We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I always bring back awesome memories when I come back from this hotel. There's a great service, it's clean and so simple ! Thanks for making it so enjoyable. Will most definately come back in the future if I do compete around there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Georcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We love to cheer on the athletes that choose us for their trips to Gainesville and are fortunate to be located just a short drive from multiple sports venues, like the Jonesville Soccer Field, Easton Archery Center, and Hal Brady Recreation Complex. We hope your competitions bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    197
    76
    28
    22
See reviews for
242
149
54
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indian Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for one night while passing through on our way home from vacation. All I wanted was a clean place to sleep. If I wasn't so tired by the time we arrived, I would have left! The first thing we noticed was that the carpet was filthy. It didn't just have a few spots like you would expect in a hotel room. The entire carpet was dirty. It looked like it had not been cleaned in a very, very long time. I ordered room service which was also not good. I ordered an appetizer and a salad. The food was not brought on a tray as you would expect. The man was just carrying the dishes. He brought the plate with a cover over it, but my salad was sitting on top of the plate uncovered. Seriously? The mattress was old and uncomfortable so I tossed and turned a lot. The fitted sheet had come off during my restless night to reveal a HUGE stain on the mattress. Needless to say, at that point we showered and got out of there as quickly as possible. I debated in my mind whether or not to say anything when we checked out. However, Tonya, the Front Desk Supervisor, didn't bother to ask how my stay was! I guess she doesn't care. They have a lot of nerve asking $150 a night for their rooms. I'm glad I didn't pay that much but still wouldn't stay there again even if it were free! We absolutely do NOT recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighLeigh1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. Cleanliness is extremely important to us and in addition to the daily vacuuming by our housekeeping staff we have all of our carpets professionally steam cleaned four times per year.

We do understand that carpets get worn through continual use and are happy to inform you that we will be replacing our hallway carpet later this year and the in-room carpet early next year.

I have spoken to our Food and Beverage Director regarding your experience with your room service order. Our standard is that all items should be delivered covered and he and the Restaurant Manager will be conducting training to ensure that all employees are adhering to this standard. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so we can correct it immediately.

I was sorry to hear about your mattress as well. The vast majority of our mattresses have been recently replaced and the few that haven't will all be replaced within the next six months. Our staff is very interested in the feedback of our guests and I apologize that you were not asked at check-out regarding your experience. Please know that if you have any issues during your stay, you can contact us immediately and we will do anything we can to assist you, there is someone at the Front Desk 24 hours a day. We offer rooms with a pillow-top mattress in addition to the traditional mattresses offered in most of our rooms, and can assist you in switching room types if it will make your stay more comfortable.

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. We are very appreciative of the time you have taken to inform us of these issues and will do everything we can to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great place, friendly staff, beautiful pool area and lobby area! A friend lives in the area and we were going to see her, so they recommended this place, it was really mice, great breakfast area, and the $3.00 breakfast omletts are great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback on your trip to our property. We are fortunate to have a fantastic groundskeeper who keeps the property looking great year round, but during the Spring and Summer months she really outdoes herself! Our housekeeping staff also takes great pride in making sure the entire property is clean and inviting! I'll make sure that both departments see your comments and know how much their efforts meant to your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Found this location to be excellent; great room, fantastic staff and easy to locate the hotel. We had a good nights rest - only stayed the one night. Traveling thru on the way to Florida. We would stay again when in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding your recent stay! During your next stay please take the opportunity to try our Gators Den Sports Grill! You'll receive the same great service you had in the hotel, while having access to great food and a TV at every table!

We'll look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west palm, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

good place to stay ample parking breakfast OK room OK. Best thing for breakfast hard boiled egg. Internet worked fine. Place is a bit dated but i was only using the hotel to sleep and the place was quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks for choosing the BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand for your trip through Gainesville. I am glad you were able to make use of our free continental breakfast and free wireless internet while you were here.

I understand your concerns about the dated nature of the décor. I am happy to announce that by the end of next month all of our Traditional Double and King Deluxe rooms will receive completely new hardwood furniture that bring a sleek new feel to our guest rooms.

Please stop by again soon so you have a chance to enjoy our newly renovated rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Best Hotel for the Money any where. We have stayed in2 other Best Western Plus Hotels and if they are available we will be there. They can not be beat for the value quality and comfort. They are our motel of choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are very honored that you hold our Best Western Brand in such high esteem! As a Best Western, we are committed to a high standard of excellence for guest service and cleanliness that allow our guests to feel confidant that they room they reserve will lead to a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

very nice place-nice staff-breakfast the usual soso-overpriced smaller room,but maybe because we asked for early checkin which was granted[another nicety] overall,a very good experience ,except we were surprised that we booked through a service,not BW direct which was $25 more .Beware of trying for BW international reservations-not one-but a booking agency that simply says"reservations desk" and afterwards tells you the$25 charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank berdam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. While we can't guarantee it, we always do our best to get guests checked-in as early as possible, at no extra charge. I am sorry to hear that you had some difficulty booking with us directly. Please be aware that all of Front Desk agents will immediately introduce themselves as being from our specific property. As our staff is the most familiar with the property, I always recommend that guests call us directly so we can find the room type and rate that will work best for their stay. We can also answer questions for you about the area attractions that a call center might not have!

We'll look forward to your call during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
7.9 mi away
No photo provided
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#4 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand

Property: BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 Northwest 97th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing