We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden and discrete elegance you can expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Gulfport, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden and discrete elegance you can expect”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

There are many nighs I choose to go solo, mostly to relax in quiet but unscale enjoymant. The Peninsula Hotel is from a time where manners and edicate mattered. Here it still does. The staff is above average and intelligent and seem to know people and their individual taste. Although i have not sampled their extensive menu, food wise I am a snaker by habit.

Last week I was sitting at the very old and beautifull mahogony bar having my favorite Knob and Ginger and turned around to be privy to two new dishes being enjoyed by the young couple in back of me. It looked sumtious. Asking them if they had been there before, they replied...Snow birds, but they were regulars....and, yes, "indeed delectable ". It was my fourth time in two years, but i have noticed a nice change in my almost habitual nature. You can quicky get use to the lobby piano music, sing alongs and nightly dance crowd on the out side veranda. It is classy, yes but open to the young at heart as well. Oh, an excellent wine list. A must visit in Gulfport village.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbeyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    61
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
53
127
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I was searching for a quaint little inn to have my intimate wedding ceremony and family dinner and discovered the Peninsula Inn and Spa through a google search. What a gem! As I work in the hospitality business for a luxury hotel and specialize in weddings, my taste and expectations are quite high. And the Peninsula Inn EXCEEDED them!!! Frank and Alex were a joy to work with! The chef did an amazing job on the food! Everything was absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our brother lives in St. Pete, so we know the area, but were pleasantly surprised to find refreshing Gulfport! We needed a hotel with connecting rooms for a spread in ages, since the 2-year-old is not a good sleeper. The decoration is charming, very sophisticated but homey, and the bathroom huge. Manager Frank is delightful. A surprise was the arty street full of boutiques, galleries, and restaurants and a very arty crowd during an art festival. We loved it! At the end of the street is the beach with park, large pier, good playground, and across the street a little outdoor mall with live music and a good teahouse, so though the weather was too cold to go swimming,(Feb.) we had lots to do. The hotel is listed on the National Historic Trust's list of Historic Hotels, so it is restored very well.

Room Tip: If there will be live music in the courtyard, ask for a room not on that side, since it was loud unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel has character. Although older, the rooms were nice, the food was great. The service at this hotel was outstanding. Frank, did an amazing job catering to our entire family during our visit. My brother got married and the whole family stayed two nights. I don't have anything to complain about ;-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The Peninsula Inn was exactly what we had hoped for when we chose accommodations for our family. Certainly no need for a car when complimentary breakfast is offered daily and restaurants are within walking distance. Frank and the other staff members were warm and friendly leaving our parents feeling right at home during their two week stay. They enjoyed the variety of community events, especially the weekday morning market, live music, art show and the evening art walk. Beautiful weather allowed them to enjoy the verandah regularly and visit with other guests. Thanks for giving us the perfect location for a visit with our Hoosier family!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I can only echo the review by my sister, Marie S. about our weekend at the Peninsula. Frank was gracious and accomodating to us, as were all the staff. Our dinner was great and the entertainment was fun. All in all, everyone (eight ladies) had a great reunion.

Room Tip: My sister Marie and I shared the Katmandu room , which had a king bed and a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My sisters, neices and I had a reunion at this adorable Inn. All were from different areas and states. From minute one, we all felt comfortable and welcomed. Frank, the manager, is perfect for the job...he is professional, fun and always there the minute you needed something. We ate at the restaurant on Friday night (actually ate under the grapefruit tree as recommended by Frank....and a perfect recommendation it was) to our pleasant surprise, the food was fantastic!!!! And the Motown group got us all up dancing as in the "olden days". The rooms were simple but comfortable and clean.
I would definitely recommend this lovely, relaxing get away.....and will be back when in need of a lovely weekend
Marie Sell
Indialantic, FL

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,675 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
533 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
364 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,199 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Property: The Historic Peninsula Inn
Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Region: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing