We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We went to Gainesville because we needed to go to the University for a few days. This hotel is very close to the University. It is an older hotel, however, that doesn't mean that it wasn't a nice place to stay. Sure, a few upgrades and repairs here and there would go a long way, but it was very clean and quiet. The staff, although I didn't interact with them much because I didn't need to, were all very nice. We enjoyed hanging out by the pool. The only disappointment was that when I went on line looking for a hotel near the University, I wanted 2 things. A pool and a restaurant...ok...a bar too. This one came up as an option. To our disappointment, the restaurant has been closed down. No place on site to eat. Yes, there are places nearby, but I wanted one on site. They do have a light breakfast in the lobby in the morning. Better get there before 9AM or they will take it away while you're standing there. All in all, it was a nice stay. PS...Leonardo's Pizza just across the street was very good....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good afternoon from our team at the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. We're happy to hear that you had a "very comfortable stay" and that you found our hotel to be clean and quiet. It gives us great pleasure in hearing former guests such as yourself, and even many repeat guests, comment positively about the service and cleanliness levels that we take great pride in providing. Indeed the property is older as you mentioned however, our service levels are unsurpassed.

In addition, we would like to make you aware that there are many, many wonderful upgrades taking place as well as an exciting new restaurant coming soon. It is a very fine, moderately priced Italian diner known as Piesano's and has an excellent reputation in the region as well as two other locations within the greater Gainesville corridor. Oops, I forgot to mention that it will have a very trendy bar with nightly entertainment! In response to your comment regarding breakfast, indeed it is very popular and complimentary at the moment, so most of our guests partake early and have a wonderful dining experience.

Again, thank you so very much for your feedback! We certainly hope to have you as our guest in the relatively near future so that you experience firsthand all of the many wonderful upgrades since your initial visit. Best wishes to you and yours and we hope that you have a wonderful remaining spring and summer season...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have been in Gainesville in the last hours and the staff in Hotel has helped us in several aspects. Good environment, close to University of Florida, we are really glad with all assistance we have received from staff, especially Linda Bantle, which we would like to thank,

Room Tip: rooms are quiet, especially in north face of hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newton l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Greetings from your friends at the beautiful Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your feedback. Absolutely, we have an incredibly "friendly" team here! We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding the expectations of all our guests. It would be our pleasure to host you again! I will most definitely share your feedback with my entire team, particularly Linda. Thank you for your patronage. Best wishes to you and yours...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The location is great if you are visiting the University. The lobby appears to have been updated recently and was very nice. However, our room had a slightly musty smell, was in need of an update, had an extremely loud A/C unit (barely able to hear phone alarm over), and since it was overlooking University was quite loud. The not so fun surprise was finding a roach in the room the morning we checked out.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Bamagal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Good afternoon from the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville. Thank you so very much for your feedback. Absolutely, the "location is great" and very convenient to the University, although in need of an update as you mentioned. We are very excited to inform you that we are in the midst of a significant upgrade, both rooms and common areas. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the loud air conditioning unit as well as the pest mentioned on the morning of your departure. Each of those concerns will be addressed immediately. We hope that you allow us another opportunity to host you as your experience was the exception and not the norm. Thank you again for your feedback and all the best to you and yours...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We live in Gainesville, but we wanted to get away from the kids for a night, so we booked a Hotwire hotel. The disappointment started with the hotel not having any King bed rooms available, (I guess I had to ask for it several days in advance) but the friendly front-desk staff offered me an upgraded room. I don't recall the term they used, but it was something about being more recently updated. The lobby is very nice and modern, but once you step off the elevator on the higher floors, it smells like any old moldy motel near the interstate.
The room was clean, but was very small. It has a tiny bathroom with dated fixtures. The toilet didn't flush properly (I had to open the tank and fiddle with the chain) and bathtub had some sort of liner put into it which popped and crackled when you stood on it. The shower was far from hot, and had poor water pressure. The beds themselves were clean and comfortable.
Bottom line, the location is great if you need to be at UF, but this property takes full advantage of the fact and they don't bother refurbishing the place to current standards.

Room Tip: Stayed in 426. View of the roof and parking lot. Quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aycee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Good day and greetings from the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your feedback. Absolutely, "the location is great" if you need to be near the University, Shands Medical Complex, or one of the many sporting venues in the area. The Holiday Inn has been a staple in the community for quite some time and we have numerous repeat visitors, year after year.

We're a little concerned regarding your comment about a moldy smell. Please rest assured that we will investigate and correct that concern immediately as it may have been an air conditioning issue. We wish that you had brought it to our attention during your visit as a similar concern had not been voiced or highlighted by other guests. As it relates to your comment about the lack of king sized beds, unfortunately we have a limited supply due to the makeup of the property. Many of our groups and transient visitors require full sized beds due to the number of guests in their respective parties. We are delighted to inform you that those full sized beds are being converted to queen sized beds which will be even more popular. Typically most hotel visitors request a specific bedding type well in advance of their stay.

We apologize if you felt the pricing was unreasonable. Our strategy is common in hotels as well as numerous other industries, it's simply a matter of supply and demand. If you travel during a high demand period in any part of this country or even internationally, please expect to pay a little more than a period that's not quite as busy. We're happy that you felt the lobby was “nice and modern” and that your room was “clean and quiet as requested”. We hope that you allow us another opportunity to host you as our guest(s) during a period that's not so busy. We assure you that your maintenance concerns would have been addressed and resolved as well as many, wonderful, new furnishings in place. Also, the same "friendly staff" will be here to make you feel right at home! Thank you again for your patronage and thank you for your feedback. All the best…

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn hotels. This Holiday Inn hotel however is one of my favorite. The rooms are very clean and the Staff goes above and beyond to help me with any questions or concerns I had. If you need anything in Gainesville while you are here, it was very important to know that the staff at this Holiday Inn will point you in the right direction. The persons at the front desk who helped me the most were unforgettable. Thanks Linda and Ryan for making my stay at your hotel a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Quiet and peaceful nights sleep.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

"A class act" - very hard to follow! Greetings from the beautiful Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville. Thank you so very much for your recent feedback regarding our team. We pride ourselves in creating "unforgettable," memorable experiences for our guests. Over the years, those type of experiences have resulted in many friends who visit year after year, for which we are truly thankful and will never take for granted. Hopefully we'll have the opportunity to host you again in the relatively near future, particularly after some very exciting new upgrades! Thank you again for your feedback. I will most definitely share your appreciation with my entire team, particularly Linda and Ryan. All the best...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was the 8th Holiday Inn we stayed in over a 13 day Christmas vacation. The staff was friendly and our check in was prompt. This is an older location and that's why the rooms may be smaller and restroom was quite small, but it had been updated and was clean. Our beds were also comfortable. I don't know if it was just our floor, but the hallway smelled really strange- mold? I'm not sure, but it did not affect our room. The breakfast definitely did not offer as many choices as the other locations we stayed at, but maybe this is a new feature for this hotel? Anyway, we would try another hotel next time as we were not there for downtown convenience, just on our way to another city. We paid about $130ish.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momoftwo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Greetings from the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. Indeed, we are the only full service hotel in the downtown area and most convenient to the University. We appreciate your comments regarding the arrival/check-in experience, friendliness of our team, as well as overall cleanliness. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the lobby scent you encountered, more than likely it was one of the many tropical fragrances that we disseminate throughout on a rotational basis.

Although you were not here for "downtown convenience," we hope that you do consider us again should you have need to be near the University or Downtown Gainesville. Your next experience will be more than "ok", it will be simply fabulous! All the best to you and yours...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

On my way from the hospital I needed to make a restroom visit before my long drive home, so I stopped in at the Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center. What I saw of the hotel was clean and cheery. I noticed Graham who greeted me with a big welcoming smile and was so very kind and accommodating. He directed me to the lovely, clean restroom. The housekeeper I encountered was very pleasant. If this is any indication of how the hotel is run, we have a winner!
Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dawn729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for your comments regarding our hotel, particularly those relating to Graham, who is an integral part of our wonderful Front Office team and the "pleasant" housekeeper you encountered. We hope that during your next visit to the area, regardless of reason, that you stop in and share a few days with us. We'll continue to impress and provide you with very warm and comfortable accommodations. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Have a wonderful holiday season!

Best regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 46 in Gainesville
450 reviews
3.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £102 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing