We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Gainesville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We check into the Paramount Plaza for a weekend in Gainesville. The service from our check in to our dining experience was out standing. The staff was friendly and was able to help us with our every needs. Our room was over looking the lake and give us a great view. Again a great place to stay when visiting Grainesville, Fl.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onototto1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for your review of the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Our property is undergoing major renovations at the moment to improve the experience for the guests. The new rooms include new carpet, mattresses, furniture, flat-screen T.V.'s, microwaves, and mini-fridges. Our property also has many amenities for the guests to utilize including a shuttle service, a fitness center, a business center, and a lakeside pool. Contact us directly to book your next stay!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
(352) 377-4000
Richard@paramountplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    316
    186
    113
    151
See reviews for
411
198
138
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Needed a place to stay one night while visiting family. Saw pretty good reviews on this place. Wanted something clean, quiet, and comfortable.

The check-in was easy and the staff was friendly (including all workers we encountered). Our room was overlooking the lake, which was nice. Free W-Fi was also nice. The hall had a bit of an odor (hard to describe), and so did the room, but not overpowering, and tolerable. Probably just a mix of the age and fabrics.

The bed was clean and good enough for a night.

The property was maintained as well as can be expected for this class of hotel. Our room was quiet, which was nice.

We had the breakfast buffet in the attached restaurant, and it was delicious and reasonably priced.

I would recommend this properly for anyone who needs to stay in town, but does not expect it to be a resort.

Room Tip: Get one that overlooks the lake. Beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatclov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for staying at the Paramount Plaza Hotel and taking the time out of your schedule to share your experience. I am glad that you found the check in process quick and easy, that all staff you encountered were friendly and that overall you enjoyed your stay. The lake really is a nice view and I am glad that you were able to enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We would definately stay at the Paramount Plaza (Gainesville, FL). The service was great. We got to the hotel very late and tired. The night auditor John Longo went out of his way, to provide great service. We would definately stay at this hotel again! Great Job!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Gainesville and taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to read that the Night Auditor was able to assist with your check in at the late hour and that you found him to be helpful. I hope that whenever you are in the Gainesville area that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I have been staying at the Paramont Plaza off and on since 2003. I am a lung transplant reciepient and go up for checkups several times a year at Shands. I can stay anywhere in Gainseville but i stay at the Paramont for several reasons. The staff is friendly and efficient, the rooms are clean and adequate, the food is good, and they make me feel like i'm at home. i highly reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in Gainseville.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you very much for continuing to stay at the Paramount Plaza while you receive follow up care with Shands hospital. Many of our guests who become returning customers are Shands patients who have had serious procedures done (such as a transplant) then return for check ups throughout the year. I look forward to your staying with us in the future and appreciate your loyalty to the Paramount Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

The best thing about this place is the staff. They're extremely helpful and personable. The rest of the hotel is a meh.

It's hard for me to complain as I was given the "family suite". It was huge with a balcony overlooking the lake. The view was truly beautiful. The room...not so much. The room was huge with a king bed, large dining room table, a pull-out sofa and a pretty comfortable faux leather chair. Unfortunately, the room was really big and they just didn't have enough furniture in there to make it feel cohesive and what was there was just kind of cheap. There was a very tiny kitchen area with a pass through, but no kitchen. Just a dorm style fridge with a microwave sitting on top as if an afterthought. The bathroom was tiny with a faux marble sink. There was a large TV bolted to the wall with a swing arm. Unfortunately, the swing arm was in need of repair do the TV just kind of drooped with the wires hanging down below it. I would have enjoyed the patio more but the furniture was just the cheap molded type. The towels are old, thin and worn. The mattress was way too soft. It's a shame, because this room could be spectacular if they put a little $$ into it.

I guess they do a booming business in conferences as several were going on when I was there. The Gator football team stays there on nights before home games so if you want to meet them, this is the place. I bumped into the head coach on the way to his room and took a few pics for some fans.

The lobby area is kind of tired and old. The restaurant bar area didn't seem to be doing much business. It's design was 1980's Truck Stop , if you get my drift...complete with a pool table that required quarters to play...that's just tacky. They do have beer on tap though (including Stella Artois) and they chill their glasses. As I said, the staff is trying. The bar is huge but since $$ seems to be scarce at this place, the poor bottles they do have look very lonley spread across the giant bar back. Hint for the owner: keep old bottles and fill them with colored water to make it "look" like you're well stocked.

The hotel is very dorm-like, complete with one of the most depressing paint schemes seen this side of a penitentiary. The drop ceilings had holes in them and in some places, the metal dividers were hanging at forehead level...a lawsuit waiting to happen. I did see maintenance guys and the Hotel Manager walking around so I assume they are looking out for these things. The drop ceiling outside my room was never repaired in the three nights I stayed despite calling attention to it.

This is not an expensive hotel although they do jack the rates for football games but not as much as some of the newer hotels or the ones closer to town. They have a large pool and patio area but I only saw one person use it. They did have a small gym with some newer equipment whcih really surprised me.

This could be a very nice Hotel with some concerted renovation but I don't think it's going to happen. I wouldn't tell you not to stay there but I also couldn't recommend it unless you were willing to deal with the whole 1980's feel of the place. There are nicer, newer hotels in G'ville if you're willing top pay the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor of Building 1000 with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldoinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for your review of the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Our property is undergoing major renovations at the moment to improve the experience for the guests. The new rooms include new carpet, mattresses, furniture, flat-screen T.V.'s, microwaves, and mini-fridges. Our property also has many amenities for the guests to utilize including a shuttle service, a fitness center, a business center, and a lakeside pool. Contact us directly to book your next stay!

Respectfully,

Richard Arnold
Rooms Division Manager
(352) 377-4000
Richard@paramountplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were at hotel for special needs children. The front staff stated they should throw those children out of here. I told them how offensive and disrespectful and he continued to complaint to other staff about our children. How insensitive.
Asked to talk to manager an was told he was not on site. They sent out head one of the chefs to talk to us. Noticed a man walkin back and forth in a suit. Asked who he was. Was told he wat the GM. Asked to speak to him, again. Said he did not have time, even though he was just walking around. He was so spineless he had to sent others to talk to us.
We book 2 conferences a year. And have NEVER been so treated.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY. Therre are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
This is not an accurate portrayal of the events surrounding the comment made by the Front Desk Supervisor. This guest was part of several groups that were meeting in our hotel on September 24th. Her particular group, which did consist of special needs children, were meeting in one of our ballrooms. During their meeting, an unsupervised child pulled the fire alarm causing an evacuation of the conference area. The fire department had to come to make sure that there was not an emergency and the hotel was fined for the false alarm. Within an hour the alarm was pulled AGAIN by the same group with unsupervised children. Upon the second false alarm, another evacuation, a fine and visit from the fire department a Front Desk staff member made the comment that the "unsupervised children should be asked to leave," not knowing that they were special needs children. The Paramount Plaza does not discriminate against anyone, but we do expect that our guests who have children, special needs or not, to supervise their children so that we do not have false alarms occur at the hotel. It is a very serious issue to have fire alarms pulled, and the hotel staff expected the group to supervise their children more closely after the first false alarm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

jax
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Bed was comfy. Room was quiet. Hotel overall is a bit dated but not nearly as bad as others within the University of FL area.

Room Tip: room on the lake...suite upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaMiyagijax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMgmt, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for choosing the Paramount Plaza during your recent trip to Gainesville. I am glad that you found our beds comfortable and quiet. I hope that you consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#12 of 45 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Gainesville

Property: Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Address: 2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608-3015 (Formerly Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#14 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Garden Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. The Wyndham Garden Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. The Wyndham Garden is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Wyndham Garden offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount
Wyndham Garden Gainesville Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing