We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay off I-75”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Grand
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Good Place to Stay off I-75”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I felt safe at this hotel. Was traveling alone to meet family. Everything was nice and it was an enjoyable stay. This Best Western was nicer than many I have stayed at while traveling. When I stepped out of my room, I could see the front desk and the dining area. Typical breakfast items were served. It was easy to get on and off the interstate from this location. Didn't hear any noises that prevented a good night's rest. There's a restaurant on site but I didn't visit it. Outside pool area was pretty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 613patsyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay! The safety of our guests is our primary concern and it is rewarding to know that you felt safe during your stay. We're fortunate to be located directly off of I-75, while being situated in such a way that we never have to worry about noise from the interstate. We hope you have a chance to visit our Gators Den Sports Grill during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    223
    84
    33
    24
See reviews for
301
161
57
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel was perfectly fine. Falls squarely within expectations for a Best Western Plus -- clean rooms and pleasant staff. I was a little annoyed that you had to walk outside to access the hotel bar/restaurant because mosquitos love Florida (and me) in the evenings.
Breakfast in the morning made the trip -- they served a cinnamon bun that was worth writing home about, or at least writing on Trip Advisor about. Yummy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay! We're always looking to ensure that we've got a wide selection to choose from in our free deluxe continental breakfast and I'm glad the cinnamon buns were a hit!

While our Gators Den Sports Grill is just a short walk from the lobby, I understand that sometimes you just want to stay indoors and beat the heat. To make things easier for our guests, we offer our full menu through room service! Feel free to relax in your room and have a delicious meal brought to you the next time you're here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee Fl, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had our Grandson's wedding reception here and it was great for us and that they allow a pet since we had no place to leave him with all of the family at the wedding. The food that was offered at the reception was excellent and the staff was very helpful at the reception and the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are so grateful that we were able to be a part of your Grandson's special day! Whether it's a small luncheon in our Edgewood Boardroom or a large reception in our Springhills Ballroom, our kitchen staff always put their all into making sure the food comes out just right, and our meeting staff is always there to make sure you're event goes off without a hitch! They'll be thrilled to hear that their services made your occasion great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel on April 13 2014, coming from Atlanta Georgia. The room we stayed in was very clean and we were impressed by the hotel having a full bar of soap to bathe with never seen in any other hotels. We are so use to bringing our own bar from home. The hotel staff was very helpful. We will choose this hotel if ever in the area again. Their breakfast was great you had to pay $3.00 for the omlette but it was worthwhile, because it was loaded with whatever you wanted. They even had it where you could get a massage on property will have to try that the next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyg2000rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback! It was great hearing that you enjoyed your bath amenities during your staff. We want all of our guests to feel pampered, so we do our best to provide soaps, shampoos, and lotions that will leave you feeling refreshed! We even use Bath & Body Works' "Rain Kissed" line in our King Premier rooms.

I was glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the omelet station. Nothing starts the day better than a fully loaded breakfast omelet! We'll look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pet friendly accommodations, close to the U of Fla. Small Animal Hospital,within 20 minutes drive, but worth it if you want a quiet spot for you and your pet.Outside pet designated area for pets on leash.Also have single large king rooms with microwave/refrigerator which is handy to feed pet. Room was clean with all of the amenities.This room had a dvd player if you wanted to watch rented movies.Nice if you can't leave the room because of your pet. Front desk friendly.Parking spacious, semi trucks can find safe parking, plenty of handicap spots too. Easy to check in and get to your room quickly with your pet.Has only 3 floors,stairs/elevator. Can get continental breakfast downstairs or carry to room. Have an excellent Gator's Den Sports Grill just outside the front lobby ,a short walk to the end of the bldg.Dinner served at 5 p.m. and a full bar. Room service delivered from the grill to your room, which is nice if traveling with a pet you can't crate to go out for dinner.Excellent food ,steaks, seafood,chicken.Service at the Grill, Great.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, elevator or walk up easily with a pet.Request a single king room with microwave/fridge fo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Asking guests to reuse sheets/ towels if they desire, lighting use compact C.F.I.Making guests aware of their program with in room literature
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough and thoughtful review! Our number one goal is that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay and knowing that we were able to accommodate you and your pet really means a lot to our entire staff. We'll look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gainesville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel was nice and a good value. It was clean the staff was pleasant. The restaurant wasn't open for lunch, and that was a bit inconvenient on a Saturday. The pool and fitness room was sufficient. They need a bar or restaurant for the afternoon crowd at least on the weekend, but overall the hotel was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you were able to have a nice relaxing weekend out by our pool! While our Gators Den Sports Grill is a great place to have dinner or just relax in the evening and watch a game on one of our table-side TVs, for lunch we recommend one of the fine establishments located just minutes away from our property. We have Italian, barbecue, Chinese, seafood, and Mexican options to choose from so you're sure to get a great meal no matter what you're craving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I always bring back awesome memories when I come back from this hotel. There's a great service, it's clean and so simple ! Thanks for making it so enjoyable. Will most definately come back in the future if I do compete around there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Georcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince S, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western Gateway Grand, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We love to cheer on the athletes that choose us for their trips to Gainesville and are fortunate to be located just a short drive from multiple sports venues, like the Jonesville Soccer Field, Easton Archery Center, and Hal Brady Recreation Complex. We hope your competitions bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
436 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
585 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
8.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Grand

Property: Best Western Gateway Grand
Address: 4200 NW 97th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32606-3742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gateway Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Gateway Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Grand Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Hotel Gainesville
Best Western Gainesville
Gainesville Best Western
Best Western Gateway Grand Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing