We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We traveled to Gainesville for our son's graduation two weeks ago. The hotel's rooms are definitely dated and the cleanliness of the room was disappointing this time but the staff was always friendly and helpful and the location simply cannot be beat!!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good day and greetings from the team at the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your recent patronage as well as your very candid feedback. Indeed, it is a "perfect location with a very friendly staff" and many others concur with your comment that the "location simply cannot be beat!"

We take great pride in meeting and exceeding the expectations of all our guests, so we're disappointed that the cleanliness lacked a little on this visit. Please rest assured that my team and I will ensure that all details are addressed going forward. We hope that we have an opportunity to host you again in the relatively near future. Thank you again for your feedback and we wish all the very best to you and yours...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is walking distance from campus, bars and restaurants. Good service, quiet, clean rooms and helpful personnel . I have to say average because the water in our shower keeps changing from very cold to very hot in seconds, no constant temperature. Besides from that the this is a nice hotel. In have to check out in two hours, update coming soon..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChinoJouvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. Indeed, the hotel is a very "good place to stay on a road trip!" We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding expectations of all our guests, whether just passing through, here for business or pleasure, or visiting for an extended period. Our guests have a plethora of reasons why they lodge with us and the most common feedback we hear is that our service and commitment to excellence are evident throughout at an exceptional value.

As you mentioned, we are within walking distance to the main campus, numerous restaurants and lounges, with easy access to major interstates. We do hope to accommodate you on your next road trip and commit to resolving that water temperature concern. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your "update coming soon..." All the very best...

Respectfully,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is the best location if your objective is to be close to campus. You are literally across the street from the main corner of the main campus, with most of the University within a 5 - 10 minute walk. Waling distance to multiple restaurants and about 6 - 8 blocks from downtown.
The hotel itself is not too interesting, but certainly adequate. There is a nice secluded pool and deck area upstairs and the rooms are decent.
You pay for the location, but the hotel itself is average for the price.

Room Tip: There is no good view....
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kahoru w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Greetings from the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! We are most gracious for your recent feedback. Absolutely, we are the very "best location if your objective is to be close to the campus" of the University of Florida! We are just steps away from the main campus and stadium, numerous restaurants, and a very eclectic Downtown area.

Although the hotel is not too interesting in your opinion, indeed we are more than satisfactory to many others and extremely valuable in terms of offering reasonably priced, comfortable, and consistently clean accommodations. If the need is to be close to any university related event, the world renowned Shands Hospital, or numerous other well respected venues in the area, the location can't be beat!

Thank you so very much again for your feedback as we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding the expectations of all our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the relatively near future. All the best...

Respectfully,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We went to Gainesville because we needed to go to the University for a few days. This hotel is very close to the University. It is an older hotel, however, that doesn't mean that it wasn't a nice place to stay. Sure, a few upgrades and repairs here and there would go a long way, but it was very clean and quiet. The staff, although I didn't interact with them much because I didn't need to, were all very nice. We enjoyed hanging out by the pool. The only disappointment was that when I went on line looking for a hotel near the University, I wanted 2 things. A pool and a restaurant...ok...a bar too. This one came up as an option. To our disappointment, the restaurant has been closed down. No place on site to eat. Yes, there are places nearby, but I wanted one on site. They do have a light breakfast in the lobby in the morning. Better get there before 9AM or they will take it away while you're standing there. All in all, it was a nice stay. PS...Leonardo's Pizza just across the street was very good....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good afternoon from our team at the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. We're happy to hear that you had a "very comfortable stay" and that you found our hotel to be clean and quiet. It gives us great pleasure in hearing former guests such as yourself, and even many repeat guests, comment positively about the service and cleanliness levels that we take great pride in providing. Indeed the property is older as you mentioned however, our service levels are unsurpassed.

In addition, we would like to make you aware that there are many, many wonderful upgrades taking place as well as an exciting new restaurant coming soon. It is a very fine, moderately priced Italian diner known as Piesano's and has an excellent reputation in the region as well as two other locations within the greater Gainesville corridor. Oops, I forgot to mention that it will have a very trendy bar with nightly entertainment! In response to your comment regarding breakfast, indeed it is very popular and complimentary at the moment, so most of our guests partake early and have a wonderful dining experience.

Again, thank you so very much for your feedback! We certainly hope to have you as our guest in the relatively near future so that you experience firsthand all of the many wonderful upgrades since your initial visit. Best wishes to you and yours and we hope that you have a wonderful remaining spring and summer season...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have been in Gainesville in the last hours and the staff in Hotel has helped us in several aspects. Good environment, close to University of Florida, we are really glad with all assistance we have received from staff, especially Linda Bantle, which we would like to thank,

Room Tip: rooms are quiet, especially in north face of hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newton l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Greetings from your friends at the beautiful Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your feedback. Absolutely, we have an incredibly "friendly" team here! We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding the expectations of all our guests. It would be our pleasure to host you again! I will most definitely share your feedback with my entire team, particularly Linda. Thank you for your patronage. Best wishes to you and yours...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The location is great if you are visiting the University. The lobby appears to have been updated recently and was very nice. However, our room had a slightly musty smell, was in need of an update, had an extremely loud A/C unit (barely able to hear phone alarm over), and since it was overlooking University was quite loud. The not so fun surprise was finding a roach in the room the morning we checked out.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Bamagal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Good afternoon from the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville. Thank you so very much for your feedback. Absolutely, the "location is great" and very convenient to the University, although in need of an update as you mentioned. We are very excited to inform you that we are in the midst of a significant upgrade, both rooms and common areas. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the loud air conditioning unit as well as the pest mentioned on the morning of your departure. Each of those concerns will be addressed immediately. We hope that you allow us another opportunity to host you as your experience was the exception and not the norm. Thank you again for your feedback and all the best to you and yours...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We live in Gainesville, but we wanted to get away from the kids for a night, so we booked a Hotwire hotel. The disappointment started with the hotel not having any King bed rooms available, (I guess I had to ask for it several days in advance) but the friendly front-desk staff offered me an upgraded room. I don't recall the term they used, but it was something about being more recently updated. The lobby is very nice and modern, but once you step off the elevator on the higher floors, it smells like any old moldy motel near the interstate.
The room was clean, but was very small. It has a tiny bathroom with dated fixtures. The toilet didn't flush properly (I had to open the tank and fiddle with the chain) and bathtub had some sort of liner put into it which popped and crackled when you stood on it. The shower was far from hot, and had poor water pressure. The beds themselves were clean and comfortable.
Bottom line, the location is great if you need to be at UF, but this property takes full advantage of the fact and they don't bother refurbishing the place to current standards.

Room Tip: Stayed in 426. View of the roof and parking lot. Quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aycee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Good day and greetings from the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your feedback. Absolutely, "the location is great" if you need to be near the University, Shands Medical Complex, or one of the many sporting venues in the area. The Holiday Inn has been a staple in the community for quite some time and we have numerous repeat visitors, year after year.

We're a little concerned regarding your comment about a moldy smell. Please rest assured that we will investigate and correct that concern immediately as it may have been an air conditioning issue. We wish that you had brought it to our attention during your visit as a similar concern had not been voiced or highlighted by other guests. As it relates to your comment about the lack of king sized beds, unfortunately we have a limited supply due to the makeup of the property. Many of our groups and transient visitors require full sized beds due to the number of guests in their respective parties. We are delighted to inform you that those full sized beds are being converted to queen sized beds which will be even more popular. Typically most hotel visitors request a specific bedding type well in advance of their stay.

We apologize if you felt the pricing was unreasonable. Our strategy is common in hotels as well as numerous other industries, it's simply a matter of supply and demand. If you travel during a high demand period in any part of this country or even internationally, please expect to pay a little more than a period that's not quite as busy. We're happy that you felt the lobby was “nice and modern” and that your room was “clean and quiet as requested”. We hope that you allow us another opportunity to host you as our guest(s) during a period that's not so busy. We assure you that your maintenance concerns would have been addressed and resolved as well as many, wonderful, new furnishings in place. Also, the same "friendly staff" will be here to make you feel right at home! Thank you again for your patronage and thank you for your feedback. All the best…

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 46 in Gainesville
449 reviews
3.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £101 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing