We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WalkAbout Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Only stayed one night, wished we could have stayed longer. Had studio room, wonderful view, especially watching the sunrise. One of the cleanest rooms we have ever had. People at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Loved the Tiki Bar. Only wished the weather was warmer, but I know they have no control over that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianaNurse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

Great place to see, relaxing stay. Overall, everthing exceeding our expectations. The staff is outstanding!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I decided to extend my stay at the beach in Hollywood by a day and noticed their vacancy sign. The owner couldn't have been nicer and showed me the room, which was an ocean view efficiency and it was quite nice. Full kitchen and full bath and newer flat screen TV. It's located right next to the Marriot so there is quite a bit of activity in the area - there are a number of bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Parking is not included, but the ownership has an arrangement with the Marriot to provide parking for $15. This was a bit inconvenient only because the front desk staff at the Marriot were somewhat confused when I approached them about parking. This is one of the nicer places to stay on the broadwalk.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albanymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

have stayed at multiple locations on the beach... i should not give away this great secret on the beach, but CLEAN BEAUTIFUL AND ATTENTIVE STAFF. Will never stay anywhere else!!! Right next to Marriott.. better rooms and better service!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milemarker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

The location on the Broadwalk is awesome. It's just north of the bandstand, so it's not too crazy-loud, but there's still activity and plenty of people-watching to be had. The room was immaculately clean, very nicely decorated, and had amazing views (we stayed in one of the tower suites). The Tiki Bar was great--good beer on tap, and friendly locals. They had a couple of guys playing live music right under our window, so it was like being serenaded. Plus, the music was really good! We walked up and down the Broadwalk, and many other hotel bars also had musicians, but the ones at Walk About were by far the best. The property manager, Tamera, was so sweet and very accommodating. When we arrived, she let us look at different rooms and pick the one we wanted. She also let us park behind the hotel for free since it wasn't full (normally, parking is $13/day at the Marriott next door). She also has the cutest three-legged Beagle named Tucker who is very friendly and willing to keep you company at the Tiki Bar. We happened to stay during a historic cold snap, and they provided us with a space heater without our even asking (for which we were VERY appreciative, since no buildings in Southern Florida have heat). There is no restaurant on site, but the Marriott right next store has one, as well as a Starbucks, so there's no need to go very far if you don't want to. We definitely plan to return and hope to bring friends. HIGHLY recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbhertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Nicely located on the beach. The Tiki bar seems to be mostly friendly regulars. I forgot a shirt and a sportcoat and have been trying to get them to send it for over a month. I told them I would pay someone to do it, and to just stuff it in a small box, plus I left a generous tip in the room for housekeeping..........I was very low maintenance. I don't understand it, and everyone seemed so nice. I wouldn't recommend the place and I would never stay there again simply because of their inattention to helping me. I stayed 5 days and it wasn't cheap.
Everytime I call I get an answering machine. One time I called, I got a previous owner who was rude and whined about the new owners not changing the phone number. I think this is just a typical case of "we're on the beach, we have a tiki bar, and everybody loves us"......screw the service. Lots of place to stay on Hollywood Beach, place that have amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramblinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!! Left the keys before we traveled to Hollywood. This was way better. Traveled with my wife and out 4 month old son. Everything was perfect about this place. Very low key environment with great people on feet from our doorstep at the Tiki Bar. Met locals and tourists from all over the country. However, one thing stood out the most was that we felt like we have been friends with these people all our lives. They loved our son being out and about and everyone (even the heavy partiers) were respectful to us. Tamara, Carol, Jack, and Gena was all great and took care of us. They do it all, clean your room, check you in, and pour a beer! When I head back that way, I am definitely going to stay there as they catered to our son and it allowed us to use the monitor and have some alone time at the hut.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepelum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,619 reviews
6.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WalkAbout Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WalkAbout Beach Resort

Address: 2500 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3605
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £183 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WalkAbout Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WalkAbout Beach Resort is a cozy family-owned and operated hotel located ON THE BROADWALK in Hollywood Beach, Florida. Our boutique, 8-room hotel was built in 1950, and it is one of the last remaining beachfront hotels designed in the Art Deco style.Our guests enjoy a wide array of amenities that include: ocean front rooms, a large tiki bar in our courtyard, seating alongside the Hollywood broadwalk, scenic views of the beach, nearby shops and restaurants, free wifi, free cable, on-site washer/dryer, live music, and fresh linens daily. Our staff is extremely friendly and professional, and we are always nearby to assist with any special requests. Hollywood Beach is one of the premier beach destinations in the world. The city provides twenty-one lifeguard towers and eight first-aid stations. An icon of Art Moderne architecture on Hollywood Beach’s famed Broadwalk, The Walkabout Beach Resort, is a classic 1940’s boutique hotel. Those who have visited claim it has the perfect blend of characteristics: chic, warm and inviting, glamorous, and tastefully modernized.To experience The Walkabout Beach Resort, is to experience Hollywood Beach at its best. In keeping with its classic style, eight oceanfront guest rooms are immaculately styled with the elegance of another era – wooden and terrazzo floors, interiors with rich textures, soft pink monochromatic colors, and decorations with a nod to its illustrious past mark the furnishings. Each room is adorned with vintage black and white photographs cataloguing Hollywood’s social history dating back to the 1920’s. When you stay at The Walkabout, discover its delightful Art Moderne ambiance and see how its past has been preserved to its original beauty. The Walkabout is known for its remarkable beachfront setting and legendary Hollywood Beach, Florida hotel location - on the Broadwalk. Named one of America's best beach Broadwalks by Travel + Leisure, the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk is more than 2 miles long, sizzling with energy that embodies the diversity Hollywood Beach stands for - bustling sidewalk cafes, unique shops, multi-hued streamline Art Moderne buildings, and unforgettable ocean views. Step out from the Broadwalk and spend the day settled on white sands, by a glistening ocean on one of South Florida’s most beautiful beaches. Still, the most popular pastime on the beach is simply savoring the charming character of this truly unique setting, so reserve a day for relaxing to the sound of soothing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your WalkAbout Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkabout Beach Hotel Hollywood
Walk About Beach Hollywood
WalkAbout Beach Resort Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing