We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure, sterling service”

Manuel's Vintage Room
Ranked #5 of 575 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
gnv
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure, sterling service”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is one of the two best restaurants in Gainesville, by far the best Italian, and has by far the best service of any place in town... or perhaps anywhere I've ever eaten. I first brought my daughter there when she was 7. Getting up to use the restroom her dress that time caught on the tablecloth and sent 3 glasses crashing to the floor. 3 servers immediately came over to help; 2 cleaned up the glass while the 3rd assured her it happened all the time to everyone. Then Manuel, the owner, insisted on sending my daughter a free tiramisu for dessert. I've been back regularly for the last 3 years and tonight took my daughter to celebrate her birthday. Manuel gave her a hug, wished her a happy birthday, took her back to the kitchen to meet the chef (who also wished her happy birthday) and again sent her tiramisu for dessert (remembering it from 3 years prior). This is what restaurants should aspire to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    33
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best tomato sauce ever”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went there after a losing football game. It helped a lot food was excellent and service even better. It is pricey but well worth it. We had the specials and all were plentiful and delicious. We ordered the roasted vegetables to go with our dinner and they were very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a terrific find thanks to Trip Advisor”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Drove up for a birthday dinner with my daughter: a student at UF. Saw several highly rated places in downtown so parked and just started walking. Walked in with no problem early on a Tuesday night. Maybe 10 tables in this quaint place. Seated by the window and well taken care of by the serving staff. Our server plated tableside the risotto app we ordered, and it was out of this world. Both of us enjoyed delicious entrees and the tiramisu for dessert did not disappoint. Serving sizes were perfect. And again, service was really outstanding for a small town restaurant. Really a pleasant surprise. Price was what was fair for the level of food and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bone3371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best of Gainesville”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

If you find yourself in Gainesville and are looking for a good meal at a comparatively reasonable price- this is the place to go. It's head and shoulders above other restaurants in the area but on the more expensive side as you would expect. Figure about $35 a person for appetizers, wine, pasta, main course and desert. Service is excellent food is of a high standard and the atmosphere warm and inviting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Redenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service and great food.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I found this restaurant by searching trip advisor not wanting to go to the same big chains we usually go to while visiting our son at UF. Glad I did. The food was fresh and very good. The service was excellent. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alo1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manuel's Vintage Room also viewed

 

Been to Manuel's Vintage Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing