We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When its Late and You're Hungry Downtown, this is a Good Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flacos

Flacos
Ranked #184 of 566 Restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Seating, Takeout
florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“When its Late and You're Hungry Downtown, this is a Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Flacos is open late many nights and they are convenient to the downtown area of Gainesville. While its not anything fancy, the food is good, served fast and not at all expensive. Cafe con Leche and Guava Pastry is great. Really good Cuban Sandwich. There is some seating, but we usually grab food and take it to go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachgypsyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious cuban sandwich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I went after a night out in downtown Gainesville. The line took about 10 minutes. The sandwich was delicious and totally worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“LOVE Flacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This has been one of my favorite places in the world for years now. Great food, great people, and great memories. Some of the servers (mostly one that I'm thinking of) can come off as rude, but otherwise, I love it. Best for lunch, and not during the busy dinner/post club hours.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grlantrn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, awful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

The service at the place across from UF is a joke - a bad joke. The store is operated by unsupervised part-timers for whom this job seems to be a low priority.

We had a series of problems with one simple order. But, the sandwiches were good.

Worth it? Hmm, we will not likely go back.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1969Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best food in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I went to visit my sister in Gainesville and she couldn't stop talking about this place so we went there for lunch and I finally understood. The food is absolutely delicious! I had a bowl with rice, lentils, and ropa vieja and man it was amazing. My wife tried some of their cheese sticks and some other pastries and they were incredible. If you're in the area this is a MUST to try!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juansol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flacos also viewed

 

Been to Flacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing