views. rooms were adequate. people were nice at the reception area but some problems posting BW Honors points, etc. Also the Diamond Club amenities were lacking abit although the room was spectacular in terms of the views and space.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 590georgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. I will let our front office manager know about the posting problems so we can do additional training with the clerks. Our rooms are now being renovated so the view will only be enhanced by the new rooms in two months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Pete FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

less then ideal location. No micro/fridge in room - pretty annoying. Expensive for a roadside accommodation far from town central. I recieved the lowest rate available and still paid over @100 to sleep, shower and watch a little TV. I really like BW tho and will continue to use them. Most BWs are excellent and of fair value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
I am sorry you felt our facility is far away from the town center but we are only 9 miles from down town Gainesville. We compare our rates extensively with the surrounding hotels and feel the price compared to $150 to $170 for a down town hotel is acceptable. Thank you for the comments on the mirco/frig. We also feel it is a necessary item and will have micro/frigs, in all rooms by the end of May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Although the facade and entrance is "grand" our room had filthy carpeting. We checked in late and kept our shoes on. Upon checking out, we informed the front desk who made some statement that he guessed the carpeting needed cleaning. The breakfast room was not too clean either. My 3rd table only had a few cereal flakes left. The girls in charge were chatting up the cook making omelets. Very disappointing and really glad we only to spend one night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KKMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was to be at this hotel for a week, Monday night thru Saturday night.
I left my laundry at the front desk this morning to be cleaned. Clerk told me it would be returned at 12 today. I return to the hotel at 6pm, get laundry and go to my room to find my luggage missing. Return to front desk and they said I checked out at 10am. Why would I leave laundry to be returned at noon, leave all my stuff in my room, as I have done all week, knowing I was checking out. Money was gone from my computer bag. Manager response it turn it over to police, general manager response to my telling him he has a thief on staff is that is my accusation, he doesn't know he employs a thief.
Why would any hotel remove someone's luggage, computer bag, etc without at least checking on why it was there. I am part of a big group staying all week. Even after asked how they would feel if it were them, they seemed to care less and clueless as to what happened or why. I am only here tonight because there are no other rooms in town and I hopefully will talk to a detective tomorrow. My name is Bill Howell and I live in Pigeon Forge, Tn. This is one review you can believe is not fake and if you read this, please beware. Lesson learned from me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for speaking with me over the past few weeks as we work with the authorities investigating this matter. As I mentioned previously, we perform a thorough background check on all employees when they are hired. We have over 100 employees on staff and nearly 4000 guests pass through our hotel monthly. All criminal investigations are turned over to the local police department. They are the professionals in this area and we work with them every step of the way to uncover any criminal activity that is brought to our attention. I would like to mention that the Best Western Plus Gateway Grand has many safety deposit boxes at the front desk for storing large amounts of cash or valuables. The guest is the only person that has a key to these boxes so their items are totally secure. We are hopeful that the local police can bring you some peace of mind in this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, MI
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel has a free shuttle service to and from the airport. It's several miles (about 20 minutes), so being able to get a ride that far is quite a benefit. When I called from the airport, the front desk clerk was very courteous and asked for my cell number so that the driver could contact me if she couldn’t find me. The shuttle is clearly marked. Allen in banquets showed me the meeting room when I arrived (it was set up right). He was there the next morning to make sure everything was right, and water refresh was done without being asked. The restaurant opens at 5 and has pretty good food. The morning breakfast buffet has yogurt, bananas, oranges and bread items.
There’s a facialist/massage therapist on site. Ms. Nettie Johnson was not available on my visit but her cell is 352 284 5117 (or extension 614) at hotel and she was very pleasant – she said it was okay to call in advance if I came back to the area. If you're visiting, you could set up an appointment in advance.

Room Tip: The rooms aren't fancy but are very pleasant. The conference center has many meeting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for the marvelous comments. We feel the van transport is an excellent amenity and I'm glad it was useful for you. Many guests take advantage of the onsite massage therapist and we hope you get the chance to in the future. I will let Allen and his banquet staff know about your great comments as well as our Executive Chef and his staff. We hope to see you many more times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My son exclaimed upon our arrival,"Looks like the Hard Rock Hotel in Orlando!" Unfortunately, looks were deceiving. We came up for a soccer tournament with a group for a night or two and felt we chose well. The continental breakfast on Saturday out did most by filling up a lot of hungry kids and spectators, but flew the coop on Sunday with little to no choices half way through the hours. We experienced no housekeeping svc on Saturday and had to ask the front desk for extra towels! And, please check your contracts carefully, as we were told one thing, and experienced extra charges the next. I usually write glowing reviews, but cannot, when it falls short of being Grand.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
I'm very sorry that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. When we have large baseball or soccer groups in it sometimes takes a while to replenish our buffet and we occasionally run out of certain items but replace them with other choices.
I am sorry you didn't receive room service. We do have a houseperson on duty 18 hours a day so if anything is missed, you can inquire at the desk and they can send up a person to accommodate your needs whether it's cleaning a room or supplying extra amenities.
We do charge a half day rate when teams check out after the check out time of 12 noon. This is usually done because a lot of teams come back after playing the tournament. They then shower and leave to go home which makes the room unusable for that night. We feel a 1/2 charge is acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
436 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
581 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Property: Best Western Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western
Best Western Gateway Grand Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing