We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but with a prime location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WalkAbout Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quirky but with a prime location.”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here at the "pink hotel" for one night prior to our cruise. The location is fantastic - that is definitely something that can not be beat. We had a studio room - very clean, but unfortunately very worn and in need of repairs. We really liked the size and location of the hotel (near the end of the boardwalk), but the room condition somewhat overshadowed the positives.

Room Tip: Be forewarned - if the weather is cool, there is no heat in the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solituda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    53
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
58
121
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed first week of December 2012 and could not have been happier when we arrived. We were able to check in nearly 4 hours early and were amazed at how clean the ocean view suite was. Gina, the manager, was very gracious and friendly as well as all other staff. Tiki bar was a plus and all bartenders were extremely friendly. Beach chairs and beach towels were available. Hollywood beach broad walk was beautiful and beach was awesome. Place is a gem and plan on going back again and again!!!
Book it and you will love it too!

Christine M.
Massachusetts

Room Tip: Ocean view suite top floor. Spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Walkabout before heading to Miami Beach (a short drive away) the following morning. Delightful, small and charming hotel. We had a studio room--quite large, impeccably clean, and well-equipped. The large main room had a queen-size bed and a small kitchen area with an eat-on bar and stools. Lovely color scheme--sand-colored walls and blue ceiling. Small bathroom but adequate. Good location at the northern end of the Broadwalk, so less busy, and right on the beach/Boardwalk. We had a minor problem with the cable TV service which the management resolved efficiently and cheerfully. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisinSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is visit #5 to the Walkabout for my husband and me. I would love to lie and give this place a bad review so that we will not have a problem booking a room in the future, but.....I can't, because it is a true gem. We love coming here, and we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DLB7031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Me, my husband and son stayed in the Walkabout for two night in August 2012. The only word to describe this place is fantastic, was made to feel very welcome by the staff, the tower room was where we stayed, it was very clean and everything you needed~a real home from home feel and the view was so beautiful, I could hear the waves in the morning when I walked in to the lounge area~breath taking! We had breafast along the prominad in a lovely cafe and rented fun cycles, which was so much fun. The weather was glorious and wish we could have stayed longer. We will definatly return to the Walkabout. Thank you Jo, Phil and Dylan from Wales UK x

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had an excellent stay at the hotel. Two other families also stayed and we enjoyed the tiki bar and the beach. The room was excellent and very clean. We definitely plan on returning to this hotel in the future. Parking was provide in the parking garage next door free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My wife and I travel regularly to South Florida and have stayed at the Walkabout 20 times or more. It is our home away from home with incredible views of the ocean and easy access to all the shops and resturaunts on Hollywood's Broadwalk. The staff is friendly and very accomodating. With the Tiki bar right outside your door, a cheap drink is always at hand. this little art deco style botique hotel is a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ifixart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.0 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,556 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#12 of 71 in Hollywood
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Property: WalkAbout Beach Resort
Address: 2500 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3605
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood
WalkAbout Beach Resort Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing