We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The carpet was dirty and the room was filthy.. Bathroom was okay. The hotel needs a make over.
The front desk lady was rude. She said that the hotel was full and I would get a smoking room as I had booked through hot wire. According to her, the best rooms were given to people who booked directly thru them.
Will never go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 34515Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for staying at the Paramount Plaza and submitting a review. I apologize that you were placed into a smoking room but unfortunately when you book through Hotwire it is a blind booking, meaning you are not reserving a specific room type but just a room in the hotel. When the hotel is in a sold out situation, as was the case here, we are forced to put the guests who do blind bookings into smoking rooms. If you had contacted the hotel we could have noted the reservation that you were requesting a non smoking room and accomodations possibly could have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

Upon check in, the folks at the desk were very friendly and accomodating. I also found the restaurant emplyees were attentive. Food and drinks were excellent. I had a wonderful night's rest and was refreshed for the llong drive the next day. Breakfast buffet was also delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pate17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for recently staying at the Paramount Plaza Hotel and Suites and taking the time out to share your experience with fellow travelers. I am pleased to read that the front desk staff was friendly and accomodating, that the restaurant service was prompt and that the food ordered was also to your liking. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future if you are ever in the Gainesville area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I recently had to make a quick trip to Gainesville on business. My husband came along and we turned the trip into a weekend getaway after I completed my obligation. We decided on the Paramount after reading the reviews because of its location and value ($70 nightly, manager's special rate). We a wanted a place w/ a restaurant and bar incase the tropical storms that were predicted for the weekend came to fruition and kept us indoors. We also wanted something centrally located between the Univercity and the downtown area. We looked at the other resort-style hotels but pricing was a bit high for the area. Although it is an older place the room was large and clean. We got a king sized non-smoking room with a balcony that had a view of the lake and pool area. The lake is beautiful and the trees magnificent. As the other reviewers said, the elevator was slow, the hallways were stuffy and thankfully, we did not have to eat at the restaurant in the hotel because the weather cleared up for us. We went downtown and ate at Emiliano's (excellent, fresh, interesting flavors). The staff at the hotel were great! Very quick check-in, pleasant and extremely helpful. All in all it was a decent place at a decent price.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiling_jordans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for choosing the Paramount Plaza during your recent trip to Gainesville. I am very happy to read that you found our hotel to be a good value when compared to some of the other hotels in the area. I was also glad to read that you were able to enjoy one our view rooms during your stay and that the room was to your liking. I hope that you consider our property again when you travel to Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My first impression of the hotel was that it was in a good location and very nice staff. They were very helpful when we asked about clubs near by and calling a cab for us. The rooms are a little tricky however. Our section must have been added on because it isn't connected to the lobby. It was sort of like a maze to go back to the lobby. They had a fitness center which wouldve been handy if I had time to use it! We didn't have time to go in the pool but it was a little small anyhow. The breakfast buffet was ok. Nothing special. They offered fruit and cereal, eggs, french toast, biscuit and gravy, hashbrowns. The rooms were nice. I was suprised to have a balcony. It was so pretty to see the lake behind the hotel. I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling through gainesville. It was one of the nicer hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlandogirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Gainesville and for sharing your experience with fellow Trip Advisor members. I am glad that our staff was able to make suggestions of clubs in the area and that they assisted by calling for a cab. I apologize that you had some troubles finding your room initially, it can be confusing that our rooms are not in the main building. However, I am glad that you found the room ok and that the rest of the stay was pleasant. If ever you need accomdations in Gainesville I hope that you will think of the Paramount Plaza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Had to make a quick trip to Gainesville. The Paramount had availability. Stayed there one other time so I thought I would try it again. I went by myself - a single woman. I chose this property since they have interior corridors and you need a room key in order to access the halls. I felt safer in this environment rather than a hotel with outside halls and room access.

The room is large, clean and a good value. Some amenities in the bathroom - nothing fancy but adequate. It is an older hotel, but management seems to take pride in keeping it clean and affordable. For a "no name" place, the Paramount delivers.

Did not eat there, but the menu prices looked reasonable. I did stop in for happy hour, couldn't resist the $2.00 cocktail price.

Will go back again for the third time. It's convenient, clean and satisfactory. Not luxury, but certainly worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvermamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for choosing the Paramount Plaza again during your trip to Gainesville. I am very happy that you found the property secure, the rooms clean and that you felt the Paramount was of a good value to you. I look forward to your staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My partner and I live only about 2 miles from this hotel and stayed for one night because our bathroom had been demo'd. I wish we had a reason to stay longer! We went because the price was more than reasonable, and we couldn't believe what we got--an entire suite complete with a foyer, living room area, kitchenette, dining table, and a large patio on the lake! It was amazing! We will definitely recommend this place to anyone we know coming to Gainesville--and already have!

Room Tip: Spend the extra few dollars for the lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhead1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for staying at the Paramount Plaza while work was being done on your home. I am glad that you found the room spacious and accomodating, and that you thought the overall value for the amount paid was good as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at the Paramount for one night when taking my son to the University of Florida for orientation. I got the room cheap on Priceline. The hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable and the area was very convenient. The hotel is only 5 minutes from campus. No fancy amenities, but there was a coffee maker and flat panel TV. Plenty of hot water in the shower, the only bad comment I have came from my son. He took a shower first and when he came out, he laughed and said, "the shower could kill small animals with the pressure!" I attempted to adjust it when it was my turn, but the water still came out pretty strong. Not the worst that could have happened, it could have been a trickle! Overall we were happy with the one night stay at the Paramount.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runnergirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for staying at the Paramount Plaza during orientation for the University of Florida. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay while visiting and I sincerely hope that you will consider us for future stays in the area. If you do, please also visit our website and sign up for our Gator Parent Relief program. It is free to join and provides Gator parents with exclusive discounts and benefits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 47 in Gainesville
570 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Gainesville

Address: 2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608-3015 (Formerly Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#14 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £69 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Garden Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. The Wyndham Garden Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. The Wyndham Garden is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Wyndham Garden offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Garden Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount
Wyndham Garden Gainesville Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing