We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We made a reservation that morning and there was no problem finding a room on a hot August Saturday. Our room was typical in an historic inn, small but cozy. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The people were nice, although I'm not sure who was who as I only got one person's name. The elevator is so cool--one of those old ones with the sliding gate I loved it! Nice, central location and plenty of parking. I got a massage and it was great! I think her name is Lo Lo for short, but very knowledgeable about her profession and a great massage. Big complaint--should have been told the restaurants and bar were closed for renovations before I booked. Website needs updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronjoduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    61
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
54
127
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Older, charming, quaint...my hubby stays here on business. I went last week and relaxed, shopped, ate...had a very nice stay. The owners are extremely nice, helpful and very accommodating. We took our small dog, Dobey Man, he had a great time also...nice to be able to take your pet, it's quiet for them and they can also relax without all the exterior noise that goes with most places. We like the ample room size, ours had a separate bedroom that you could shut off from the bathroom and living room area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Historic, very well kept, clean, comfortable and very cozy!! If you are looking for a traditional 5 star hotel, go to Marriott or similar. This is a small, cozy, interesting, very well kept historic hotel. There are only a few rooms, but pretty and maintaining the cozy atmosphere of the early 1900's. Jim, the owner, is a sweetheart who goes out of his way to make guests feel completely at home. What more can I say? I loved this place and FOR SURE will come back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LygiaLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We met friends here for a great dinner & drinks at Isabelle's. It's very charming and the patio was just beautiful. Dale was entertaining in his Sinatra style --- we really enjoyed the music and dancing. We spent the night in one of the two bedroom suites and our friends stayed in a one bedroom suite. The rooms were beautifully furnished. Beds were extremely comfortable. There's a lovely sitting area on the 2nd floor where we were. Wished we could have stayed the weekend! Owners, Jim & Alex, we very accomodating. It was a great experience and we'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShieliaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We spent the Memorial Day weekend. What a quaint hotel and friendly people. The rooms were plenty big enough for my husband and I. There's a very long verandah which houses the restaurant Isabelle's. We had dinner there one night. What a pleasant experience just watching the scenery and relaxing. Unfortunately, we never made it to the piano/guitar area. I would definitely stay there again. I did miss having a swimming pool, but it is within walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deabic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We planned to stay two nights but due to an emergency only stayed one. We had planned to have dinner the 2nd night (our anniversary) but missed out on it. We talked to the chef the 1st day and he recommended his specialty a snrimp dish. We talked to many of the patrons who did dine there and ALL raved about how good it was . We did have an appetizer , the fried green tomatoes and they were excellent. So we're the margaritas. Lots to see and do within walking distance. We thought we would gamble a little and walked to the Casino. No gambling but hundreds of people of all ages Swing Dancing. The day we left they were having Salsa night. If you like people watching and/ or dancing, go. Hotel is As described quaint, quiet, comfortable. We enjoyed the Senegal suite.Staff are so friendly and accommodating. We will go back for a longer stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is the second time my family has stayed at this lovely, well kept inn, and we will return again next time we visit the area. The rooms are cozy with very comfortable beds, and are nicely decorated to the theme of the room. The town of Gulfport is very artsy with a number of galleries and gift shops unlike what you find in resort towns, and is a nice change of scenery from crowded tourist attractions. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the restaurant is wonderful, we ate dinner here twice during our stay and the waiter (Doug, I think was his name) was exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank songbird5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,696 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
539 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
2.4 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Property: The Historic Peninsula Inn
Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Region: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing