We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's No Place Like a Home Away From Home!”
Review of Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Inn
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Redding, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There's No Place Like a Home Away From Home!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I travel to Florida several times a year to spend two to three weeks visiting my dad whose home is now an assisted living facility in nearby Hallandale. I love Hollywood, Florida and for years stayed either downtown or right on Hollywood Beach amid all the Broadwalk restaurants, stores, and the Hollywood Beach Theater. This past June I was surfing the web for new accommodations – turns out the hotel I had been staying at did not have the accommodations I wanted and had raised their rates! - I came across the Ocean Inn. I called and after speaking with Philip, I was eager to check it out. It was obvious that Philip loved the place and not because he was an employee. (I later learned that Philip became part of the Ocean Inn family after staying there as a guest!) Located just steps from the beach, the Ocean Inn has come to feel like my home away from home for many reasons. You can enjoy a continental breakfast bright and early every morning in the beautifully designed oasis courtyard while listening to relaxing music – they even pipe in exotic birdsong, and if you forgot to pack something, chances are they can provide it. There are many touches like this that make the Ocean Inn a unique and traveler-friendly destination. The accommodations are clean, cool, and comfortable, and the rooms with kitchens are well appointed with a coffee maker, a microwave, a toaster oven, a fridge, etc. and all the kitchenware you need to get cooking. There are also laundry facilities for those who, like me, prefer to go home with a suitcase full of clean clothes. Besides the great rooms and competitive prices, the location is ideal. There are great places to eat and drink close by and it’s a beautiful 10-minute oceanfront walk to all the action. Believe me, after a night of fun with the Hollywood Beach crowd, it’s a pleasure to come home to the quieter laidback end of the Broadwalk. Aside from all this, it’s the people that make the Ocean Inn my favorite destination in South Florida. The staff, the owner, the whole gang: Scott, Philip, Joey, Cline, and Shirley are hands on and so welcoming, I often find myself barbecuing and hanging out at the Inn as much as going out – it’s that kind of place. From now on when I travel to Florida, I not only look forward to seeing my dad (he’s 93 and going strong), but also to staying at the Ocean Inn. Who knows? Like Philip, I may even work there some day!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    140
    27
    22
    15
See reviews for
108
235
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

we just returned from out ten day trip across Florida. We stayed two nights at the Ocean Inn. The very best thing about the hotel is it is about 30 steps from an amazing beach. The hotel is small, charming and has that tropic feel, with its pastel colors. The rooms are vintage. The bathroom is old but the room is spotless. Nothing can be more important then the room being clean. The girls and I sat outside and ate cereal at the picnic table. What a great way to start your day. Two little problems-parking is scarce but they have parking around the corner. Two they forgot to put soap in our room on our second night. Bring your own soap, those tiny bars do not last at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeriemabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is my second time back and will be back again in December! Love Ocean Inn and Philip! This wonderful place is relaxing, serene and so close to the beach. This time we were there for a small high school reunion, about 20 of us stayed 6 days. We took over the place with Philip and Joe doing more than anyone could ask for to make sure we had everything we needed! You can not go wrong staying here!

Room Tip: This is a small family owned hotel. There are only 4 rooms with full kitchens, so if you are stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delores U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Phil is absolutely amazing, I had a late check in and they perpared everything perfectly to accomidate my needs. I feel like I've known these people forever, they are so welcoming. My room is very clean and the products in the restroom are awesome! Support the mom and pops places! This is a spectacular Inn and would reccomend it to anyone coming in to Hollywood/ Ft Lauderdale. Rates are great and the outside setup is so zen and peaceful. Thank you to Phil and all the awesome staff. I want to move here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortylikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I am in love with the Ocean Inn and will be back very soon. The environment is magical, the moment you step into the tropical courtyard. The rooms are very nice, and have everything you need. Some have full kitchens, with decent sized refrigerators and stoves, while others are spacious king rooms. The decor is charming, the beds comfortable and the rooms clean. All that said, what REALLY stands out is the Ocean Inn's customer service,which is unparalleled. Philip and Joe ensured I had everything I needed, and are wonderful hosts. I was there for a small high school reunion (20 overnight classmates), and it was by far the best organized event I have ever attended. Laid-back and smoothly run, the Ocean Inn is the ideal place for anyone in need of a fun, relaxing, rejuvenating experience.

Room Tip: The queen studio is spacious and has everything you need to prepare meals and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothymurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The staff is amazing, extremely friendly and accomadating. The location for the price is unheard of. You are 50 yards from the beach, the common area of the hotel where everyone can congregate is secluded with tropical foliage, water fall and calming music playing. Very clean and quaint! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScarlettKraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We loved our stay at the Ocean Inn! The Ocean Inn was highly recommended to us. Honestly, we were alittle apprehensive prior to arriving because it wasn't a large chain type of hotel. That apprehension disappeared almost instantly! Philip and the rest of the staff were so helpful and accommodating. The location was such a short distance from the beautiful beach! The courtyard/garden was cool and unique, The rooms were clean, bright, and comfortable. We enjoyed the extras like beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach. We had two rooms next to eachother with our group of 6 and it worked out perfectly! This was our first trip to Hollywood and will definitely be coming back to the Ocean Inn!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micksees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.1 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#28 of 71 in Hollywood
63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#23 of 71 in Hollywood
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#12 of 71 in Hollywood
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Property: Ocean Inn
Address: 3405 N Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-3805
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood
Ocean Inn Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing