We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff...very accommodating!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Gainesville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Hobe Sound FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great staff...very accommodating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I rented two (connecting) rooms for three nights and it was important that the rooms connect.
From the initial contact for the reservation until we checked out, all the staff was outstanding
and went out of their way to make sure we got what we needed. Yes, the lobby is under construction but it is not a major comfort issue. The entire hotel has been redone and the lobby is the last area to be completed. I will be returning to this facility and recommend it to anyone
that is visiting Gainesville. Convenient access to I-75 and major restaurant/shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor, back side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear KerryD85,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about out property. I am glad we were able to accomodate your request for adjoining rooms.
I am delighted that the renovations did not interfere with your visit. We try to make everyone's stay as accomodating as possible, even through times as such.
We look forward to your next visit and hopefully you'll be able to enjoy a completely newly renovated hotel with the same Hamptonality as before.

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    156
    46
    11
    24
See reviews for
234
128
29
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed here the hotel did not tell us that it is under renovation. Stayed one night we were woken up by machinery and mixing of cement at 12:30 A.M manager Susan [-] was not helpful or understanding at all . I spoke to the manager about this and to be honest she was
very unprofessional and vulgar. This type of manager puts a bad name on the Hilton Hotels , I was
greatly relieved after I had to make a phone call to headquarters they were more than accommodating to sort this out.However this hotel I would not recommend even aside from the renovation the rooms were old and not an overall fresh feeling. If you have a problem here at this hotel they will not help you your stuck beware!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you feel you received a poor level of service; as our focus is always on our customer service. We apologize for the miscommunication regarding the final phase of our remodeling. Our guests rooms were completed first and we are on the home stretch with the lobby area. We will surely be more self-aware of our reactions towards guests’ concerns, going forward. Thank you once again for your comments.

Best regards,

Raymond Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylacauga, Alabama
Level Contributor
392 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

yes, they are renovating. hotels get old and worn like people, so it's a good thing they are spending money to renovate. the lobby was a mess, but my room was brand new. probably the friendliest and most helpful staff I've ever encountered. My next trip to Gainesville will find me staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dex49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear dex49,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our property. I also thank you for understanding us renovating to be a necessity. I assure progress has been made in the lobby and it is nearing an end. I am glad you liked the room and enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to seeing you in the future. I am sure you'll like our improvements!

Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
186 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Only in town for a couple of days on business and lucked out by selecting this property. It has a great location as far as restaurants and entertainment go - lots of things within walking distance & I felt safe the whole time I was out walking, even after dark. The staff at this hotel really went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome, even
doing an evening get together which was not the norm at most Hampton Inns at which I've stayed. I was really impressed with the staff at the check in desk; everytime I walked by, either in or out, they had a kind word to say and would take time from their work just to be pleasant. Definitely will stay at this property the next time I return to Gainsville.

Room Tip: This seems to be a quiet spot in the middle of Gainesville. I don't know if there would be a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davenak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The renovation was still going on, and the lobby was a complete construction zone. My room was apparently completed as part of the renovation, because it was very nice. The bed was quite comfortable, the wireless worked great, the desk was great, with plenty of outlets. There was a pool, albeit fairly close to the freeway, but nice enough to lay out and catch a little bit of sunshine. The breakfast was plentiful. My only complaint was being subjected to Fox News in the breakfast room. The hotel staff should make it their business to make sure the TV in the public space is not tuned into anything so controversial (Fox, MSNBC, religious channels, etc.) that could make guests feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Claus, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Website did not state hotel was under major renovation when making reservation. Agree with a previous post that the lobby was a construction zone. Room was old with horrible beds. Bathroom didn't seem clean and tub didn't drain while showering. If it wouldn't have been so late, we would have gone to another hotel. The hotel clerk was very friendly. Breakfast was adequate and set up on the second floor. Rate seemed a little high for the outdated facility. Seems like a lot of Hampton Hotels are going under major renovations lately.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond F, Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your room and the appearance of our lobby. As you mentioned, we are almost finished with our renovations and again we apologize for the inconvenience that they caused while you were here. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel,

We enjoyed having you as our guest and I hope that you will visit us again soon.
If there is anything I can do to help plan your next visit, please feel free to contact me directly for assistance.

Raymond Francois
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okeechobee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed one night. The lobby was a construction zone, being remodeled and nothing but concrete floors, stud walls and the lobby desk BUT we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful lady. If it wouldn't have been pouring down rain we probably would have checked with one of the other hotels nearby. The room seemed a little dated but maybe that's what this Hampton is working on, remodeling. We met a painter coming down the elevator and he said he was painting all the rooms on the 3rd floor. They still had an excellent breakfast room. It was set up on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaNative13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#4 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gainesville

Property: Hampton Inn Gainesville
Address: 4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-75 and Archer Road, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is your comfortable home in Gainesville, Florida. Relax in your clean, comfortable guest room at this centrally located hotel in Gainesville. Enjoy easy access to the University of Florida, or enjoy our natural wonders. Alachua County features several fresh water springs for scuba diving, tubing or snorkeling. Visit the Devils Millhopper for a walk on the wild side, or stop by Lake Alice for an alligator encounter. Whether you are here for business or for pleasure, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is the smart choice for a comfort, convenience and service at a great rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Gainesville Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing