We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Small Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highland Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Small Hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

In Ft Lauderdale for business and an associate recommended this property. It is an older hotel that has recently undergone a renovation (some common areas are slated to be updated including the restaurant). The rooms are well appointed, the bathroom was fairly large, the small balcony was a plus and the view of the pool was nice (especially given my rate). The bed was very comfortable as well as the other furniture. My only complaint was the relative speed of the free wifi, but it was free. Really nice Keurig single cup coffee maker. The restaurant had a very ample menu selection and the food was good. The view of the ocean from the restaurant was quite lovely! The service was excellent at every customer encounter! I am bring my significant other back here for vacation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sacco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    131
    35
    8
    14
See reviews for
125
154
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Pictures of this place are deceiving. Not as nice as pictures suggest. The legionnaire disease we're most likely going to get since the a/c pumped out stank air all of the time.
The forced valet service. And the name change- this IS a holiday inn. Long long way before becoming a "delray sands" - pretentious at best. Other than that, ok stay.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Mybackhurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for four nights in mid-February, 2014 in a room on the second floor overlooking the ocean. In short it was a great stay, and I would definitely go back again, but there are some things people should know. Prior to becoming the Delray Sands Resort, as a Holiday Inn, the hotel underwent a lot of renovations and those reviews as a Holiday Inn were often negative due to the renovations. I was worried about that, but during our stay, as the Delray Sands Resort, we saw no renovation work being done at all. You could tell that the rooms and hallways had been recently repainted and from past reviews I knew that at least the rooms overlooking the water had been renovated. Our room was very nice with an obviously new bathroom and new furniture, including on the balcony, which arrived during our stay. Last year we stayed at the Delray Beach Marriott in downtown Delray Beach, but did not eat one meal there as it had no water view. The Delray Sands Resort restaurant (and bar) has a superb view of the ocean and we ate almost all of our meals there because it was so pleasant. We also found the food to be very good and the wait staff very nice. The breakfast and lunch prices were reasonable and the dinner prices were about what you would expect for the super view of the ocean from any seat in the room. The view in the evening from there with a full moon was terrific. They even have spot lights that light up the beach and the surf so you can still see the ocean after dark from the restaurant or bar or your room. The beach is very nice and at high tide there is still plenty of beach (unlike Jupiter Beach Resort that had no beach at all at high tide). When we arrived we were notified of an additional “Resort Fee” of $25, over and above the room rate, that everyone must pay. It covers the following:
1. 24 Hour Daily valet Parking. (note: This is mandatory! You can’t park your car yourself.)
2. Two Daily Chaise Lounges on the Beach. (Umbrellas or cabanas are extra)
3. Two Daily Bottles of water delivered to your room.
4. Complimentary wireless internet access. (this worked from anywhere I tried it, but you had to “log in” with your name each day on each device you wanted to use so it was a slight pain that a device did not automatically connect, but it was only once per day).
5. Daily USA newspaper.
6. Unlimited local calls.
Since we were paying so much to get out of New England during the winter, the $25 didn’t bother me much since we didn’t mind having the valet parking and we used the lounge chairs on the beach each day.
Unlike a review I read while it was a Holiday Inn, every staff member was extremely nice. You should note that this is not a really big resort/hotel. The reception area is quite small (they had trouble storing our bags, as we arrived early) and when you go to your room with your bags you walk outside of one of the buildings (under an overhanging roof) to reach the elevator in another building that is attached but perpendicular to the first one. Once you are at the beach or pool or hot tub there is another entrance to the building overlooking the water which leads to all buildings. The restaurant and bar are in the building with the reception area. If you come here, spend the extra money for a room overlooking the water. The balcony of each of these rooms is in the afternoon shade and is as pleasant as the beach or pool area. We slept with the balcony door open and listened to the surf each night. I guess the Florida bugs come later in the year. (While you are watching the ocean and the distant ship traffic heading into Fort Lauderdale, download the “Ship Finder” App for your cell phone. It will tell you lots of info about the ships in real time).

In summary we had a great stay at this hotel and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room overlooking the water. Isn't that why you're there to see the water?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dhj01776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I were very comfortable for our one week stay. I would recommend this hotel because of its location right on the beach but it does seem a bit pricey for what I consider to be a solid three star hotel.

Positives: location directly to a clean private beach, updated room and bath, fridge in room (ours froze the food and couldn't find the thermostat), keurig coffee. Pool area and beach clean and well maintained. Friendly staff. Excellent valets. Restaurant on site (never ate there), close to Publix for provisions, close to Delray for excellent restos and fun, browsing etc, beach towels etc nice and plush. Complimentary water bottles and newspaper daily


Negatives: there was a very strong smell like cleaning solvent or air freshened on arrival. Left window open daily and smell dissipated. pricey (but it is beachfront), valet a bit of a hassle, a bit of an issue in checkout - the invoice was incorrect and took 20 minutes to check out - was worried about missing our flight, rooms not made up first day - was told a mistake but this also happened to someone else a few days later - maybe a policy not to make up the room on the first day?), should do away with the resort fee and if they charge the resort fee it should include umbrellas ($10 a day) or cabanas ($25 a day). Easier to buy an umbrella at Publix for $12, Probably tries a bit too hard to justify charging four or more stars price - not sure it is worth it - and wasn't of that calibre.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ABCM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We came here because it's RIGHT on the beach. It could have been a lot worse and we still probably would have booked, since it's the only hotel between Miami and Daytona that is on the beach and had rooms open during our stay.

That said, it was very clean, our room was recently renovated and so very comfortable (although kind of cramped for the two of us and our son), and the restaurant is very good.

Breakfast was included in our stay, which is a huge plus because it's expensive and very tasty. We highly recommend the eggs benedict.

I would like to HIGHLY compliment the valet service. The people who handled the valet area were helpful, friendly, and entirely imperturbable even with a huge line of expectant, cranky people with expensive vehicles. I'm no expert, but their job looked hard and they were really nice. They helped us with our baby gear (so much stuff...) countless times and never gave even a sideways glance. Really professional, all of them.

Thanks for a nice week!

Room Tip: Splurge on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Comfortable bed with 8 pillows and two more in the closet. Keurig coffee maker and coffee provided. Nice pool towels and pool. Private beach. Restaurant somewhat pricy. Check in staff and valet parking wS exceptional. One note 25$ a day resort fee includes wifi, bellhop, and valet parking

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyJoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed for a family wedding in September a couple of years ago. The place was great . Perfect location, nice on site restaurant with bar with a Happy hour. Hot tub, Pool and a private beach. The rooms were decent for a hotel. All was good as was the price...around $100 + off Season and closer to $200 in-season. I'm not sure what changed when DelRay took over, but now I see the rooms at $300+ in season....I will be in the area in April and will definitely check it out.....I'll wait and see if it is worth $300+ a night

Room Tip: A pool view or and Ocean view is A LOT nicer than the Parking lot or the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland Beach
2.7 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,052 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
711 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
798 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
#11 of 15 in Delray Beach
89 reviews
6.0 mi away
Boca Beach Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach

Property: Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
Address: 2809 S Ocean Blvd, Highland Beach, FL 33487-1829 (Formerly Holiday Inn Highland Beach-Oceanside)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Highland Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highland Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel! Nestled between the cities of Boca Raton and Delray Beach, Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel and resort-style amenities in the perfect oceanfront setting. Discover the relaxing side of Palm Beach within 115 guest rooms and suites with contemporary coastal accents and thoughtful amenities such as mini-refrigerators, high speed Wi-Fi, and custom bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Highland Beach-Oceanside Hotel Highland Beach
Highland Beach Holiday Inn
Delray Sands Resort On Highland Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing