We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice girls' weekend for me and my 5 year old daughter . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice girls' weekend for me and my 5 year old daughter . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My 5 year old daughter and I loved staying at the lovely Peninsula Inn . . . everyone was so nice and accommodating in anything we needed during our weekend stay. The Inn is safe and located in a nice part of town. My daughter loved walking up and down Beach Boulevard and taking in the cute shops. This our second year staying there and we look forward to another visit soon.

Thanks everyone for your hospitality during our stay!

Jody

Room Tip: I liked our room (Timbuk Two), but it was a little small. Next time I will select a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    57
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
48
120
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

A nice place to hop away for a couple of days, this hotel is what I would call "going back in time". The interior is as well kept as it could be given it's age and the furnishings were comfortable. Our room seemed more like a guest room in someone's home rather than a hotel room. The old fashioned elevator was a kick to operate. Breakfast was a simple continental style in Isabel restaurant. Very elegant antiques, etc. Whatever we asked for we received. The bar is pleasant and seems to fill up with locals in the evening. Well located to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: The Katmandu room has king size bed and lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights while sailing in a regatta in Gulfport. The hotel is very clean, great staff and the rooms are very elegantly decorated, it makes you feel like you are in a grand hotel but the cost is not that of a grand hotel. It is very centrally located, wifi worked well and has a nice small sociable bar and restarant. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I visited for a weekend business trip and loved everything about the Peninsula, from the wrap-around porch, to the festive location just blocks from the beach, to the first-rate service and intimate feel. Jim was an exceptional host and ensured I had everything I needed. My room was a charming suite with a lovely sitting area and oh-so-comfortable bed. Isabelle's served up delicious gourmet plates along with a nice selection of wines by the glass. And all for a very reasonable price. I look forward to bringing my family back to relax and enjoy the same comforts and personal service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Did the people who wrote good reviews stay in the same place I did???
Many better options in the area for $168 a night. Built in 1904, it looked as if it had not been painted or renovated since then. The sheets actually had holes they were so thread barren; the wall paper was pealing off the walls. The mattress so old we rolled together in the middle. The ceiling fan rattled so much we thought it was going to come crashing down on us. Breakfast was a basic continental in an dark, dreary environment so we went outside among the mosquito invest vegetation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurieH1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I agree with the review posted by MissTravel L. While looking for a place to stay near to St. Petersburg, this was the most affordable option BY FAR. We loved the quiet, artsy strip that the Inn was on in Gulfport and felt it was a nice change from the big box/commercial feel of nearby St. Pete's and Clearwater. However, the Inn itself was a bit of a disappointment based on the reviews I read here. Moral of the story is you get what you pay for.

The place was fine but definitely not nice. This is a historic building so ceilings are low and windows are small. Our room lacked basic hotel amenities: no hairdryer, no full length mirror, no closet (there was a set of drawers). The comforter set and pillows were quite ratty. The fitted sheet was too small for the mattress and pulled off in the middle of each night. That said, the place felt safe and the location gave us easy access to many beaches within a 30 minute drive.

If you're looking for a budget stay, this will satisfy your needs. Looking for a true "inn & spa" experience? You will be dissappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBrenner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I visited the place for 4 days had an amazing time here. The location is perfect as its quite near to the beach and there are a plenty of other places to hang out in.
The hosts Alex and Jim are very friendly and helpful. Given its price the place is best in the region. I would certainly like to stay here if i visit the place again.

P.S:-And don't miss the breakfast, (they serve pretty good one.)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,407 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Property: The Historic Peninsula Inn
Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Region: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing