We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge University
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Gulfport, MS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

We had an emergency visit to Gainesville to take care of a relative (student at UF) that had surgery. We found the lodging to be clean and safe. When we had a problem, it was attended to right away. The staff could not have been any nicer. The value for your money is outstanding. I would recommend a stay there to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 11scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
11
5
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

The bed was hard as a rock, the pillows here just as bad. We had a empty box of Klennix in the room, which I left out in hopes they would take the hint and leave a box. No way. Then the hand towel that was dirtied was not replaced when the room was made up.

When taking a shower the handle came off in my hand.

Complimentary breakfast.. HA! Very little choice of anything to eat. According to hotel details says there was a coffee maker as one of the room amenities...if there was one I wonder where it was? I sure didn't see it.

Had booked a room with a King sized bed, ended up in a queen.

Would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSister1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

This hotel was awful. The beds were hard and the pillows were thin and flat. There were no electrical outlets near the desk for the computer. If you unplugged the microwave, the refrigerator didn't work. Everything was old and had a funny smell. The room was small. The price was really high for a hotel of this quality. The front desk was unmanned most of the time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coyotegirl525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newjersy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

Very nice and clean/ new furniture and great service. Got a good night sleep, no noise/ beds were great.

Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank amsp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2007

This hotel or motel whatever it was, was terrible. The tub in the bathroom kept getting glogged. I called desk to report nobody answer, I even when up to the desk and nobody was in it. And also the sink got glogged so I imaginr their was a problem with the draining. The wireless was not working. And the rooms were old!!

  • Liked — That it was close to Shands Hospital
  • Disliked — The Service
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank mimisikubonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
204 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2006

My wife and I are members of the choicehotels which econo lodge are associated with. We attended the University of Alabama vs. Florida football game in late September 2006 and had a good time in Gainesville. The hotel is a little old but centerally located to many things near the university and other things in Gainesville.

When we arrived at the hotel, we discoved our air conditioner was off in the room so it was a little uncomfortable for awhile. The carpeting was stained and a toothpick from a previous renter was still behind a chair in room 263. It continued to be there after three days of house keeping. Oh well, and the water in Gainesville tastes AWFUL. Other than that we had a good time and the hotel wasn't that bad. I am a govenment mushroom and the break in the room rate offset any unpleasurable experience we may have encountered.

The hotel did have a continental breakfast but we chose to eat at the IHOP down the streat and at the 43rd street diner down the street. We ventured to Ocala to visit with the football team and ate at a place called Harry's and had some wonderful gator tail and salmon.

I did discover that Econo Lodge while affiliated with Choicehotels does not participate in the free night and points accumulation. They do offer some kind of stamps for nights promotion that we did not take advantage of. Again, it was a good trip to Gator town and this hotel is centrally located.

Remember its LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#26 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#27 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge University

Property: Econo Lodge University
Address: 2649 S.W. 13th St., Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge University 1.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gainesville
Gainesville Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge University Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing