We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tropical oasis in Hollywood, fl.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Inn
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tropical oasis in Hollywood, fl.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

When my husband and I arrived at the Ocean Inn, we were greeted by Joe. There were no parking spaces available. Joe moved his car and gave us his spot. Then he proceeded to show us our room and all amenities this B&b had to offer, from the beach chairs and towels to the corner where the continental breakfast would be served.everything was convenient. The room was very clean and the staff's hospitality was second to none. Any question that we had were immediately addressed by Phil who was usually there when we had any concerns. His service and everyone made our stay wonderful. We look forward to returning again

Room Tip: Our room # was 13. Very clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    139
    27
    21
    13
See reviews for
101
231
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Pre and post cruise, we stayed here in April. We experienced both the regular rooms and the suite. We were made to feel so welcome from day one, just like we were old friends. Just super friendly staff and very helpful in assisting with odd requests. I loved the comfort of a roomy kitchen, wonderful bed and more space generally in the suite (room 23), but the regular room is also very nice. I am on my own special diet and therefore appreciated the cheerfully decorated fridge and access to plates and flatware and complementary coffee/tea. The garden is a haven. I spent a lot of time in the hammock with the water feature gently trickling, the soothing sound almost lulling me to sleep. There are plenty of little seating areas scattered around for those who do not like hammocks. This place becomes a like a small friendly community. The location is excellent, with the beach just a few steps away. I am definitely going to stay there next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goddalur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We were told the hotel is under new ownership, so we wanted to offer a few concerns and suggestions. Room 16.
1) Please put more flatware in the kitchenette rooms. We had one butter knife, one sharp knife and no more than three spoons and forks.
2) Please buy a blender for guests to use.
3) Please add chaise lounge chairs for beach.
4) Daily maid service is not necessary - offer a fresh towels only sign and/or do not disturb.
5) Increase TV reception. Reception is bad to poor on numerous channels.
6) Increase internet reception. Reception was weak; at best our tablet had two bars.
7) Defrost the fridge. The freezer was so coated with ice that it was barely usable.
8) Update to a rounded shower rod so the shower curtain does not stick to your body when in the shower.

And most importantly....

9) The office staff was helpful and polite. 10) The courtyard is very nice and well maintained.
11) A new mattress is absolutely a must. You roll to the center of the bed when sleeping - not comfortable for two people.

Until the mattress is replaced and the TV reception is improved, we probably would not stay here again. These should be a given for any hotel, not an option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoiFromTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronika A, General Manager at Ocean Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Joi,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay at the Ocean Inn. On a positive note, I am happy to hear about the helpfulness of our staff and that you found a courtyard very nice and well maintained.

I appreciate your comments and take them very seriously. We are making improvements on the specific issues you have mentioned . If your travel plans brings you back to Hollywood, I hope you will consider staying with us again, so that you can experience the improved Ocean Inn. I would like to personally ensure that you have a great experience and better accommodation on your next visit.

Thank you again on your sincere review. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We arrived and were immediately greeted for our one night stay. We were made to feel very welcomed here, shown where all the ammenities were located - beach chairs & umbrellas to use at beach, where breakfast would be set up, explanation of the phone if we needed anything at all. The patio area was a tropical oasis, with private sitting areas - great decor!! It was very reasonably priced and they also offered a discount for Florida residents. We really enjoyed our stay and thought it had everything we needed for the one night we were there. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because of the bed; it really was just way too bouncy for old bones (at 44) and our backs could not take more than than 6 hours of sleep we got on it. Other than that, we really enjoyed eveything else about this place and would return again. The beach was just one block away and there was free parking for the residents staying here also, which is a huge plus.

Room Tip: We were in Room 14 on the lower level and you could could hear noise from the people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had the good fortune of staying here for four nights in March 2013. We loved it and will definitely return next year. Philip and Joe could not have done more for us and certainly made us feel welcome. The location was excellent - right beside the Boardwalk and the Beach. The accomodations were good - clean, comfortable and certainly satisfactory. We enjoyed the continental breakfasts and the ambience of the beautiful garden area. Philip went way above the call of duty for us - looking after details for us that he anticipated. This Inn is a family owned operation and is a unique place. We really enjoyed it. We rated this realizing that this is not a large modern chain-style hotel. If you are looking for a clean,well kept,small, unique family style hotel with character- this is it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

The place was very cozy and by the beach which makes it practical for a relaxed vacation. I really enjoyed the garden of the place which was perfect to lay back and enjoy a book or just sip on a wine. Reminded me of a beautiful garden and patio of a family house.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

My wife and I just got back from a five night stay at the Inn. Phillip, Joe and Veronica (the new owner) were very friendly and helpful from recomending good restaurants to calling cabs. It is nothing fancy but if you like old Florida motels this is the place. The Broadwalk and beach is one block up . They have beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for the taking. Nice garden seating and okay breakfast. Could have some juices for those that do not drink coffee. Will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seascapellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.3 mi away
The Desoto Inn
The Desoto Inn
#8 of 66 in Hollywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#5 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#27 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#28 of 66 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Property: Ocean Inn
Address: 3405 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE OUR GUEST! The Ocean Inn offers a unique boutique lodging experience. Relax, renew and unwind with us in our private tropical courtyard just steps to the sand, surf and Hollywood Broadwalk. We celebrate the diversity and power of people, ideas and cultures and we do our very best to serve each guest according to their individual needs and lifestyles. Make your reservation today because we want to get you in bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Hollywood
Ocean Inn Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing