We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Wedding at the Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My son and his wife held their wedding at The Penninsula Inn in mid April. It was a wonderful affair and everyone raved at the atmosphere and accomodations at this gorgeous and unique Florida inn. The manager, Frank, could not have been more helpful. The food was excellent and all the details that make a wedding a joyous celebration, were in place. It's not always easy to find a venue that's perfect along with folks that "get" the vision of the wedding that a couple desires. Frank and his staff really listened and helped make sure that evry, little detail was taken care of. My husband and I often head to the beach (not very far away from Gulfport) for short getaways but after staying at the Penninsula Inn for the wedding have decided that we will return next time we are wanting a fun mini holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

Several girlfriends and I booked this place primarily because it was advertised as a inn and SPA which, combined with the good reviews on TA, made it seem like our perfect location for a spa getaway. What we found was that it's a shame there aren't stricter rules on what you advertise.

First of all, a week or so before our arrival, we contacted the hotel to arrange for spa packages, since there were several of us, and we knew this would require advance staffing. No one answered the spa phone. Several days and two phone calls later, we finanlly spoke to someone who turned out to be one of the owners, who said that they could do 2 massages and 2 facials at a time. This, especially combined with the fact that we'd had difficulty even connecting with the spa staff in the first place, sounded dubious. We elected to wait until arrival to check out the facilities in person and book from there.

On our arrival, we were told that they had spa personnel on call to work with us. When we were shown the "spa," however, we were disappointed. It was clear that, far from a purpose-built spa with wet services, the inn had converted one or two former bedrooms to "spa" rooms. Yes, they could do two massages at the same time...but in the same room. This is fine if you're looking for a couples massage, but not what we were seeking. Further, the facial "room" was an area separated from two pedi chairs and a nail station by a folding screen. There are no wet services (hydrotherapy, hot tub, steam shower, etc.). When a place is advertised as a SPA, I would expect all of these. We chose not to have our spa experience in the hotel.

Second area of inaccurate advertising was the continental breakfast. I had gathered, from other reviewers, that this was somewhat limited and that it wasn't possible to even get a cup of coffee before 8 AM, but the reality was much more disappointing. Please note, this is an inn with not one, but two full restaurants plus a lively bar, so it's not like they don't have kitchen facilities. We were the first guests of the hotel down at breakfast time on our first morning, and the "continental breakfast" consisted of three types of cold cereals--the large catering spoon meant to scoop these out was dirty--a couple of bagels and English muffins and bananas, all cut in half (the implication being that you weren't allowed to have a whole one to yourself). There were 4 or 5 no-name yogurts, a carafe of juice, and plastic cups. This was served on one corner table of the larger of the two restaurants and, when my friend and I took our breakfast to one of the tables, we saw that it had not been wiped down from the previous night's dinner...it was full of crumbs. Most astounding to me though, was that the coffee set up was just the restaurant's waiter station, complete with the bus tubs so that you could bus your own dishes to it following your meal. There was a pot of regular and decaf coffee, and perhaps a dozen coffee mugs, none of which matched, as if they had been picked up at a thrift shop.

For this reason, even though the menus of both restaurants (one of which is an expensive chef's tasting type with only six tables and a set menu) looked delicious, we decided not to dine on the property. It just seemed like they didn't care, and that doesn't spell a hygenic kitchen to me.

The rooms, however, were very clean, and the housekeeping staff kept them immaculate during my stay. The pillows were horrible, however -- all old, flat and hard, even the two extras that were supplied in the closet. The shower was very good and large, but the vanity was very small and there was no space anywhere to put your toothbrush or your toiletries, unless you were supposed to park them all under the sink. There are few amenities in the room save a flat screen TV...you must ask at the front desk to borrow a hair dryer. There is an ice bucket in the room (with plastic-covered plastic glasses a la a Motel 6) but no ice machine. Presumably you would take your ice bucket all the way down to the bar to get ice.

The best part of the inn was the lovely common areas -- the wide, wraparound porch and back patio. It is obvious that the Peninsula Inn does a lot of local bar custom, and perhaps restaurant custom as well. There are people who play the piano in the bar, and it is a warm, friendly atmosphere.

After checking us in, we had no contact with the owners or managers who, even if they spied us in passing, never checked in or asked how we were enjoying our stay. On the last night of the stay, we asked who "Frank" was, whose name appears repeatedly in the reviews, and were told he no longer worked there. Huh.

The town of Gulfport, in which this inn is centrally located, is small and quaint and (thankfully) has many dining options, which we enjoyed during our stay. We took our spa business elsewhere.

Room Tip: Katmandu was a nicely laid out room with a quiet "split miini" a/c rather than the noiser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimbrwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I visited The Historic Peninsula Inn for our anniversary. He arranged it all himself and was very happy with the help he received over the phone. Frank, the manger of the Inn was very attentive and accommodating. We were staying for only one night and my husband asked for suggestions for a restaurant in the area. Their restaurant, Six Tables, was not scheduled to be open on the night we were staying, but after Frank spoke to the owners, they were able to open it up for us. Talk about going out of their way! The owners, Alexandra and Jim, make you feel at home and are proud to share the history of their Inn. We had the privilege of viewing their personal photo album with pictures of the Inn before and after their renovation 10 years ago.

The inn itself has such old Florida charm. The area is a sleepy coast town with cute shops and plenty of restaurants. My favorite addition during their renovation was the antique style elevator with the accordion metal gate. The large porch wraps around the front and side of the building, and is a great place to have breakfast, or sit with a drink from the fully equipped bar. You can enjoy the Florida weather while listening to woodpeckers in the surrounding trees. The bedrooms are nicely sized and clean.

Their Six Tables restaurant is a fine dining experience! The dinner is six courses of delicious gourmet dishes, perfectly prepared by their chef. Alexandra herself was our server. She added information about our dishes and how they were prepared, along with small talk that added, but did not intrude on our dinner. Her wine suggestion made a perfect pairing with our many courses. We left with our taste buds and stomach fully satisfied.

We had a great time at the Historic Peninsula Inn. Alexandra, Jim and Frank made us feel at home and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Katmandu room is the only one with a King size bed and has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMeand3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in the Katmandu room. It was lovely with a king size bed and 2 large comfortable chairs for seating. The room and bathroom were very clean and nicely decorated. It is right in the center of all shops and restaurants in this charming little town.
The staff here is very friendly. A small continental breakfast is included and has the basics like, cereal, yogurt, bagels, english muffins and some fruit and juice. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Katmandu room and loved it. There are 3 floors and there is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here at the last minute and had no problem getting a reservation. It is located in the charming downtown area of Gulfport. Easy walking to anything worth seeing in the area. They have ample parking. We stayed in the Katmandu room which was beautifully decorated with a king bed. The television was not very big, but we don't watch much television. But you did have to sit in the sitting area to watch it. It was set low on a table and to far from the bed if you wanted to see it from there. They have a nice restaurant and bar area. A band was playing Saturday night on the front porch and a lot of people were up dancing, singing and having fun.

My only disappointment was the continental breakfast that is included in the price of the room. We have stayed at many B & B's around the world and this was probably the weakest breakfast served. It was adequate, but I expected more from a top rated B & B.

But I would highly recommend staying here to enjoy your visit in Gulfport.

Room Tip: The Inn has an old style elevator that requires you to close a door and a gate. If someone forgets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

UNIQUE, a real treat to find this gem of a restaurant in the quaint town of Gulfport. The service, food and friendly atmosphere were without doubt 1st class. Our first visit was sooooo great, we are returning this Friday for more scrumptious food and to hear "Sinatra" sing. The owner's Jim and Alexandra were very hospitable and a real pleasure to meet and chat with. It was a wonderful experience to dine at this very elegant historic establishment.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ken and Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We recently spent a week in the Tampa-Saint Petersburg area. We tried to book a room at the beach but were unsuccessful. So my step-daughter suggested the Peninsula Inn in Gulfport. It was a great choice. It was only a 10 minute drive from the beach. And it was a welcome change from all the development along the Gulf. It really seemed like we were transported back in time to what I call old Florida. Gulfport has many older homes and is an artist community. It's funky with a nice vibe. There were some nice restaurants too. The Inn had been renovated about 10 years ago and was charming. Our room was small although the bathroom was a good size. The Inn itself had a nice lobby, a cool old elevator, and a couple of restaurants. The porch where you could have a continental breakfast was great. Very wide and shaded with ceiling fans. Great place to hang out and watch people stroll by. Frank, the hotel manager, could not have been more accomodating. He arranged for early check in and a late check out and took care of all our needs. In summary, we give the Inn a strong recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAverbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.9 mi away
Crystal Bay Hotel
Crystal Bay Hotel
#14 of 43 in St. Petersburg
78 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,996 reviews
4.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
620 reviews
3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
#18 of 43 in St. Petersburg
633 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range: £120 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing