We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED this place!!! The best food, wow!”

Great Outdoors Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in High Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to the award winning Great Outdoors Restaurant! We hope you enjoy your dining experience here. Our menu is carefully planned and lovingly prepared. Our Executive Chef is on the premises at all times carefully overseeing every detail of food preparation to personally ensure that everything is prepared fresh in the kitchen. Our steaks are hand cut and our sauces and desserts are homemade. Enjoy our fresh entree salads, homemade soups and a variety of delicious appetizers. We want you to have the perfect guest experience! Our services staff are professionally trained to ensure that every guest has the best dining experience possible.
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We loved this restaurant so much we went back a second time with my parents on our very short visit to High Springs. We were supposed to be cooking out and instead it rained so we went into town and popped in here - WOW, were we pleasantly happy! I have a 10 year old daughter and 16 yr old son, my husband and I and every one of us LOVED our meals! They have 4 different kinds of fries to choose from one with a truffle oil sprinkled with parm. cheese that was so good when we went back again we all ordered it!
My daughter ordered the ribs and they were AMAZING. In fact, so delicious that when we went back with my parents the next night when it was pouring down raining 5 out of 6 of us ordered the ribs again!
My son for lunch had the parm. grilled cheese sandwich which he said was the best he ever had in his life. And, the next night my father ordered the blue cheese potato chips that were piled high, made fresh and delicious too. We had way too much food but we the Great Outdoors made us happy campers even with the rain! This place is a must to eat at if you visit High Springs and we loved the ambiance and the beautiful photography of the springs on the walls.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele C, Guest Relations Manager at Great Outdoors Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you Sheri for the kind review. That was a very rainy night in High Springs!. So glad we were able to help out with the cooking for your family when your cook out was rained out! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 477 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We enjoyed a live band last Saturday evening after tubing at Ginnie Springs. Sitting outside was delightful with laid back atmosphere - a few people even had their dogs. Inside is very nice if you haven't spent a full day on the water :-) Our server plus the bartenders were fantastic - friendly, proactive and made solid food / wine suggestions. I'll definitely be back after our next day at the Springs!

Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele C, Guest Relations Manager at Great Outdoors Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

So glad you enjoyed the live music and our excellent wait staff Amy. We work hard to bring the best performers to the Great Outdoors 5 days a week. We love that you brought your special furry friend to enjoy the Patio as well! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Kinda good, kinda not. Went with family of 6 after tubing and had to wait quite a while to order and for it to come. Waitress was wonderful but she was way too busy. The ribs were great and so was the pizza and hamburgers. My husband had the bison and said it wasn't as tasty as any other he has had. Baby high chair was dirty with bacon still in seat and belt broken so we had to ask for another which our waitress kindly got. Fries, sourdough bread and sweet potato fries were excellent. Tea was mediocre. Tasted weird. Bathroom had two stalls but one was out of order and there was a long line. It's still a good place and will go back but a little disappointed this visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele C, Guest Relations Manager at Great Outdoors Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you Sandy for your review. So glad you enjoyed the ribs, burgers and pizza after a day of tubing on the beautiful High Spring waters! We greatly appreciate your comments about the high chair and the restrooms and will be sure to make a careful review of both. We look forward to meeting your expectations to the fullest at your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a memorable meal at the Great Outdoors Restaurant. The restaurant is rustic and charming. It has decorated itself after the local attractions in the area which are kayaking, canoeing and tubing the local springs and rivers. The menu is varied and reasonably extensive. Chris,our server, was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. All the food was very good, but the exceptional meal was my Cajun grilled redfish served on a bed of fresh greens, sweet peas, and Israeli couscous. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mggator70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele C, Guest Relations Manager at Great Outdoors Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review! Our customers love the fresh fish selections that we offer at the Great Outdoors. We will be sure to share your kind words with your server Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Pair it with a cup of their soup and you cant go wrong for lunch. Enjoy live music? This is the place to be. You can eat inside or enjoy sitting on the patio. The service and the food are great so stop in for a visit!

Thank Gareth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele C, Guest Relations Manager at Great Outdoors Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thanks Gareth for the kind words. The Grilled Cheese is one of my favorites too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Outdoors Restaurant also viewed

High Springs, FL
High Springs, FL
 

Been to Great Outdoors Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing