We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel-fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Our second stay at this hotel. Unique Mandalay Bay themed decor. 1/4 mile from the bay..rustic Fl atmosphere with great restaurants in walking distince. FANTASTIC SERVICE by the restaurant and bar staff at this hotel. Amazing price of $139/night for a 2 room suite. Walk to and relax at a small, but enjoyable beach. No rental car necessary...everything needed is in walking distance.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank NJBillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Peninsula Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2007

My friends and I stayed at the Peninsula Inn on the weekend of September, and we had the best time ever! We were having a girls weekend, we did spa services, eat great food, danced all night friday and saturday, and had the best Bloody Marys at Sunday brunch. This place is like a secret oasis, and I want to let the cat out of the bag! Love it can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SpaGirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

I had the most awful hotel experience of my life at this hotel. The owner, when he checked me in, neglected to give me the door code so when my partner and I came back at 10pm that night to go to sleep we were locked out of the hotel, completely stranded with no emergency number, nothing. If my parents didn't live in town we would have been sleeping on a park bench. The worst part was that when I went in the next morning (after calling multiple times and no one calling back), the owner was shockingly rude, defensive, and unapologetic about the situation. I have never been so floored by a hotel experience before. They did give us two free nights.

Stayed: August 2007
6  Thank sanfrantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2007

As local Gulfport residents, we watched this wonderful old building being renovated, and then restored and furnished with beautiful antique pieces, lovely guest rooms, cozy little dens and guest areas, a charming verandah to curl up and read or enjoy coffee, drinks and excellent casual dining.

We chose it for our wedding in April 2005, and Karen, the events coordinator for the Inn put together a flawless, first class event for us. Because the Inn has only 10 or so guest rooms, we booked the entire hotel for our out of town guests. We STILL get compliments from our wedding guests about how much they loved our wedding.

We recommend all of our friends visiting the area, and they all love it. As a matter of fact, my daughter is visiting this weekend, and will be staying there -- her third visit. We dine there often, and the food is always wonderful, if maybe a little pricey.

Along with the rest of little Gulfport, this place is a step back in time, with all the charm. On a recent walk from dinner at the Inn to the local theater, I almost expected to run into Jimmy Stewart strolling along, tipping his hat as we passed.

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty_and_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bethesda, Md.
11
Reviewed 24 March 2006

If you want a taste of the Keys in western Florida, this is your place. A great selection of wines, great martini's, an atmosphere of British Carribean and a friendly staff. Good place to meet locals. I have taken a number of friends here and they always love it.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2006

I took my Husband to the Peninsula for his birthday dinner. It would have been a nice evening & dinner if it were not for the bad stuffed mushroom appetizer. Upon its arrival we smelled a "bad" odor coming from the plate & were quite skeptical. We should have heeded our skepticism, but both took a small bite (about 1/6 of a mushroom cap each) and confirmed that it truly was bad. We sent it back, and our waiter asked if we'd like to substitute a different appetizer, and we decided that yes we would. After a bottle of wine, appetizer, 2 entrees, and a birthday dessert slowly served by a mediocre waiter, we waited about 10 minutes for our waiter to give us some eye contact, then finally got our bill. As expected the birthday dessert was free. Unexpectedly, though, we were charged for our substitute appetizer. We did not have time to speak to our server - we were already running late for a local performance (at the Catherine Hickman playhouse) - otherwise we would have asked why we were charged. Currently (5 hours after dinner) we are still paying for our 1st appetizer - fighting over who gets the bathroom.

The least that should have been done was to provide our appetizer at no charge. And if that had been done, I would not likely be writing this bad review.

If you go here, just be careful of what you order and ASK QUESTIONS if you don't think something is right. Good luck...

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Værelser væk fra baren var mere rolige. Check med personalet, at aircon virker optimalt
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kirstenskovvangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
562 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,750 reviews
2.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,001 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,225 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Region: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range: £101 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing