We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring atmosphere...scrumptious breakfasts...quaint town...a return stay is a must for us.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grady House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 High Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Inspiring atmosphere...scrumptious breakfasts...quaint town...a return stay is a must for us.”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

A lovely experience for 2 nights in the green room. Breakfasts are first class gourmet, expect them to fill you until dinner. The grounds at this b&b are as enjoyable as the home itself. Several sitting areas, winding paths, orchids and a koi pond all add to the natural beauty. The home is inviting and filled with "pretties" in every direction. Owner was super accommodating to our check in/out times. Large dalmations residing on premise do make themselves heard on occasion and are gorgeous and friendly. Not a deterrant for us in the least. A spa just a stone throw away...we didnt try it but reviews are positive. I would recommend Grady House for a romantic getaway, family together, or anyone looking to feel welcome and relaxed in an environment of old charm and peacefulness. I miss the green room's heavenly claw foot tub!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smarie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne28, Owner at Grady House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We enjoyed having you in our home. Paul and Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
133
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My stepmom and I rented Skeet's Cottage, the stand alone home, for a Sunday check-in and Tuesday checkout. Let me first start with the positives. Both the main house and cottage are decorated beautifully and the grounds with the gazebo and walkways are wonderful. We spent time on the gazebo with afternoon snacks and drinks each day and loved it. The employees are very kind and gracious and take good care of the property. Our beds were extremely comfortable. For us, unfortunately, that is where the positive ends.
When we checked in , Paul greeted us and showed us around. Lucie wasn't available and we were very early (10am), but were told that she would take care of us when we returned at 4pm as he was going out of town. I later read that he practices law during the week - I don't know if that information is current but we never saw him again. We also only saw Lucie if it was by chance or if we asked for something. B&B's that I have gone to in the past make a big effort to entertain, get to know you, possibly have a wine/cheese time for guests to mingle. None of that here. Now to be fair, Lucie was polite and did give us a suggestion for dinner. But my personal opinion is that she has too many other businesses going on to really devote her time to the B&B. She is also a Realtor and just started a catering business - so to me her interests were elsewhere.
The other big negative is that this place is on the main road to I-75 and each morning we were woken to the crazy amount of traffic roaring down the road starting around 5:30am. We were early risers anyway so it's not a huge deal - but we didn't want to wait till 9am to eat the house breakfast so we went elsewhere. We did enjoy the home, but thought it crazy that the rear and front porches were so dirty. We had to wipe down seats and tables with wet paper towels just to use.
The town seems to have taken a big hit from the economy. Many restaurants and shops have closed, which, while unfortunate, also was a let down for our visit. We had looked forward to shopping on Main Street, but there just wasn't much there. If you come to High Springs it must be to enjoy the Sante Fe River and the springs, which we did both days and loved every minute of it.
I just don't understand how this place is rated #1 in Florida - I'd like to know who did that poll. I have been to many B&B's that far exceed this one in service. Typically I don't come down so hard on a review, but we were truly amazed at the lack of enthusiastic service. We felt more like we were staying with relatives that didn't really want us there. Please note that there are four dalmations on property. They are wonderful dogs and we are dog lovers to the end. But, maybe a B&B is not the place for barking dogs that want to eat your cheese/crackers at the gazebo. I do respect that they have rescued the dogs - very kind of Paul and Lucie.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank litlmenz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne28, Owner at Grady House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
We are so sorry to hear that Grady House did not meet your expectations. We strive to make all of our guests welcome and comfortable and have been extraordinarily successful in doing that in our six years here. You requested a check-in 5 hours earlier and we happily accommodated you. We offered you our full breakfast both mornings of your stay (even offering it earlier on the day of your departure), but you declined. Our testimonials give tribute to our breakfasts and we love having that time to get to know our guests, discuss their plans and offer them suggestions. We try to achieve a balance of being available but not intrusive and, except for one time when I was shopping for the inn, I was available to attend to your needs and to answer your questions. I did see you a few times during your stay but, mostly, you were away enjoying the nature of High Springs. Because of our location, we have found that an organized happy hour for guests is not appreciated because most folks are on the rivers, visiting the springs, attending games, etc. In particular, many guests who stay in the cottage, choose to stay there for the privacy, the use of their own kitchen and the chance to do their own thing. The Grady House is always stocked with tea, coffee, soft drinks, water, beer, wine and homemade cookies which all guests can enjoy at their convenience. As far as the dogs are concerned, you said you loved seeing our dogs. Despite that, I did bring them in immediately when I realized you were in the gazebo having drinks. We were chosen #1 Bed and Breakfast in Florida in a poll conducted by Florida Monthly Magazine in both 2008 and 2010. The awards are on our website and we are frankly proud of them. Again, I apologize if you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We decided after getting our daughter taken care of by family and our German Shepherd and 5 cats also being cared for- to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary! We had never been to Gainesville or points north so after googling the area, came across the Grady House! What a stroke of luck- Beautiful B & B and gorgeous grounds to walk around and destress! Lucie had called ahead to get us a reservation a couple hours after our arrival at the 'Great Outdoors' Restaurant in town (a walk of only 4 short blocks away!). That meal was fabulous and the people were very friendly and welcoming! Between Lucie's amazing breakfasts, and Paul's wonderful stories and Jeopardy info- we had a fabulous time! We were fortunate to stay in Skeets Cottage- the separate house with beautiful furnishings and a relaxing front porch with swing- all to ourselves! We will definitely go back and bring our daughter to try the Springs and the tubing! Can't wait to go back! Thanks Paul and Lucie for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Any room will be wonderful- and if bringing a family-definitely recommend Skeets Cottage! Has a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne28, Owner at Grady House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Please don't wait for an anniversary to return! There are birthdays! Valentine's Days! Flag Days!. . . .Come back soon! Paul and Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Besides a truly great B&B experience, there are a lot of things to do close by like tubing on the Ichetucknee, swimming in crystal blue springs, canoeing on the Santa Fe, and hiking the trails in Oleno State Park. The Great Outdoors Restaurant is pretty cool too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Was married in the garden everything was so grand. Jen and I had a most memorable time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Grady House in High Springs and everything I read about the property was true - quaint, clean, turn of the century decor, rooms named for their vibrant colors and the building in mint condition (OK there are a few squeaks from the original wood restored floors!).

B&B owners/operators Paul and Lucie Regensdorf spare no effort to make their guests feel at home - in fact, the first thing Paul tells you upon arrival is "treat the house as if it was your home!" There is that feeling staying here, enjoying Lucie's tasty and creative dishes and fruit cups, admiring the era furniture and decor, paintings, book collections and more.

Much to do around High Springs - swimming, snorkeling and diving the springs, rafting the river, antique shop hopping and great food and entertainment. Grady House turned out to be the best choice for convenience, comfort and cost!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecoguides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This lovely home was the rendezvous place for 6 of us who met there the night before tubing on the Ichetucknee River. After relaxing in their private gardens, we walked to a local restaurant, The Great Outdoors, for dinner. The home is beautifully appointed, clean, and comfortable. Lucie, the owner, accommodated our early morning departure with a breakfast-to-go, which was still warm when we arrived at the picnic area at the river. We will return. Just fabulous!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebBarnes47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Springs
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Alachua
192 reviews
13.1 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
775 reviews
20.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Lake City
20.2 mi away
Super 8 Lake City
Super 8 Lake City
#9 of 24 in Lake City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grady House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grady House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grady House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 420 NW 1st Ave, High Springs, FL 32643-0134
Region: United States > Florida > High Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in High Springs
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Grady House Bed And Breakfast High Springs, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing