We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Comfortable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Comfortable stay. Pleasant staff. Great little lounge (Gator Den). Excellent location, easy access to I-75 and just a short drive to UF. Breakfast hours go later than most hotels, a big plus. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy our free continental breakfast and visit our full service sports bar & grill, the Gators Den. We are fortunate to have an amazing food service staff who all look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    204
    78
    29
    24
See reviews for
255
152
54
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Best Best Western Hotel we've stayed at in the US. Good location with good service, comfortable beds and good breakfast. The front desk staff, checking and checking out, were very courteous and the transactions were very efficient. Everyone with whom we had contact were very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet, very nice for sleeping. We definitely would stay there again if visiting Gainesville.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Hal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Our desire is that when you stay you feel like family, I will make sure that our entire staff has the opportunity to see how their efforts impacted your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Always an excellent place to stay and park free. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast. When you check in, you will likely find cookies and fruit available. I have received complimentary water on occasion when checking in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your kind words! I'm so happy to hear that the cookies have made an impression on you. We always bake them fresh around check-in time as a way to welcome our guests to the BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand! We're always trying new treats and flavors so keep an eye out on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

When arriving to this hotel I thought it would just be a typical best western especially since it was right off the interstate. However, the first thing we enjoyed was that it was right next to Dairy Queen and Dunkin Donuts which came in handy for snacks or meals. When we walked into the hotel late afternoon the hotel was amazing. Very clean and organized lobby area which you can also see the eating area. I was able to use my state employee discount which made the room very affordable. The hotel was full because of a church convention but you would have never noticed because the hotel is so large you hardly see anyone unless your eating in the common area or swimming in the nice big pool they have. The breakfast was so so. You had to pay an extra $3 if you want eggs or an omellete. The only breakfast that is free was the do it yourself waffles, bagels, muffins, cereal and fruit. The two main reasons I chose this hotel was for the room service and it was pet friendly. They do have a restaurant as part of the hotel which serves up a variety of food. I would personally recommend the Florida Orange Cake. OMG!!! Sooooo Good :). Overall the experience was great and the only complain I had was the parking. Due to the hotel being packed to maximum capacity when we backed at the hotel after dinner we had to park a good ways away and walk to the hotel entrance. Other than that I would say if your staying in Gainesville and looking for a nice place to stay this would be it. Its right off the interstate but you do not even hear the traffic at all.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the pool which is usually a little loud because most of the visitor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seminole52486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments! We are so glad that our on-site restaurant, the Gators Den Sports Grill, and close proximity to the Dairy Queen and Dunkin Donuts made your stay more convenient!

The Florida Orange Cake you had at the Gators Den is a fan favorite, and of course we have other great desserts for you to try on your next stay, like the Chocolate Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lantana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

absolutely one of the finest hotels on the interstate hwy. We have stayed here a number of times and have never been disappointed. We travel with our schnauzer dog "FIONA" and she also enjoys her stay here

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for your repeat patronage! We hope that our dog walking station makes easier for you and Fiona. As many of our staff are pet owners ourselves, we do everything we can to make things convenient for our guests traveling with their furry family members!

We'll look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

For the last 5 years, when I have to do business in this area, I stay here. I try to finish my business early, because they have a nice pool area, very relaxing,and I try to spend a couple fo hours there before going back to my room to do paperwork. The rooms are very spacious, and the staff is wonderful. I also like that there is a resturant attached to the hotel, and there is a Dairy Queen just down the road for a evening walk. The breakfast is good enough for me. Even though the hotel sits right on the interstate, I have never heard the traffic from it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for your business over these past five years! We will continue to do everything we can to make sure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable.

As a long-time guest, you will be excited to know that we have many renovations in the works at the moment. Not only are we in the process of getting entirely new furniture for our Double and King rooms, we will soon be getting brand new carpet in all of the public areas of the hotel!

Thank you again, we look forward to the next five years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alachua, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Gateway Grand is a beautiful hotel...inside and out. The Spanish style lobby lovely pool area and extra comfortable beds, plus a cooked-to-order breakfast make this a great hotel for business or pleasure. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! I'll make sure that the housekeeping, maintenance, and grounds keeping staff who work so hard to keep our hotel looking beautiful receive these comments!

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed a good nights sleep, as we just received all new beds in our Traditional Double and King Deluxe rooms!

We can't wait for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
7.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Property: BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing