We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of spiders”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Terrible experience. There were big black spiders crawling on pillows. We took pictures of this. It was disgusting. They did give us a new room, but once your are creeped out like that it is hard to rest comfortably.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank 459lisad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonFL32608, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Florida is famous for its critters which is why we ensure that we keep a pest control company contract in place always! The following morning our pest control company was out to inspect and re-treat. I am glad we were able to move you to another room immediately.
We do everything we can to ensure clean rooms, unfortunately we share the planet with insects and every once in a while they get in.
Many safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Gainesville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent for cleaniness and courtesy. Breakfast was special and staff at breakfast was very friendly. I asked for help with the waffle maker and the young lady showed me immediately. Upon arrival the young man who checked us in needs to be a bit more friendly and helpful. I was extremely impressed when a woman from the front desk called to make sure our room was acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonFL32608, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Ray W,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff was accommodating. I see you've met one of our breakfast ladies. We truly have the sweetest breakfast staff you'll find. I'm glad they were able to help you!

Be sure to keep us mind during your future travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Room temperature was warm at arrival and took hours to cool. Front desk attendant was disrespectful. Management was unapologetic. As a diamond member this was worst experience and talking to hotel's staff just made things worse.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonFL32608, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your stay. I am sorry that it was impossible for us to extend to you the 3:00pm late checkout you would have preferred over the University of Florida graduation weekend. That is a high demand weekend because of the graduation schedules which means no one leaves early and everyone wants to stay late. With check out at Noon and check in at 3:00pm, we have a short window of opportunity to get things turned around. Had we not been sold out we would have been in a better position to help you out – however that was not the case that weekend.
In an effort to avoid upsetting our guests, we do advise in advance and it is also posted at the desk during check in, that we will be unable to accommodate early arrivals or late check outs and to plan your trip accordingly.
Additionally I wish you had advised us of the A/C issue during your stay, but thankfully it hasn’t been an issue with any other guests since then and we did ensure it was to spec and cooling properly.
I hope that you enjoyed celebrating your graduate and our best wishes to their future success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed for business. Staff is extremely friendly and very attentive. The property is clean and well cared for. The room was spacious and quiet. The hotel is located at the end of a dead end street so no traffic. Plenty of parking available. There is easy access to Interstate, downtown and restaurants. I have stayed at this hotel multiple times and highly recommend it to any one staying in Gainesville.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ganya E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonFL32608, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Ganya E A,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review and for being a loyal guest! I see you stay here for business, be sure to talk with the staff about a corporate rate, if you haven't done so already. This could save your company some money!
Hope to see you next time you're in town!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

neat clean efficient, friendly. conveniently located on a side street near shopping, eateries, and UF campus. If you have the time definitely visit The Devil's Millhopper State Park. Beautiful eco system and great outdoor exercise for the whole family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonFL32608, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Monica H,

Thank you for taking the time to post about our hotel. I'm glad you think of us as your "home away from hom"! We strive to please everyone and show each guest what customer service is about!
Next time you stay with us, be sure to take advantage of the many restaurant discounts you receive by being our guest!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times now and it always an excellent experience. Very convenient to Santa Fe and University of Florida and just off I75. Staff is always friendly and helpful and there is always coffee in the lobby. Love the milk and cookies at night!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonFL32608, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Many thanks for staying with us again and sharing your experience. We certainly enjoy seeing our return guests - that is when we know we are on our game! Hope we see you again soon - Safe and Happy Travel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, very clean, the locations is perfect to Shands. We love Hampton Inn. We will be staying here each time we have to be at the Dr. at Shands. If you stay here you will be pleased.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonFL32608, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Barbara M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visits, however, I'm very sorry about the purpose of your visits. Just let us know what we can do to help during your stays and we will do our best to accommodate!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 46 in Gainesville
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
597 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gainesville

Address: 4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £89 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-75 and Archer Road, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is your comfortable home in Gainesville, Florida. Relax in your clean, comfortable guest room at this centrally located hotel in Gainesville. Enjoy easy access to the University of Florida, or enjoy our natural wonders. Alachua County features several fresh water springs for scuba diving, tubing or snorkeling. Visit the Devils Millhopper for a walk on the wild side, or stop by Lake Alice for an alligator encounter. Whether you are here for business or for pleasure, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is the smart choice for a comfort, convenience and service at a great rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Gainesville Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing