We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach vacation”
Review of Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Inn
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Ocean Inn couldn't have been any better. The service was outstanding. Requests were quickly honored. It has a quaint relaxing court yard. We enjoyed every day and couldn't have picked a better place for our beach vacation. The whole staff was great but one person really stood out..his name is Phillip. He greets every day with a smile and does a great job! I highly recommend the Ocean Inn for your next vacation, You won't be disappointed.
Gary & Diana B

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biggb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2011

Philip and staff took every opportunity to search out and serve our needs in a way that now characterizes my impression of Florida: friendly, fun and gets you what you want quickly. A fifty yard walk to the amazing Hollywood Boardwalk or the beach is rewarded with salt air, sand between the toes and a thousand glances of people enjoying the moment. My only complaint is that three days was not long enough for us to properly acclimatize to the Florida weather: we'll book a longer stay to enjoy the warm Hollywood hearts .

Room Tip: Decide how much kitchen you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbreez_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

My husband and I were happily pleased with our stay. Within walking distance to the beach. Inn provided beach chairs and towels, free parking, wifi access. Efficiency afforded us to save money. The courtyard is lovely! We didn't have the opportunity to meet the owners, but Philip, the Innkeeper, is a real find! He was incredibly accomodating and made everyone feel at home. Our only regret was that we had to leave, but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Old Florida charm. The inn is designed to catch cross breezes so you can have your windows open or use the AC. Truly just steps from the beach--and it is a really fun beach. The boardwalk is wonderful at night after dinner. Check-in staff member was wonderful--friendly, helpful, great advise on my questions. It is not for someone wanting a glamorous hotel experience, but is perfect for a laid-back few days at the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fba43130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We ended a two-week Florida vacation with three nights at the Ocean Inn and loved the experience. Arriving a few hours ahead of the inn's posted check-in time, we were welcomed by manager Philip providing us with a 'changing room', beach towels & sand chairs and a cold beverage so we could enjoy the beach a block away while our room was being readied. The king room was very nicely decorated, the tiled bathroom small but functional, and all incredibly clean. The courtyard garden has several private areas with a water feature & comfortable seating, continental breakfast served there each morning, a gas grill and eating areas provided as well as frig, microwave & coffee maker in our room. We loved returning from the beach or Broadwalk strolls to the cooler beauty of the courtyard, and sat out at night there among tastefully placed mini-lights. Good local restaurants within walking distance (tho' traffic on Ocean Blvd. /A1A can be intimidating even tho' Hollywood has provided sidewalks and crossing areas at the widely separated traffic lights). The trolley runs 5 days per week, the Water Taxi is available at stops along the Intracoastal, and a short trip to the airport or cruise docks. Great staff always willing to help, friendly fellow guests (but not intrusive), fresh muffins in the morning and warm cookies in the afternoon! The Ocean Inn is one of the finest examples of how a small motel built decades ago can meet and even exceed the expectations of 21st century guests. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marich32311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Although our trip to the area was to deal with some unpleasant family business, being able to relax in the mornings and evenings in the lovely courtyard/garden with the palms blowing in the breezes, good music playing in the background, the sounds of the fountain, and the friendly conversations of fellow travelers made up for that. This place is a gem! The rooms are extremely clean. The fresh muffins in the morning were yummy. The manager, Philip, is so accommodating. He recommended some really good restaurants in the area too.....Oceans Eleven and GG's Waterfront Bar and Grill were both great. We discovered the Taco Beach Shack and had some awsome grilled Mahi-Mahi tacos while sitting on sofas with our feet in the sand, listening to Latin music.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsdunn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

This is not a luxury property, but its owners have made the most of its quirky charm, and charming it is. Service is exceptional. From our arrival where my harried husband got the offer of a cold beer; to the supply of beach chairs, sunscreen, and umbrellas for our beach day; all the way through our departure, everyone was helpful. I even saw the owner allowing non-guests to use the office computer to find lodgings. (There were no vacancies at the Ocean Inn.) A friendly attitude and a reassuring trust in your fellow human being is the order of the day and it seems to work.
The beach is a very short (100 yards?) walk away; shops and restaurants are a five-minute walk further south along the boardwalk, but this only means that the beach is less crowded up by the Inn. A real value for the beach!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qwerty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.6 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#8 of 72 in Hollywood
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#30 of 72 in Hollywood
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#37 of 72 in Hollywood
279 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Desoto Inn
The Desoto Inn
#13 of 72 in Hollywood
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Address: 3405 N Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-3805
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £75 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood
Ocean Inn Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing